I make my first Collections

I make my first Collections

I would guess that when the first Kindle user downloaded her or his second book, the desire for Kindle organization was born.  :)

For years, we could “tag” books.  Basically, you add a note, and then search for the note.  That worked (although it could be a bit dicey with Topaz format books).

With Version 2.5, though, we get a built-in system called Collections.

I talked about the techniques in this earlier post.

 I thought I’d give you a little bit more of a personal take on what I did.

Let me start out by saying I haven’t put any personal documents (except my review copy of The Twiller) on my newest Kindle yet.  Collections will be a lot more useful after I do.

For now, I had:

One personal document (The Twiller)

Two samples

One book from the Kindle store (The Great God Pan, a free classic)

Five things from Amazon: MyClippings; upgrading to Kindle; Welcome Bufo; Kindle User’s Guide; and The New Oxford American Dictionary

My three blogs

The first thing I did was create a Collection called **current.  I figured I’ll keep my current reading in there.  The two asterisks were so it would sort to the top if I chose to sort by Title.  The Twiller went in there.

I created a second Collection called *on deck.  That’s for the ones waiting to be read.  My one other Kindle e-book went there.  It has one asterisk so that, if I sort by Title, it will be below the **current Collection.

Next up, a Collection called Amazon.  I put the five Amazon documents in there.  One interesting thing: it gave me an Amazon logo when I look at the details of the Collection.  :)  Apparently, the Kindle knows the name Amazon.

I had noticed while I was adding items that my samples were being shown as a choice.  I didn’t really anticipate that: I’m pretty sure I had read that other people were unable to put samples into Collections, at least initially.  That’s nice!  I created a Collection called samples, and put them in there.

That was it for Collections…for now.

I tried sorting it alphabetically by title, but honestly, I didn’t like the look of it.  When you do that, the titles are both in the Collections and outside it…that looked messy.

I think it will be easy enough to keep my **current collection at the top.  The only trick will be when I download new books.  However, I tend to download those to my Kindle for PC, and just get them out of the archives when I want them.  That means I’ll deal with those one at a time, which should be pretty easy.

Here’s how it looks sorted by Collections:

 

Sorted by Collections

Here’s how it looks sorted by Title:

 

Sorted by Title

The one thing I wish I could do (but I understand why it would be hard) would be to be able to put my blogs in a Collection.

I did experiment a bit.  I tried a Collection title that was 70 characters long (to get past a possible 64 character limit): no problem.  I restarted the Kindle…my Archives went to zero (which they should typically on a restart), but my Collections were still visible.  When I synced, I still had my proper collections.  Some people have reported problems with that, but I was okay.

All in all, I can see how this will be useful as I more personal documents.  I tend to keep my Kindle store books in the archives, so it won’t help me too much with that.

But it is nice.  :)

Any experiences you want to share with creating your Collections?  Feel free to leave a comment. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

One Response to “I make my first Collections”

  1. Ameera Says:

    I have >300 e-books, <1/3 from Amazon (thus available in archive). I have been collecting e-books since days of the Palm Reader. I have 17 collections, so far, only 175 more books to categorize. As with the STACKS of books at home, I tend to forget about books, so the categories are really helping. Oh – and I got an early upgrade to Version 2.5 – no issues at all so far!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

