Flash! My Kindle 3′s screen fails…again

Flash! My Kindle 3′s screen fails…again

Well, I’m glad this wasn’t my first experience with the Kindle…or this blog might not exist.  ;)

Tuesday of this week, I got a replacement for my Kindle 3, on which the  screen had failed.

Guess what?

The screen on my new Kindle just failed. 

It’s a different type of failure, so at least that’s interesting.

On the last one, part of one of the sleep mode pictures just stayed on there.

With this one, it was stuck on a page of text.  Then, the entire screen turned about the same color as the graphite case.  I can still see those words of text, but only because they are a bit blacker.

I went through all the trouble-shooting…nothing.

Since I couldn’t apparently change the screen at all, I couldn’t restart, except a hard restart, which didn’t work.  Fortunately, it was still recognized by my laptop, so I could do one more backup.  I’d synced earlier today, so I think I’ll be okay on that…might not have the “last page read” information is all.

I should have my third K3 on Tuesday.

I know the drill…and I still have the box.

The one irritating thing is that I’d already put the TrackItBack* sticker on this one…the one I’d ordered for the first Kindle 3, of course.  That means I’m out twenty dollars for that.  :(

I was also planning to use it in a meeting tomorrow (I keep notes on it), but maybe I can borrow back my Significant Other’s K2 again.

I’ll have to figure out what good I am going to get out of this experience…don’t think I really learned a whole lot new.  :)  Oh, and now I’ll have to think of another name to go with six…I feel like Janet Evanovich.  ;)  Oh, I’ve got it!  Drake!  Um…fifty trivia points if you know why (without looking it up).

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

13 Responses to “Flash! My Kindle 3′s screen fails…again”

  1. Dave Says:

    >Well, I’m glad this wasn’t my first experience with the Kindle…or this blog >might not exist. ;)

    I’m glad I’ve resisted the urge to upgrade my problem-free K2 at this point. Higher contrast would indeed be nice, but I’ve just read way too much about problems with the K3s. These things are supposed to get better with each release, not worse. I mean, imagine if Windows Vista were worse than Windows XP. Oh…wait.

    • Jon Says:

      Every product has issues. Sounds like Bufo just has some bad luck going. Considering how many K3 devices Amazon has been selling this past month, if a significant number of them were failing, we’d already be hearing about class action lawsuits and the tech blogs would be tripping over themselves talking about it non-stop.

  2. Ann Says:

    When you call for a replacement, you should tell Amazon about the tracker sticker. .. .they have been known to credit folks for ‘skins’. . .can’t hurt to ask. :)

    Sorry for the problems you’ve been having! I got mine on release day (actually Thursday the 26th) at have had zero problems.

    Ann

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ann!

      Well, at least it proves I don’t get special treatment. ;) I brought up the sticker, but they weren’t offering to replace it. I’m not going to get into a discussion with them about it…good suggestion, though.

  3. Ron King Says:

    Hi Bufo, I’m sorry about your troubles – imagine if Amazon had poor customer service! Given their exceptional track record, I have to believe that has somewhat lessened your pain.

    My question for you: Some time ago you were lamenting the fact you should have went with the white Kindle due to contrast issues between the case and the buttons. Have you thought about taking the idea up with Amazon CS about sending you a white replacement – or have you gotten used to the charcoal?

    Ron.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ron!

      I figure I’m entitled to what broke…and I think I’ve memorized the button locations now. ;)

  4. Mike Southerland Says:

    Bufo…

    This is “off topic” but I couldn’t find out how to email you. You probably know by now, but there’s a free R.C. Sproul book available currently:

    Surprised by Suffering: The Role of Pain and Death in The Christian Life

    Surprised by Suffering: The Role of Pain and Death in The Christian Life

    Buy from Amazon

    Mike

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Mike!

      Doesn’t look like I’ve posted that one yet…thanks for the heads up! Busy day at work today (the culmination of weeks of work), but I’ll see when I can get that out to the list…there are some others I want to post as well.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Mike, unfortunately, I didn’t get it posted before it became no longer free. I appreciate you letting my readers know in your comment.

  5. Candace Says:

    Well, I’m really sorry and surprised about this. It is helping to lessen my envy quite a bit, though, and make me still love my K2 desperately.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Hi Bufo: Sorry for your K3 troubles – may it be replaced quickly! Mine’s working well – actually, seems to freeze up less frequently than the KDX. All the best, Kathy

  7. Michel S. Says:

    That, unfortunately, just happened to my Kindle. I’m hoping the replacement process is not too convoluted, as I’m based in Germany!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Sorry to hear that, Michel!

      The process was very simple in the US, and I imagine it’s close to the same in Germany (unless there are any problems mailing electronics from there).

      Please let me know…I’d be interested to hear how the process was for you.

      Oh, have you called Kindle Customer Service already? If you got it from Amazon.com, start at

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      If you got it from Amazon.co.uk, start here

      http://www.amazon.co.uk/kindlesupport

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,255 other followers

