Flash! Kindle for PC updated with Collections, copy and paste!

Flash! Kindle for PC updated with Collections, copy and paste!

Big, big, big!

Kindle for PC looks quite different with a brand new update…and includes the ability to import your Collections (and create them on the PC).

I have my K4PC set to update automatically…but it didn’t, and I’ve had that happen before.

Open K4PC, and do

Help-Future Improvements…

Even though the Future Improvements page hasn’t been updated with a new description, go ahead and

Download the new version

It went smoothly for me, although I’m seeing some things in the Kindle community where people say they crashed…I’m on Vista Home Premium on this machine.

It looks quite different. For one thing, Home is now called Library.

It prompted me to add Collections…although you can also do it through the File menu.

You can also duplicate Collections…that’s a nice touch.

It’s showing me my total items, as well as downloaded and archives…again, a nice touch.

There is a Recommended for You link…it looked like it was only going to pull up Kindle books, but it didn’t find anything for me.

There was a fascinating addition, and I don’t see how you’d realize it was there. Highlight a name in a book (a person, a place), and you’ll have some new choices:

Note that Report Content Error? Interesting!

When you click the Book Extras by Shelfari, you get a description…which you can edit or you can add something new:

This should contribute to massive updating of the Shelfari extras…I wanted to alter this one right away. :)

When I clicked to View All Book Extras, you get all kinds of things…perfect for a homework assignment. You get character descriptions, a synopsis (which is “spoiler-blinded” until you click on it), alternate covers, quotations, themes…really nice!

Hey…we can copy and paste now! I highlighted a fairly large selection, copied it, pasted it into Notepad…it even gave me citation data! It was a bit misleading, but it gave it to me:

Carroll, Lewis (1997-05-01). Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Kindle Locations 543-553). Public Domain Books. Kindle Edition.

Misleading because Lewis Carroll wasn’t born in 1997, of course.  He also wasn’t born on May 1…I’m thinking that’s the publication date of the edition.

They are really making this much better for school work…and that may also tie into the tablet.

If you don’t have Kindle for PC at all yet, start here:

Kindle for PC

Try it out, let me know what you think!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

21 Responses to “Flash! Kindle for PC updated with Collections, copy and paste!”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    The kindle app on my Android smartphone looks a lot like k4pc — I wonder if these updates will ever wend their way there? Would be nice.

    Thanks for the update on this — I’ll get the update and try it out.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      My guess is that Collections will eventually come to all the reader apps…

  2. Elanor Says:

    Cool! I hated having no collections on the pc.

    I imported my collections from my kindle. I’m not sure what kind of order the collections are in on the pc. The names of the collections are the same but they aren’t in the same order. Not sorted by title. Just very random. I don’t see how to change the order for collections.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Elanor!

      Mine also seemed a bit different…I haven’t had a chance to analyze it yet. I’m pretty sure there were things in my Collections on my K4PC that aren’t currently there on my Kindle, but I have to look at it more carefully.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Elanor!

      I have to say, I don’t see the order for Collections, either. It’s not most recent, it’s not alphabetical, it’s not by number of items. I tried dragging the Collection to a different place…nope. Hm…no, I don’t think it is order created, either…maybe reverse order created? I’ll have to look at it more…long day yesterday. :)

  3. Jessica Says:

    Exciting, I really hope this change comes to the ipad version very soon.

  4. Robin Says:

    It’s nice, but I’d like to see with a glance what books have been placed in a collection already, even if it only listed the first collection where it was placed.
    It would be easier to sort out the books on the K4PC (drag and drop is nice!) and then sync the collections to my mother’s K3 so she can find the books she’s interested in reading without having to dig through my books (or my sister’s) that I know she’s not interested in.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robin!

      Yes, I like being able to drag the titles on to the Collections. :)

      The issue with showing which books are in which Collections is that ColKlections can be different on each device. Until we get device-specific archives (which I think will happen at some point, that’s going to complicate that.

      However, you can set up the Collections on the Kindle for PC, as you suggest, and then import those Collections to your mother’s K3. You can’t “push” the Collections, they’d have to be imported from her device…but that’s fairly easy.

      I need to test that more, though…I imported my K4PC Collections on to my Kindle to see what would happen, and I ended up with duplicate Collections…it’s not supposed to happen that way, I think, so I need to test it more. However, if your mother doesn’t create Collections on the K3 and then imports from the K4PC (which is easily done through Archived Items) I think she’d be okay.

  5. Joseph Holmberg Says:

    I am excited to try these features tonight when I get home from work! However, I wonder if it is possible to sync between the Kindle for PC and Kindle 3? If so, it would be GREAT since I have over 700 books! :-)

    Can you imagine trying to organize that many books on the kindle 3…would take centuries!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joseph!

      Yes, you can import the Collections from the K4PC to the K3. I have to test it more, though…it shouldn’t create duplicate Collections, and it did.

      You can’t sync, but you can import…in other words, once the Collections are imported, they do not stay in sync with the Collection on the original device.

      I don’t find that putting books into Collections takes much time. The key thing is to put them in the Collection from the Collection, not from the individual book. Right click on a Collection, and you’ll see a choice to Add/Remove items. Then, you are just clicking on the ones you want to add to that Collection. When you’ve added the ones you want., you can click the Home button…you don’t need to go to the bottom and click Home. Of course, it would take you some time to go through 700 books clicking on them…it would depend on how many Collections and how many books on your Kindle. I only keep about ten Kindle store books on my Kindle (although I have things from other sources and things other than books), so it doesn’t take me long.

  6. Miriam Says:

    I noticed earlier this week that we could copy and paste. I could do that with digital upgrades I’d gotten years ago, but I really am happy to see it with the Kindle.
    Thanks for pointing out the upgrade. I’ve been needing an organizing feature on K4PC and immediately downloaded when I saw your post.
    Thanks for the time you put into your posts and for your enthusiasm!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Miriam!

      I’m glad it was helpful for you!

      I am a pretty enthusiastic person (that’s a geek thing), but comments like yours help. :)

  7. David Says:

    Bufo,
    Updating my KPC made it unusable. Crashed at start-up. Re-installed previous software. It worked but now I have KPC2. I guess it ate a license and now I must download many of my books again. That’s the real annoyance, not the license.

    Wonder if others using WinXPsp3 have experienced this?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, David!

      I’m sorry to hear that! I mentioned in my post that some people in the Kindle community reported crashing…but I don’t know operating systems. To recover the lost licenses, if you want, I’d contact Kindle Customer Service and let them know:

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      The books should all be available through the archives, and I only tend to download the ones I want available right now…I only have about ten Kindle store books on my Kindle, for example.

  8. Dan Barnett Says:

    Hi, Bufo,

    KINDLE FOR MAC

    Apparently the Kindle Mac app has been updated as well, to 1.6.1 (32801). It also offers to download collections from my Kindle. That’s the good news.

    The not-so-good news is that apparently the Kindle for Mac app doesn’t support MacOS X Lion (which I just installed). The Amazon Free Reading Apps page says only Leopard and Snow Leopard are supported.

    I wonder if others reading ILMK can verify that this is correct. If so, I hope Amazon can update the app to run on Lion!

    Dan

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dan!

      Thanks for letting me (and my readers) know that Kindle for Mac was updated as well!

      Lion was just released three days ago, right? I’m sure Amazon will update the app in time.

  9. Janet Holland Says:

    I love this update! And I so appreciate that I can come to this blog regularly, don’t know when I would have known about the update otherwise.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Janet!

      I’m glad you can come here, too. :) I do try and stay on top of changes like that…I like my readers to be able to be the “firstest with the mostest”. ;)

  10. In depth with Collections in Kindle for PC 1.6 « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] I recently wrote about an update to the free Kindle reader app, Kindle for PC. [...]

  11. Emanuel Maia Says:

    Hi Bufo,

    I had experimented K4PC instability after update, ways when I highlight a text.

    Other, how can I copy and past? It´s just Crtl+C , Crtl+V?

    kindle.blog.br

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Emanuel!

      Unfortunately, it appears like that feature may not be available outside the US. If it is, it’s pretty obvious: you see a copy button after highlighting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

