News: “E-Book boom benefits Austin Company”

News: “E-Book boom benefits Austin Company”

KXAN.com:

E-Book boom benefits Austin Company

I’ve been looking a bit for a new way to let you know about interesting news pieces.

I used to link them on the website.  That didn’t work very well, actually, because it was a  little clunky to do and hard to maintain…and Kindle store subscribers didn’t see them.  It also didn’t give me much room to comment, when I wanted to do that.

I’ve been tending to tweet  articles, but again, that doesn’t get them to my Kindle store subscribers, and I’m very grateful to them.

So, here’s what I think I’ll try.  I’ve been moving the news links on to a special page at the website.  That’s taking some time, but I hope to get it done by the start of 2011 (although I’ve got a really busy week coming up).

I’ll send them out as blog posts.  The disadvantage of that, by the way, is that my Amazon Author Central page can only show the five most recent, and the Kindle subscribers see…I think, it’s the ten most recent.  I’ll try not to post more than one or two a day (and there certainly may be days in between news posts) 

Let me know what you think about this as we go forward.

Now, as to this particular story…

It’s about a company that digitizes books for seven of the ten largest publishers, according to the story.  It’s an interesting little piece: you can watch the local news video.

Here’s a little background:

LibreDigital  has worked with Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins, and more to digitize their books.  They also do major newspapers and magazines.

 It’s worth making the point that some Kindle store books at Amazon aren’t proof-read very well, but that doesn’t tend to be the majors.  I wouldn’t paint this company with that brush.

They are also doing some of the important things going forward in e-book publishing…not exclusively, necessarily.  For example, they are doing the HTML5 SkyShelf, which is a web-e-books platform.  I think that’s part of the future.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

One Response to “News: “E-Book boom benefits Austin Company””

  1. Kathy Says:

    Hi Bufo: Happy holidays! I like getting blog posts completely in my kindle subscription. I don’t really use my kindle as a web browser, so I won’t click through to links to articles from my kindle subscription to your blog. It would also be really nice if I could click through to your recommended/listed free, good, etc books to purchase from the kindle store from my kindle subscription to your blog. But I know that one is beyond your control – just seems like such an obvious thing for Amazon to enable… I’m sure this has been much-discussed in the fora, but how silly that you can’t click from the Amazon blog on your kindle to go into the kindle store and buy a book. All the best, Kathy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

