Flash! Lending coming to Kindles, periodicals to some apps!

Flash! Lending coming to Kindles, periodicals to some apps!

Big news!

In this

Amazon forum thread

Amazon officially says that lending is coming to the Kindle, similar to the NOOK (sic), and periodicals are coming to some of the reader apps! 

Yep, you’ll be able to lend a book for 14-days to someone not on your account, if the publisher allows it.

Magazines and newspapers will be available for iDevices (iPad, iPhone, iPod touch).  They don’t say that they will be available for the Kindle for PC and Kindle for Mac.  They also don’t mention blogs.

I’ll keep you informed…

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

2 Responses to “Flash! Lending coming to Kindles, periodicals to some apps!”

  1. Daz Says:

    I know a lot of people have been hanging out for this feature but I’m not sure how this will work for me or if I would even use it. I don’t know many people who have Kindles and also people that I would lend / share books with who read the same stuff as I do – those two groups do not intersect.

    All that said, I think lending and setting a time limit on the lending is a great feature. I hope it’s an upgrade to the software to the Kindle devices rather than a whole new device to allow the functionality. 14 days seems a bit short, 30 days would be better, esp. if it doesn’t limit your own ability to read the same book if you wish to.

    I also wonder if it will continue to limit the book to 5 devices (which is what is now the norm for most books) with the borrower’s Kindle being counted as 1 device.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Daz!

      I wouldn’t use lending much, but I might. I have some relative who aren’t on my account. If it’s like the NOOK (sic) LendMe feature (and everything we’ve heard coincides), you do not have access to it on your device while it is on line.

      The default number of simultaneous devices is 6, although I do see some that are five (and some that are fewer, some that are unlimited). It’s possible that you see five more often…because you don’t see six. :) If it’s six, the number isn’t show. My guess is that the borrower’s Kindle would not count as a license. It’s not licensed to that person. On the NOOK, you can only lend one book once ever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers

