New Kindle app: Notepad

New Kindle app: Notepad

You know how the active content in the Kindle store is pretty much all games?

Well, this new app is definitely a utility:

Notepad
by 7 Dragons
$0.99 at time of writing

I’ve written before about using your Kindle as a notepad.

This is far more sophisticated, though. 

You can make and read your notes in the app.  You can search your notes (that’s really nice).  They’ve given you keyboard shortcuts for things like saving the note.

You can even back up your notes to your computer!  You do have to be cabled to the computer to do that, but it does save them as easily accessible .txt files. 

They’ve done some nice touches to make it Kindle friendly.  When you enter a search term, for example, you just to wait a second or two for the search results.

I’ve bought it, and I can see how it is going to be useful for me (although I do tend to take my notes now on my SmartPhone, using speech-to-text so I don’t have to thumb type).

They’ve also created some videos.  You can see them at http://www.kappreview.com .

As I write this, it has eight reviews…all five star.  That’s pretty impressive, but I’m sure they’ll get one below five stars from somebody who doesn’t like rutabaga or something.  ;)

Full disclosure: I do have some correspondence with Abhi of http://ireaderreview.com/, and he is part of the team that developed this (although he is always careful to credit 7 Dragons).

As with other Active Content titles, this doesn’t work on the K1, but does work on K2s, K3s, and the KDX.  It doesn’t work in reader apps, and I assume it can’t be purchased outside the US.

You can buy Notepad once and share it with all compatible devices on the account.

For information on more active content, see this category.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

12 Responses to “New Kindle app: Notepad”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    Those pesky rutabaga haters again? They even vote against dog parks, apple pie, and often wind up as lawyers for publishing houses.

  2. Debbie Says:

    Wondering if the speech to text is an android app

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Debbie!

      It’s actually just the Android keyboard on my Samsung Captivate, rather than a separate app. It took me a little while to realize that I had to change from the Samsung keyboard to the Android keyboard to have that available.

      Just to be clear, that’s speech-to-text, not text-to-speech. I talk to my SmartPhone, and it turns it into text…which I can text message or e-mail.

  3. Double Your Income by Writing :: Avanti Mountain Bikes Says:

    [...] New Kindle app: Notepad « I Love My Kindle [...]

  4. gazpacho61 Says:

    Pity I can’t buy it from Spain! I wwould find it very useful.

  5. Emanuel Maia Says:

    There was a notepad free for Kindle.

    English: http://www.edukindle.com/2010/09/notepad-for-kindle-keeps-your-ideas-handy/

    Portuguese: http://kindle.blog.br/search?q=bloco+de+notas

    That app is more well done, but those free notepad are workable.

  6. Smash Bravo Team Says:

    Okay so I was in my room reading this on my kindle, see this post and run for my laptop so in a bigger screen I can see the notepad pics. I immediately hit buy and run back for my kindle so I can see it.
    I come back a few minutes later and my 4 year old is clicking away on the latp top. Guess what she did?
    She purchased two books! one for .99 and one for 6.99! Of course it then took me forever to find amazons phone number to call them, I finally did and they were very nice and took the tow books off. But I am laughing so hard and had to share this with you, because of your post my kid went on a shopping spree!!

    I had never been here in person only on the kindle, I will be back, I love your blog!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Smash!

      That’s a great story! When my offspring was less than a year old, sitting in my lap, there was a slap…and my computer was totaled! Actually broke the chip…pretty impressive.

      I know you’ve found it now, but you can contact Kindle Customer Support at

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      There’s a Contact Us button on your right side.

      You also had seven days to contact them from the date of purchase to “return” the book for a refund.

      Nice to know your kid is adavnced, though, right? Hope she ordered something good. ;)

      Thanks for the kind words! I’m glad you love I Love. :)

  7. Alice Field Says:

    I’m really interested in this notepad (and the games mentioned in your other recent post), but I am in the UK and cannot find them on Amazon.co.uk… can you help please?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Alice!

      I believe active content is currently only available from Amazon.com for US customers. If you aren’t in the US, as indicated at http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle , I believe you can’t currently get the Active Content. However, there are some rumors that it is coming to the UK…but not yet.

  8. New from 7 Dragons: a Calendar app (and an update to Notepad) « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] Notepad app [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,255 other followers

