Flash! Kindle for PC updated

Flash! Kindle for PC updated

I have to say, just like its namesake, Amazon never stands still.

Now, they’ve added some nice additions to the free

Kindle for PC app

 There are three new things:

  • You get the dictionary!
  • You can see your titles in a list, rather than in tile (thumbnail…little pictures of the covers) form
  • You can choose multiple column reading

We’ll take these one at a time, then I’ll tell you how to do the update…or if you can’t wait, just go to the above link and download it.  :)

Dictionary

The Kindle has an on-board dictionary, and you can use it to look up words.  That’s now been added to the Kindle for PC.  You can also look up words and phrases in Google and Wikipedia.  Unlike the Kindle, you don’t just put your cursor in front of the word…you select the word (by double-clicking or by dragging over).  The definition will appear at the bottom of the screen.  The first time you do it, you apparently have to download the dictionary…at least, I did.  It had a kind of scary message about the dictionary not being in the archives, but of course, it was. 

You’ll also get a choice to Lookup…select that, and you’ll see Google and Wikipedia as options.  Be careful, though!  It didn’t open a new window for me, it knocked me off of the last thing I had open…like this post I’m composing.  :)  That may not be true for everybody, and it wouldn’t be a problem if you only had Kindle for PC open.  The short definition appears in a hover window at the bottom (like it does on your Kindle) and you can choose to see the full definition.

If you want to turn off the dictionary, you can do that in Options.

List View

Oh, I like this one!  Regular readers know, I’m not that visual a person.  I’d rather look at the numbers than look at a graph.  When you are in the home screen, you’ll see two buttons to your right of the sync button:

The one on your right, with the little boxes, represents tile view.  The one on your left will list your titles…sort of like an Excel spreadsheet without the lines.  You can sort by clicking the column titles…much easier, in my opinion.

Multiple Columns

There’s another new button.  You’ll see it when you have a book open.  It’s to your right of the full screen button:

It’s the one on your far right here.

That will display your book in multiple columns, like you might see in a magazine. 

All in all, these are a few nice changes.

To update your Kindle for PC, you can go to the link I gave at the top and choose to download.  If you already had K4PC open, it will ask you to close it.  The whole thing took about three minutes, I’d say.  It was all pretty painless and worked fine for me.

One other little thing I noticed: if you go to Tools-Options, you can now see and change where your Kindle content is stored…that’s a nice touch.

I did notice that it was taking longer to get back to Home from the book…not a big deal, but it did seem to degrade performance a little.

I’m looking forward to the next thing to come down the river!  ;)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

10 Responses to “Flash! Kindle for PC updated”

  1. FSkornia Says:

    Something I noticed about the new version. When you’re in list view, you can’t remove books from the collection. You need to go back to the thumbnail view in order to remove books from the collection. Right clicking on the book in list view also doesn’t do anything.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Fskornia!

      That’s too bad! I’m away from my Kindle for PC installation right now and can’t test it…thanks for letting people know. :)

  2. Phoenix Says:

    I can’t find the option to see where the files are stored on the Computer under Options in the new version. Am I missing something?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phoenix!

      It was in…Tools, Options, and then I think it said Content. I’ll double-check when I get back to my installation of it later tonight, but I’m pretty sure that’s right. You have to start from the Home screen.

      • Phoenix Says:

        I figured it out! Though it said it installed the new version it really didn’t. Now that I really do have the new version it is all there just as you said. Thanks for the GREAT info!!

      • bufocalvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phoenix!

        That’s great! I really appreciate you checking back and letting me…I like happy endings. :)

  3. Tom Semple Says:

    Note that except for dictionary lookup, Kindle for Mac has feature parity with the new K4PC version.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Yes, good point. I can’t test Kindle for Mac, so I don’t write about it as much.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Regarding “It didn’t open a new window for me, it knocked me off of the last thing I had open…like this post I’m composing.”:

    This is likely due to a system-wide web browser setting, rather than specific to Kindle For PC. For some dumb reason, Internet Explorer by default has the setting “Reuse windows for launching shortcuts” enabled. This causes programs and desktop URL shortcuts to steal IE windows. You can disable that setting in Internet Options. :-)

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Anonymous!

      D’oh! I should have thought of that. However, the program could have overriden that, right?

      Anyway, I’ll check it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,310 other followers

