Flash! Sleep mode pictures (screensavers) on the K3

Flash! Sleep mode pictures (screensavers) on the K3

So, I just put my Kindle 3 to sleep and woke it up a bunch of times to see what the new set of sleep mode pictures (or as the Kindle calls them, screensavers) is.  Yep…saving you from the hard work…you had that on your list of chores for the day, right?  ;)

Here’s what I saw:

Jules Verne
Illustrated manuscript UPDATE: One of my readers, dunedenisip, identifies this as a page of Lindisfarne’s Gospels: confirmed.   It’s on page 30 of the British Library’s online edition
Jane Austen
Ralph Ellison
Harriet Beecher Stowe
Emily Dickinson
Hercules (constellation) UPDATE: one of my readers, trek, identified this as Ophiuchus, and that seems to be right.  Thanks to trek for that correction!) UPDATE: another reader (KidsHapen) pointed me to an image found in a Yahoo search. From there, I was able to find the picture in context: 
Ophiuchus & Serpens from the 1729 Atlas Coelestis by John Flamsteed
Sextant
Mark Twain
Woman with book (I’ve been able to identify this as the Samian Sybil, by Il Guernico…or a copy of it?  It seems light)
Fish
John Steinbeck
Man writing with quill UPDATE: One of my readers, ellebeth78, identifies this as Desiderius Erasmus by Hans Holbein, the younger…confirmed.  Thanks, ellebeth!
Man at table with lion UPDATE: One of my readers, dunedenisip, identifies this as St. Jerome in His Study by Albrecht Dürer, and that’s confirmed…thanks, dunedenisip!
Albertus Medi
Charlotte Bronte
Cathedral floorplan UPDATE: One of my readers, dunedenisip, identifies this as Palladio’s plan of Villa La Rotonda, in I Quattro Libri dell’Architettura 1570.  Confirmed.
Agatha Christie
Alexandre Dumas
Feedback and calculating machine: Update: this is George Grant’s drum calculator displayed at the 1876 Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia
Kindle definition
Birds Update: technogeo in the Amazon Kindle community identified this as Plate 424 from John James Audubon’s Birds of America.  Confirmed.
Virginia Woolf

After that, they repeated in the same order.

Now, my description of some of the slides isn’t very precise…I haven’t researched the pictures.  Here’s an earlier list from the K2…it has more precise names, but I can’t verify them:

00 – Kindle definition with falling letters
01 – Lazuli Finch, Crimson-Necked Bull-Finch, Grey-Crowned Linnet, Cow-Pen Bird, Evening Grosbeak, Brown Longspur by John James Audubon
02 – Virginia Woolf
03 – Jules Verne
04 – Unknown illuminated medieval manuscript
05 – Janes Austen
06 – Harriet Beecher Stowe
07 – Emily Dickinson
08 – Illustration of constellations Ophiuchus and Hercules (possibly by Johannes Kepler?)
09 – Oscar Wilde [Bufo's note: I've seen people ask what Oscar is holding: my research indicates it is probably a cane and a pair of gloves]
10 – 17th-century Polish astronomers Johannes and Elisabetha Hevelius using a six-foot brass sextant
11 – James Joyce
12 – Mark Twain
13 – After Giovanni Francesco Barbieri, called Il Guercino, The Samian Sybil, inscribed lower left: Salve Casta / Syon Permv- / Ltaqve Passa / Pvella / Sybilla Samia
14 – John Milton
15 – Lewis Carroll [Bufo's note: people also ask what Lewis Carroll has: it's a camera lens, from what I've read]
16 – John Steinbeck
17 – Edgar Allan Poe
18 – Erasmus of Rotterdam by Hans Holbein
19 – St. Jerome dans sa cellule by Albrecht Dürer
20 – Portrait of Albert of Brandenburg by Albrecht Dürer
21 – Charlotte Brontë
22 – Villa Almerico-Capra (aka Villa Capra, Villa La Rotonda, or The Rotunda) by Andrea Palladio
23 – Agatha Christie
24 – Alexandre Dumas
25 – Kindle 2 feedback request with old adding machine
Ralph Ellison was added, I think with the 2.5 update.

I’m disappointed to see that Oscar Wilde isn’t still there.  He represented a particular type of diversity…but perhaps there was some rights issue with the picture.  Hmm…no Lewis Carroll, either…maybe they were spending too much money on Customer Service answering questions about the objects in the pictures…

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

22 Responses to “Flash! Sleep mode pictures (screensavers) on the K3”

  1. trek Says:

    I saw the constellation is Ophiuchus on my Kindle 3.0, not Hercules.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, trek!

      I really appreciate the correction! I’ll put that in the post. Someone else had listed it as Hercules, and I guess we both associated Herc strangling serpents in the crib with this one…but I checked, yours is right.

      Thanks again!

  2. Grosir Sepatu Safety Says:

    Thanks for the good articles.
    hopefully useful.

    Regards,
    Grosir Sepatu Safety

  3. dunedenisip Says:

    - Illustrated manuscript is Lindisfarne’s Gospels: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindisfarne_Gospels
    – Man at table with lion – St. Jerome http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Jerome_in_His_Study_%28D%C3%BCrer%29
    – Cathedral floorplan – Palladio Rotonda
    – Man writing with quill – i believe is Edgar Allan Poe

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, dunedenisip!

      I really appreciate that!

      The St. Jerome picture checks out. I was able to confirm Lindisfarne’s (even down to the page). :) The floorplan also checks out. The “man with the quill” doesn’t look like Poe to me…and it seems out of era for him. I’m going to leave that off until I get more confirmation.

      I updated the post and cited you. :) Thanks again for helping to give people more precise information. :)

  4. dunedenisip Says:

    Here you can find a picture with Cathedral floorplan (PalladioRotonda): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:PalladioRotondaPlan.jpg

  5. ellebeth78 Says:

    The man writing is Erasmus by Hans Holbein the Younger 1523
    see http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Holbein-erasmus2.jpg

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, ellebeth78!

      Thanks so much for that! Erasmus is a great choice for the Kindle…thought of as one of the great 16th Century scholars, I believe. I’ve updated the page and credited you. People will really appreciate your help on this. :)

  6. Daz Says:

    Hi, thanks for this list. I’ve been wondering, what’s the difference between sleep mode and off for my K3. I’ve only been using sleep mode so far, I think. How do I turn the Kindle off?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Daz!

      Generally, sleep mode is better. When your Kindle is in sleep mode, it will be displaying one of those sleep mode pictures. What Amazon has indicated is that it takes your Kindle more work to go from on to off and back on then it does for it to go to sleep and then wake up.

      When your Kindle is asleep, it can still carry on some actvities, like indexing your books…but it doesn’t take it any energy to maintain that sleep mode picture.

      When it is off, the screen will be blank. It basically won’t do anything while it is off.

      To put it to sleep, you can either wait ten minutes (doing nothing with the Kindle), or move the power switch briefly to your right as you face the screen.

      To turn the Kindle off, hold the power switch to your right for about four seconds, then release. You may notice the power light blink a few times right before it goes blank. To turn it back on, it’s the same thing as waking it up…just briefly move the power switch to your right.

      If your Kindle is acting oddly, turning it off is one of the things that can help, although if you can restart, that can be effective as well. To restart it (if it’s responsive), Home-Menu-Settings-Menu-Restart

    • Peter F May Says:

      I wondered this — seems what sleep mode does is lock the buttons so no accidental depressions can be made, say while you are travelling, and thus no accdental purchases/deletions.

      But the Kindle is still ‘live’ and wifi and 3G connections are still working and if you order a book from a PC or phone or of you have a newspaper/magazine subscription or someone sends something to your KIndle email address they will still be downloaded to the KIndle.

      When you switch it off there’s no connection, and no drain on the battery.

      • bufocalvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Peter!

        Yes, the Kindle can do some things while it is sleeping. In can, for example, index your books. So, yes, there can be battery use while it is sleeping.

        No battery is needed to maintain the sleep mode image (“screensaver”).

        Amazon recommends that we let the Kindle sleep, rather than turn it off, usually. If it is going to be an extended time (which they haven’t defined, to my knowledge), then they say you should turn it off.

        I’m curious…how do you know that the book delivers? You can’t tell if it has or not until you wake it up again, right? My experience is that when I wake it up, it cycles a bit and then downloads things.

        Hmm…interesting! I tested it and went to

        http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

        and it did show it as sent before I woke it up.

        Now, I did do it shortly after sleeping it. My intuition has always been that it drops the internet connection after a period of inactivity. It can be initiated again by Amazon, though. If I let the Kindle sleep for a while, when it wakes up, it doesn’t show that it has a Whispernet connection…for a few seconds.

        I would go with Amazon’s recommendation, and generally sleep rather than turn it off most of the time.

  7. Andi Says:

    Actually it’s St. Jerome in His Study by Albrecht Durer. But good work finding that!!! It wasn’t easy. I wish they would label them.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Andi!

      This is what the article says:

      St. Jerome in His Study by Albrecht Dürer

      This is what you said:

      St. Jerome in His Study by Albrecht Durer

      Maybe I’m just missing it, but is there something there I should correct? The only difference, I think, is the umlaut over the u..is that incorrect?

      I also want to make sure that one of my other readers, dunedenisip, was the one who identified that.

      Thanks for writing! Let me know if there is something I should change.

  8. Peter F May Says:

    Bufo, looks like I can’t reply to a reply..
    Ref sleeping and connection. I am using 3G only on my Kindle and at my PC I hear the interference with the nearby loodspeaker on the shelf above as the mobile phone network polls the KIndle ‘poll’. This happens while the Kindle is in sleep mode and when no documents are being transmitted to it.

  9. Sherry Says:

    Thanks for compiling this list and sharing it. I was really curious about the St. Jerome picture. I felt like I should know who it was, but really didn’t. :-)

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Sherry!

      Yes, it’s fun to know! I’m following a couple of leads on some of the others. My understanding is that the birds are by Audubon, for example, but I haven’t pinned down which picture it is specifically.

  10. Andrew Says:

    I wonder if the fish image is from some significant work as well.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Andrew!

      I’ve had a tip on it, but haven’t been able to identify it yet. So far, it’s the one (or several) that got away. ;)

  11. KidsHapen Says:

    The print of the constellations is Ophiuchus and Serpens and can be found here: http://images.search.yahoo.com/images/view;_ylt=A0PDoS4DPZFOP2cAmi6JzbkF;_ylu=X3oDMTBlMTQ4cGxyBHNlYwNzcgRzbGsDaW1n?back=http%3A%2F%2Fimages.search.yahoo.com%2Fsearch%2Fimages%3Fp%3DOphiuchus%2Band%2Bserpens%26fr2%3Dpiv-web%26b%3D1%26tab%3Dorganic&w=480&h=428&imgurl=4.bp.blogspot.com%2F_2ijVnE-NxZc%2FS7CRvqVHfrI%2FAAAAAAAABPA%2FVlLKmh9lB2k%2Fs1600%2Fophiuchus.JPG&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsimostronomy.blogspot.com%2F2010%2F03%2Fophiuchus-13th-sign-of-zodiac.html&size=68.5+KB&name=Ophiuchus+holds+a+huge+snake%2C+Serpens%2C+in+both+hands+as+shown+in+the+…&p=Ophiuchus+and+serpens&oid=55255eeb800986c2fe9496c0d2ff854c&fr2=piv-web&fr=&tt=Ophiuchus+holds+a+huge+snake%2C+Serpens%2C+in+both+hands+as+shown+in+the+…&b=0&ni=28&no=13&tab=organic&sigr=12b04vjo0&sigb=1306qipb5&sigi=12mv8qt45&.crumb=oUc5h9z.W8w

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, KidsHapen!

      Thanks!

      With your identification of the image, I was able to find it in context….to get the actual source.

      http://www.lindahall.org/services/digital/ebooks/flamsteed1729/flamsteed64_65.shtml

      It’s specifically from the 1729 Atlas Coelestis by John Flamsteed, and is entitled Ophiuchus & Serpens. As you know, we’d already identified it as Ophiuchus (who got a big PR boost since them), but it’s great to pin down the specific image. The version on the Kindle is both cropped and the contrast greatly increased over the image either of us found. I’ll update that post, and credit you for the lead.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,289 other followers

