“If you don’t have an iPhone…”

“If you don’t have an iPhone…”

I have to say, this ad for the iPhone gave me a good chuckle:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV2__tmrEbM

It starts out with, “If you don’t have an iPhone, you don’t have iBooks.”

Well, if you don’t have an iPad either, that’s true.

It goes on to tell me, if I don’t have an iPhone I don’t have the iBookstore, an entire bookstore in my pocket.

True, I have an Android phone…so I don’t have iBooks.  I do, however, have the Kindle store…with hundreds of thousands more books. 

They end with one of those wonderful reflexive advertising statements: “If you don’t have an iPhone, well, you don’t have an iPhone.”

That’s truth in advertising!  ;)

It is interesting to me that they are using iBooks to make the iPhone seem better than all those Android phones out there.  I wonder how many people out there actually will decide to go with an iPhone because it has iBooks.  True, I probably wouldn’t have gotten a SmartPhone that didn’t have access to the Kindle store…but while there are certainly people very commmitted to Apple products, I don’t think iBooks has a prominent place in the pantheon of Apple products and services.  Essentially, people who have had iPads have always had the Kindle store alternative…and I believe the Kindle store has had as many as ten times more in-copyright books (that has changed recently since Random House went with the Agency Model and joined iBooks).

Anyway, it brought a smile to my face this morning, and you can trust me on that…after all…

“When you are reading this blog, well, you are reading this blog.”

;)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to ““If you don’t have an iPhone…””

  1. Kathy Says:

    Hi: AS a “mac-fangirl” I can say that this commercial was awfully sneering, even for Apple… But you left off the key phrase “you don’t have ibooks in your POCKET.” :-) thus avoiding the ipad-based, “yes, I do’s.”

    I’d consider something with Android, but man, once you’ve switched over the Apple ecosystem (Imac/macbook air/iphone/ipad) the prospect of adding something that comes from another ecological system is daunting.

    Yup, they’ve got me right where they want me! Thanks, Kathy

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Kathy!

      Well, the line actually is:

      “If you don’t have an iPhone, you don’t have iBooks…so you don’t have your favorite books in your pocket…”

      I think that pretty definitively says you don’t have iBooks if you don’t have an iPhone. The punctuation is mine, though. ;)

      I understand that! Perfectly reasonable…I used to tell people how much better FilemakerPro would be for most of them than Microsoft Access…but they wanted the easy interactivity with Office that Access gave them.

  2. Amanda Says:

    LOL when I first read this on my kindle I laughed so hard. Another reason why I love your blog!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Amanda!

      I really appreciate that feedback! It makes me feel good to know that people are enjoying the humor in what I write. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

