Never/Used to Be/Now/Always/Announced/Rumored

Never/Used to Be/Now/Always/Announced/Rumored

The internet is great, because there is so much information.

However, not only is some of it wrong when written, there is another interesting problem.

It tends to never go away. That means that there is information out there that was right when it was published, but has become obsolete.

I’ve seen that happen with my own writing…it’s tough to go back through the blog and correct things after they have changed.

So, I thought we’d have some fun with this. I’m going to give you some statements…you need to decide if:

  • It was never true
  • It used to be true, but it isn’t any more (this would mean, for example, that it worked on a Kindle 1, but not on the currently sold Kindle 3s and current Kindle DX)
  • It is true now, and didn’t used to be
  • It’s always been true
  • Amazon (or another official entity, if it isn’t an Amazon product) has announced it, but it’s not here yet
  • It’s been rumored, but Amazon hasn’t said it
I’ll give you the answers and some more context in the next couple of days. We may disagree on my answers, by the way…that’s okay, we can talk about it. :) I’m going to go with what’s generally correct, even though there may be some way for something to be true in unusual circumstances…if something is illegal or against the Terms of Service, you’ll be more likely to match me if you don’t count it.
I could keep going…and I may in another post. If you know one you thing would be good in a future version of this, feel free to let me know. I’ll give you my answers on this in the next few days.
This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.
9 Responses to “Never/Used to Be/Now/Always/Announced/Rumored”

  1. Common Sense Says:

    That was fun! Given some of the vote totals, it will be interesting to see what the answers are.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Common!

      I’m glad you had fun…I’m having fun with it, too. :) I’ll probably wait until tomorrow or Saturday, to let the data build up a bit.

      At least one question at this point has all possible answers given. Some of them have some really serious splits.

      I suspect some of my categories or the way I asked them may have been too complex, because my intuition is that some answers may not be what the respondent intended…

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Common!

      I’m glad you had fun…I’m having fun with it, too. :) I’ll probably wait until tomorrow or Saturday, to let the data build up a bit.

      At least one question at this point has all possible answers given. Some of them have some really serious splits.

      I suspect some of my categories or the way I asked them may have been too complex, because my intuition is that some answers may not be what the respondent intended…

  2. Morgan Says:

    FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i thinking adding a poll question along the lines of “B&N e-book titles exceed Amazons” would be fun too… there were alot of rumors swirling around that one.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Morgan!

      Yes, I thought about that one…maybe next time. I’m glad you enjoyed it. :)

  3. Bob Fry Says:

    Some questions depend on whether you allow for a hacked Kindle or not. I’m sure your quiz assumes a standard Kindle, but still…

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Bob!

      That’s why I included this line:

      “……if something is illegal or against the Terms of Service, you’ll be more likely to match me if you don’t count it.”

      A hacked Kindle violates your Terms of Service, so my answers won’t apply to those.

  4. Answers to Never/Used to Be/Now/Always/Announced/Rumored « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] earlier post with polls [...]

  5. It’s a numbers game « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] had fun when I did an earlier game with Kindle facts, Never/Used to Be/Now/Always/Announced/Rumored. The response was good, so I thought I’d try another [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

