A day in the life of a Kindleer

A day in the life of a Kindleer

4:35 AM: Cat meows to get me up.  I try to ignore it.

4:40 AM: Cat burrows under my hand and flips it up in the air like a dolphin would do.  Cat walks on me, and starts sandpaper-licking my head.  That’s loud!  Dog comes over to help get me up before they all starve.  Fortunately, I keep my Kindle under a tissue box so the cat can’t sit on it. 

4:45 AM: The alarm goes off.  I slide my Kindle* out from under the tissue box and head for the bathroom.  I turn the Kindle on and read a little bit (we’ll leave out the details about where).  That’s usually short articles, not too involving…right now, it’s Curious Folks Ask, which I got for free).   I turn on the Whispernet so it can pick up my blogs while I feed the animals.

5:00 AM: I turn on my work laptop and check e-mail and such.  I turn the Whispernet back off.  I also watch the 24-hour news (yes, I don’t only read).  ;)  I shower and get ready for work.  I drape my Kindle over the towelbar, securing it in place with my m-edge platform cover (works very nicely for that).  I read while I brush my teeth (that’s probably a novel or something more long form…right now, it’s I Remember Lemuria, which I got free from Sacred-Texts.com ).  It takes me about fifteen minutes to do the whole teeth thing.

6:45 AM I’m all ready to go and get in the car.  I plug my Kindle into my car’s sound system, using my Coby 745 FM transmitter.  During my more than an hour drive, I get a lot of reading done.  Recently, it’s been Autobiography of a Yogi  (which I got for free) or The Classic Mystery Collection (over 100 books and stories for $2.99).  As a change of pace, I may listen to some music I have on my Kindle, or an old time radio show (again, on my Kindle in the Audible folder).   Usually, it’s a book, though.  I really like not having the commercials.

8:00 AM: I’m at work and get my laptop going.  It takes a couple of minutes to boot up…I might read while I’m waiting.  :)  If I need any special information for the day (like how to contact Security to get into the building), I have that on my Kindle…I put it on there in a text file.

8:02 AM to 12:15 PM: I have to stay alert and involved with the people with whom I’m working today.  I do carry my Kindle around with me: I sometimes make notes on it for things I need to remember later.

12:15 PM: lunch-time.  I have my Kindle set up in the Break Room, in the cover’s nice reading easel position.  I get some long-form reading done, but also get to answer some questions about the Kindle.  ;)  While I’m reading, I highlight a passage or two for my collection of quotations.  I could tweet those, but I usually don’t.  I don’t use the dictionary very much, but what’s a clevis?  I use Wikipedia to learn a little more about the author.  If my offspring’s flying in, I might check the flight status.  If we’re going to a movie, I could check Fandango…but that’s mostly on the weekend.

1:00 PM: Back to the laptop.  I check in on the forums and maybe send out a newsflash.  I do those on my laptop…ironically, that works a lot better than on the Kindle itself.  That might be different with the K3. 

1:15 PM: Back to work officially.  If the Kindle needs to be charged (that’s not very often), I’ll plug it into the USB port on the laptop to charge. 

2:30 PM: Take a break.  I might play some games, like Shuffled Row or Gomoku…or Every Word (I got it before it was withdrawn).  I may read a bit, too, but I often get interrupted, so the games can be better.

2:45 PM: Back to work.

5:00 PM: Head back to the car for the drive back.  I hook up the Kindle to the sound system again.  I turn on the local drive time station first…I want to check the traffic (I have more than one choice going back).  I hear about an interesting book when they talk to the author…I figure I’ll download a sample later.  Traffic sounds okay…I switch back to a book.  I like that so much better than hearing all the commercials on the talk radio!

6:30 PM: I greet all the animals.  I put the Kindle down on the end table by the couch and out of the pet zone.  I feed all the pets.  During this time, my Significant Other comes home.  I get a kiss, :) and we talk about our workdays.  I set up the laptop: I mostly write at night.  I check my personal e-mail, and, yes, my work e-mail again.  We watch some TV: I can write while I do that, depending on the topic.  I check the forums again, read a few blogs.  I may do the latter on my Kindle…I’d downloaded them in the morning.  Of course, I could have listened to them in the car, too, but longer form is better for the drive.

9:00 PM: If I don’t have to get up that early, it’s time to start for bed.  I do shoot for eight hours of sleep a night…if I have to get up at 4:30 AM (which happens), I actually do try to get to sleep by 8:30 PM.  I read my Kindle again while I’m brushing my teeth, and I read it in bed before I go to sleep.  I start to drift off, so I hit the Home button, put the Kindle in sleep mode, and slide it under the tissue box.  I turn off the light, settle into the position the other cat likes, and go to sleep. 

Well, even though I’ve been blogging for over a year now, I never thought I’d write about brushing my teeth!  ;)  I’d like to thank one of my readers, Denise, who suggested this post.  I’d written a post about how an acquaintance of mine with a Kindle didn’t know about the latest (but not that recent) update.  Denise suggested that a “day in the life” post might be a good way to show how experienced Kindleers use the devices in somewhat more sophisticated ways.  This is a reasonable representation of a recent day for me…my commute isn’t always that long.  I left out some of the personal stuff, obviously.  :)  Do you do something different with your Kindle?  I can see somebody using it to check stocks (although maybe not buying them that way).   I’m hoping I can use the forums better from my K3 than I’ve been able to do from the K2…although that might not be a good thing.  ;)

*The link is to the current model, a K3, although this day describes my use of the K2 (a recently retired model).  My K3 is scheduled to arrive on Tuesday.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

21 Responses to “A day in the life of a Kindleer”

  1. Bonnie Jonelis Says:

    Hi, Mr. Calvin–I enjoyed your “day in the life”. My K2, Audrey Jr., sleeps by my side of the bed at night and wakes up when I do. I don’t often take her to work (just for “show and tell”) since I have a very short commute and work at a library. I have to say that Audrey does have quite an appetite and that’s what I wanted to ask you about. Way early in the year you mentioned in your blog that the British Library was going to add thousands of 19th century novels to be available to Kindle. Has there been further news about that? Audrey is very eager to gobble some up.
    Also just wanted to add my congratulations on your one year blog anniversary. I have subscribed since around the beginning of the year. In a world that is so often shrill, contentious and rude it is always nice to read something that is witty, measured and yes, even charming. Thanks.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Bonnie!

      I love your Kindle’s name…”Does this look inanimate to you?” ;) I think that sums up a Kindle’s appetite quite well.

      I’ve been following the British Library’s RSS feed, but not news yet. I’m hoping for them soon.

      Thanks for the kind words…and thanks for subscribing! I really appreciate that. :)

  2. ArtWench Says:

    That is hilarious! I thought I was the only nut job who could not perform her morning routine without her Kindle! LOL!

    Congrats on the Year Anniversary! I don’t know what we would do without you!

  3. Mary Says:

    Aw, geez, Bufo, I thought I was the only one who read the Kindle while brushing my teeth. I do not have a hanging arrangement like you do, but rather lay it down on a towel on the vanity for the 2+ minutes it takes my electric toothbrush. And I am very careful not to splash. As long as it is near water, I sometimes dampen the corner of a paper towel and clean the screen, then wipe it with the dry part of the towel.

  4. Dave Says:

    OK, pet peeve time. This has been bugging me for months. What’s the deal with this word you’ve made up? Kindleer? It just doesn’t sound right. The guy who handles baggage at the airport isn’t a handleer. If you were to put a bunch of things on a spindle, you wouldn’t be a splndleer. If you eat a bunch of free food at Costco, you’re not a professional sampleer. (OK, that one’s a stretch…) Seriously though, shouldn’t it be Kindler?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dave!
      :)

      Anybody who uses a Kindle would be a Kindler (as would somebody who starts a fire with kindling, but that’s a different story). Kindleer is like “musketeer” or “mousketeer”…for me, there’s a sense of a “mission” about it, a code (I think it’s Linux) ;) , a way of life. I suppose they could have been the “Three Musketers”, but it doesn’t have the same ring to it. I don’t know if I made it up, I can’t remember…might have been me or somebody else. Oh, and don’t bring up that whole “Trekkie/Trekker” thing. ;)

    • ArtWench Says:

      What about the Three Musketeers? I love the term Kindleer… I intend to make my Kindle a jaunty hat with a big feather just to further the adventure feel!

      Besides… think of all the fun jokes that can be made of Kindleer…. Kindler is just boring!

  5. Teresa Says:

    OK, I laughed the whole way through this blog entry. It almost could have been my life! I don’t take Betty (my K3–K2 was Sam) to work every day as I use my MP3 player for some audiobooks in the car. But otherwise. Yep, that’s about my day! Glad to know I am not the only Kindle-osessed one! Speaking of gobbling up books, I got the K3 in part because of the 4GB memory, well, I should have guessed it would not be enough, already down to 855 MB free. Too many great suggestions on the Kindle boards and not enough time to read! Remember that Twilight Zone episode, Time Enough, with Burgess Merideth?? Thanks for the great blog!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Teresa!

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! :)

      Is that all e-books, not audiobooks? Impressive…

      Yes, the Burgess Meredith episode comes up from time to time on the forums. It’s one of the reasons people talk about getting the Solio solar charger…

  6. Denise Says:

    Bufo, thank you so much for this post! I really enjoyed reading about how you use your Kindle throughout the day. I’m looking forward to your insight about the capabilities of the new K3 once you receive it.

    I laughed out loud when reading your intro about how the cat wakes you up. Being a relatively new cat owner I’m learning how resourceful they are. Mine seems to think it’s her job to wake me up at 4 AM each morning utilizing a whole bag of tricks. “Let me try this to wake her. Hmm, that didn’t work, on to Plan B…..”

    I appreciate all that you do for the Kindle community!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Denise!

      Yes, cats are clever…and persistent. They often seem to be pretty good at telling the time, even if they don’t always respect what time it is. It makes the change of Daylight Savings Time interesting. ;)

      It’s always interesting to me that they don’t just go to one that they know will work…they do try to be polite before turning you over to the collection agency. ;)

  7. Marcus Says:

    Hi Bufo,
    I am from Germany and follow your blog since I bought a K2. I pre-ordered a K3 the day it was announced, so I am already a happy K3 owner now.
    I enjoyed reading about your typical Kindle day very much.
    One question: you mention that you press home before putting your Kindle to sleep. I never did this, not with my K2 nor with the DX and not with my K3. I just slide the on/off switch and put them to sleep without leaving the book I am reading. So far none of my Kindles lost the place where I was in the book.
    So, is pressing home just a safety measure of you or did you experience some difficulties when not pressing it?
    Keep on the good work!

    Cheers,
    Marcus

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Marcus!

      It may be an extra precaution, but there are two situations where it could have an impact. One is if you are reading the book on more than one device, which I’ve done with a book where I want to see the images on the Kindle for PC. My understanding is that the Kindle preserves the last page read information when you go to Home. If you are going to read the same book on the same device, it doesn’t matter as much. Not only do you have to go to Home, but you would have to Sync…that happens when I pic up the blogs in the morning. It’s because that “last page read” has to go to the Amazon server to be communicated to the other device.

      The other rarer case is if you have to reset the Kindle. If you haven’t gone to Home, then it may not return you to the proper page after a reset. I believe I did have that happen to me once, but I developed the habit after reading about what had happened to other people.

      If you don’t read the same title on two devices, what you are doing is fine…unless you have to reset, which is rare. What I’m doing takes a bit more work, but I’m just cautious. :) It makes me feel better that I’m taking an extra step, and that’s not true for everybody.

      I’m glad you enjoyed a “Day in the Life”! The idea was suggested by a reader…

      I also appreciate that you are a regular reader! It’s fun for me that you’re from Germany…geography is so 20th Century. ;)

      Vielen Dank für die freundlichen Worte, und danke fürs Lesen!

  8. Round up #64: Firestorm #3 « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] written before about a “Day in the Life of a [...]

  9. How the Kindle changed my world: the first five years « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] September 7, 2010, I described A Day in the Life of a Kindleer. You can see how integrated the Kindle had [...]

  10. A Day in the Life of a Kindleer 2013 | I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] A day in the life of a Kindleer [...]

  11. A tale in the life: the Enhanced Reading Experience | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] I got good response to a post I did a while ago (suggested by Denise, one of my readers) in which I described A Day in the Life of a Kindleer.  […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

