Flash! Jeff Bezos delivers the 2010 Baccalaureate remarks at Princeton

Flash! Jeff Bezos delivers the 2010 Baccalaureate remarks at Princeton

Thanks to Amazon Kindle Community member Melinda Varian for the heads-up on this one!

Jeff Bezos delivered the Baccalaureate remarks at Princeton…you can read them here:

News at Princeton article

His advice is about how the choices you make can be more important than the gifts you were given. 

I’ve always thought that was key.  You may be smarter than a lot of people…okay, that may automatically give you an edge in certain arenas.

What you have to look for, then, is areas in which you might be deficient.  There’s nothing wrong with developing your talents, of course, but a racing car missing a wheel is still missing a wheel.

Make sure you have four wheels.  :)

It reminded me of one of my favorite quotations:

“Years ago my mother used to say to me, she’d say, “In this world, Elwood, you must be” – she always called me Elwood – “In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant.”
–Elwood P. Dowd (played by Jimmy Stewart)
Harvey
screenplay by Mary Chase and Oscar Brodney

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

