Durgo’s Day Out

Durgo’s Day Out

I’ll stop talking too much about my newest Kindle soon.  :)  I think there may be value for you in some of it, though, and it’s…um, human interest (although I guess some of you may be neither human nor interested).  :)

I took Durgo* out of the house today, and with me to a classroom to teach (I was teaching, not the Kindle). 

Yes, my cover hasn’t arrived yet…that’s one of the disadvantages with free two-day shipping on the Kindle.  I could have paid for two-day shipping for the cover, I suppose, but that’s expensive. 

So, what did I do?

I still had a 6×9 padded mailing envelope from when I first got a K2.  It provides some decent protection, and I think I paid under a dollar for it.  It fits the K2 quite nicely.

I was also a little anxious because I don’t have a TrackItBack sticker on Durgo yet.  However, I wasn’t going to let my EBR (E-Book Reader) out of my sight.

How was having a Kindle with text-to-speech again in the car?

Wonderful!

It was so nice to be able to listen to a book rather than the radio or music!  I even found it…comfortable…when I heard idea pronounced “eye-dee-AY” again.  ;)

I parked my car a couple of blocks away from the building (that’s how this one is arranged), and wheeled my laptop.  That was another huge plus!  I was taking my Significant Other’s Kindle (my old K1) out of the house…I was afraid I’d lose it.  :)  I already felt like I was imposing reading on it at home…even though that had been my SO’s idea.  I had been carrying paperbooks (p-book) with me.  While it was possible to do, it was awkward to read a paperbook while wheeling a laptop.  Flipping the pages was hard.  A Kindle?  One hand all the way…cool!

One other important note: I did check, and my reception for AT&T out there was full bars!  I knew intellectually that it would be different in different places, but irrationally, I feared it would never be over one bar.  Science!

Oh, and with my K2, I’d always sort of slunk from shadow to shadow to avoid finding out about the sun fade problem.  Actually, I always slink from shadow to shadow…not a fan of sunshine, really.  My SO and I always say we’d be the only people to move to Seattle for the weather.  ;)  Well, as I walked through one avoidable patch of particularly intense solar radiation, I noticed that the sun was full on the screen…with no fading at all. 

All in all, not a bad first day out.  :)

* This is a tough one, so 100 trivia points to anybody who knows why this particular Kindle is named Durgo.  Remember, trivia points are null and void if you look anything up.  :)

Tip of the Day: If you have the 2.5 update, you can get your Kindle’s serial number through the menus.  Home-Menu-Settings, NEXT PAGE.  You should keep that number separate from the Kindle somewhere, so you have the information for insurance purposes and in case the Kindle goes missing.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “Durgo’s Day Out”

  1. Richard Orlin Says:

    Durgo is a member of the Legion of Superheroes in DC Comics. A fairly obscure reference. Why name it Durgo? Your Kindle doesn’t have multiple personalities.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Congratulations, Richard! Most impressive!

      Take the points. :)

      This is my third Kindle (I had a K1, got a K2, had that K2 lost or stolen, and this is my third).

      Luornu Durgo was Triplicate Girl originally, and her second body was “lost”, so she became Duplicate Damsel. I’ve had three Kindles, but one had been lost…hence, Durgo. I didn’t go with Luornu because, well, I’m not sure how to pronounce it.

  2. Candace Says:

    I like how you take full advantage of every possible moment to read. Two blocks, I probably would have just enjoyed the walk :) and looked around and stuff.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Candace!

      Oh, I enjoyed the walk, too. There’s a nice little creek that runs through there. I’m just a multitasker…I enjoyed the creek and the book at the same time.

      Oh, and they are sort of long blocks… ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

