Freebie flash! Noir teddy bears, a clairvoyant bassett hound, and a megachurch…oh my!

Freebie flash!  Noir teddy bears, a clairvoyant bassett hound, and a megachurch…oh my!

As usual, I don’t vouch for these books, and they come from a company that is not (to my knowledge) blocking text-to-speech.   As promotional titles, they may not be free for long.

My Name Is Russell Fink 
by Michael Snyder
Published by Zondervan (a faith-based publisher)

This one looks interesting.   It would be 368 pages in paper, so that’s a full novel.  It claims to have a “postmodern” style, similar to Nick Hornby.  There’s a mystery and it seems like it might be pretty wild.

Amberville
by Tim Davys
Published by HarperCollins

Woo-hoo!  I’m happy to see one that isn’t published by Zondervan…not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I do like variety.

So, apparently, this one has to deal with living stuffed animals…as in toys.  It’s also noir…I guess maybe like Roger Rabbit with a makeover by Steiff?  It’s translated, and seems to be pretty well known.  I’m looking forward to this one!

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel
by Rob Stennett
Published by Zondervan

This one is supposed to be a satire.   23 5-star ratings on Amazon (out of 28 total), that’s a pretty good sign. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

3 Responses to “Freebie flash! Noir teddy bears, a clairvoyant bassett hound, and a megachurch…oh my!”

  1. star wars toys | Children Toys Says:

    [...] Freebie flash! Noir teddy bears, a clairvoyant bassett hound, and … [...]

  2. Stephen Taylor Says:

    I enjoy your blog, Bufo, and am a recent subscriber. I question, however, why do you each time you have Zondervan listed as publisher it always says “A faith based publisher” next to it? What bearing does this have? Should we perhaps classify other publishers? Just curious and no, i’m not making a dig at you or your blog (i love it!).

    Thanks.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Stephen!

      It’s an absolutely legitimate question, and I debate with myself a bit on that. I do often describe other publishers, and it is how those publishers tend to describe themselves, I think. For example, I may identify a publisher as “new age” or “romance”.

      However, I do it because I do think it says something about the books. Not something good or bad, but I do think it’s informative without putting a slant on it. Some of my readers will prefer books that work within the parameters suggested by that publishing choice, and some will be concerned about it.

      I am a bit torn, though…the books don’t really fall into a genre, they are quite diverse.

      I’ll probably ask my readers about it: I’d be curious as to whether people find that identification useful or not.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,297 other followers

