Flash! The Amazon Android Appstore has arrived

Flash! The Amazon Android Appstore has arrived

As rumored, we have the Amazon Appstore this morning!

Amazon Appstore for Android

They are giving away a special version of Angry Birds, tied into the movie Rio.

Well, that was disappointing!  I tried installing it on my Samsung Captivate with AT&T, and it looked like it installed, but I got a message saying:

“Install blocked

For security, your phone is set to block installation of applications not sourced in Android Market.”

I’ll have to see if there is a legitmate way around that…my Significant Other loves Angry Birds! 

The Angry Birds Rio is only free until midnight Pacific time tonight.

The store has a lot of categories, including free Amazon Apps, including Audible and Kindle.  They don’t have an app for their video on demand, which is interesting.

There are 625 apps under the Books & Comics category.  Those include Dr. Seuss books, manga, and more.  There are 41 free apps in this category.

Hey, they have top 100 free and paid lists, just like the Kindle store!  That’s nice…

That’s interesting!  There are free and paid versions of some programs, like some of the Angry Birds titles…the free one of the basic AB is advertising supported…that’s the one I’ve had on my phone for a while.

You can “test drive” some apps on your computer…sort of like a free sample in the Kindle store.

Ah, I found the important part for me:

“If you have an AT&T phone or tablet, you currently can’t install the Amazon Appstore or purchase apps from it. AT&T is working to allow customers to install the Amazon Appstore and purchase apps from it. To sign up to be notified by AT&T when you are able to install the Amazon Appstore on AT&T phones and tablets, visit the AT&T website.”

Here’s the page where you can sign up to be notified when AT&T has finalized its arrangements.  This is an AT&T page…it should be more directly effective than clicking the “Tell the publisher” link on a Kindle store book.  ;)

The feedback e-mail address to Amazon is

amazon-appstore-help@amazon.com

There are special gift cards:

Amazon Appstore gift cards

This is also an important paragraph:

1. Amazon Appstore downloads are only available to customers located in the United States and only work on Android mobile and internet tablet devices. To redeem a gift card for Amazon Appstore downloads, you must have opened an Amazon account and must accept the Terms of Use for the Amazon Appstore service.”

They are also going to do a free app of the day, which would be one for which you would normally pay.

Do you have an Android app you’d like to see in the Amazon Appstore?  Start here:

https://developer.amazon.com/welcome.html

It’s funny, and this is just to give you my feeling on it, but I really want access to this!  I’m not app crazy…I don’t have a lot of the on my phone.   For whatever reason, though, I’m feeling like it would be fun, exciting, and reasonably priced.   Maybe you can get most of it already through the Android Marketplace…but it makes a big difference to me that this is the familiar Amazon interface.  I know how to browse the store, how to find things.  We’ll have Amazon style reviews and ratings.  Being able to shop on my computer rather than my phone is a big plus.

Well, check it out, and feel free to tell me what you think.  I’ll let you know when I get access on my phone.

Oh, and no Amazon Android tablet yet…  :)

No press release on the appstore yet, either…I’ll add a link when there is one.

Update: here’s that

press release

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

8 Responses to “Flash! The Amazon Android Appstore has arrived”

  1. Robert Says:

    I believe AT&T blocks non-market apps on all their android phones. I had to root my HTC Aria and my girlfriend’s Motorola Backflip to get around that, so the Captivate is probably the same way. Its really unfortunate that AT&T blocks this, because there are a lot of great applications that are only available directly from the developer. I’m not sure how you feel about rooting, but it seems like a fairly simple process for the Captivate if you want to try it.

    http://theandroidsite.com/2010/07/18/how-to-root-your-samsung-vibrant-or-captivate/

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      AT&T says they are working on making the Amazon Appstore available…so hopefully, it will happen quickly.

      I wouldn’t root myself, but that’s just me…

  2. Evan Says:

    Hi there; my htc handset allows “non-market applications”… through Settings: Applications: then check the Unknown Sources box.

    Of course I use Verizon and the phone uses Sense UI, so your mileage may vary.

    Cheers

  3. Joel Says:

    Thanks for the details. I love playing Angry Birds, in fact that’s one of the best selling games with iPhone last year.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joel!

      Yes, the success of Angry Birds is amazing! It’s definitely a genre-buster…people play it who don’t play any other videogames.

  4. J Says:

    No, AT&T does not support the Amazon App Store. They may say they do, but none of their reps know how to enable it, Samsung won’t, and I’m buy an HTC handset from another carrier soon.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, J!

      I use the Amazon Appstore with my Samsung Captivate on AT&T quite often.

      There are certainly reasons to consider another carrier, but it works just fine for me. I enjoy the free apps, and even sometimes pay for one. :)

      I was looking for a good screenshot from Amazon to show you, but it just says it is compatible with the Samsung Captivate and to go to the Appstore on my device…it doesn’t say AT&T, I believe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

