I try my Mindle

I try my Mindle

I got my Mindle (that’s my term for the $79 Kindle 4) today.

First impression?

Even the box was smaller. :) The first Kindle had a big box, but the K2 and K3 had the same size box, I think…close, anyway. The box also had a wedge-shape on the end…it might do well on BattleBots. ;)

Once I pulled the zip strip and opened the box, it was pretty much like other Kindles…it had a film to peel off the front. There wasn’t a wall plug, but there was a USB cable. The “quick start” guide was just a single card in a pocket in the top…it reminded me of the things we used to have in some books in school where we wrote down our name on a line when we checked it out.

The screen showed how to connect it to a computer’s USB port.

Then, it took me through a very simple three-step process. I did need the password for my wi-fi network, but I had that handy. Entering it, by the way, without a physical keyboard, was easier than I expected. They cleverly provided me with a keyboard where everything was capitals and one where everything was in lower case. Each keyboard also had numbers. That made the “hunt and click” method of selecting the characters for my password not too onerous. That hunt and click is what I call what we do on a Tivo…you move to a letter on a board, then click.

I will say that it took quite a while for it to detect my wi-fi router…I think that was longer than it had been on my K3, but it’s hard to compare those on that. Once it detected it, setting up was simple. I was guided through three steps, which resulted in my Kindle being registered, knowing it was registered, and connected to my wi-fi. I was ready to go.

I’ve heard people say their Mindles had less contrast than their K3s…not in my case. It looks the same…if anything, I’d say the Mindle seems to have better contrast. However, I do have some color vision deficiency, so you can’t figure that the way I see things is the way everybody sees them.

There was also a thread in the Amazon Kindle community forum that said the browser on the K4 wasn’t as good as the browser on the K2 (the person who posted had skipped the K3). That wasn’t my experience…I tested it, and it seems as fast to me as the K3. It could be that the person who posted had a faster 3G connection than wi-fi…that’s unusual, I believe, but it happens.

Otherwise, it’s all been pretty good. I had to realize I wasn’t setting up a replacement Kindle, so I didn’t go through those steps.

I was able to download a personal document through the archives right away.

It has an e-mail address of its own (at least at Home-Menu-Settings). I haven’t checked my Manage Your Kindle page yet* to see what’s there.

The other thing that threw me a bit was when I wanted to try changing the text size…and there was no Aa button. Fortunately, I simply followed the advice I give you: when in doubt, hit the Menu button. :)  That gave me a choice to change the font size, which brought up the same choices as the Aa button (except for text-to-speech, of course).

Overall? I think it’s a decent EBR (E-Book Reader) so far. It’s worth the $79. I wouldn’t have it as my main EBR, since it doesn’t have text-to-speech. I thought my Significant Other might want to switch to it (smaller might be better), but it won’t play SCRABBLE. I’m not quite sure why that is, but that’s the case. It will play Every Word.

I like the arrangements of the buttons…I’m finding it very easy (even after only a few minutes) to invoke the keyboard when I want, go home, go back, and open the menu. The next and previous page buttons are easy as well. I think it would be too small and precise for people with tactile issues.

I like the color and the design (the way the Kindle logo looks on both sides), but don’t go by me on that. :)

One more thing: it was strange going to the Experimental part of the menu, and only seeing one choice (for the browser).

* Okay, I’ve checked my

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

page.

This Kindle did not come set up with the “Send All” address. According to MYK, I’d have to deregister it and reregister it. I may play more with that later. I do still have a “send all’ address available, though.

Update: I forgot to mention this, but I thought my Significant Other had a great observation, saying the Mindle looked like a greeting card. :) If you think about those cards with a speaker inside them (like the ones with Hoops and Yoyo), that’s close to the size of the Mindle…if the whole card was as thick as the thickest point.

If you have questions or comments about the Mindle, feel free to let me know.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

19 Responses to “I try my Mindle”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    Thank you; I love Battle Bots! Haven’t seen it in years. Now I am impatiently awaiting KF and KT. Good night from the rainy mountains of SW Virginia.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      “The lights are on. The box is locked. It’s robot fightin’ time!”

      Oddly, my Significant Other liked BattleBots. Odd, because that’s not my SO’s kind of thing. I don’t think it was just to share my interests, either. ;)

  2. John Salerno Says:

    Now that you’ve checked out the MYK page, do you happen to know the difference between the New Oxford American Dictionary that came pre-installed on the Kindle and the NOAD listed separately on the MYK page? One has the author “Amazon Dictionary Account” and the other has “Oxford University Press.”

    Is it safe to delete one of these? I’m not sure which one should stay…

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, John!

      My advice would be not to delete either of them. :) I like that people want to clean up their devices, but I’m not finding a lot of extraneous stuff on my Kindle or my MYK (although the indices get huge). Why delete either one?

      I think what they are is the local copy on the Kindle…and an archived copy you can download again if something happens. It may look different because we have more optional dictionaries for the different languages.

      • John Salerno Says:

        Thanks. I just like to delete everything I don’t need, but in this case I made a “Dictionaries” collection and put them all in there anyway, so at least I don’t see them.

        I did, however, delete all the foreign language user’s guides. :)

  3. J Allen R Day Says:

    Even after deregistering and reregistering my KK and “Mindle”, the single device setup isn’t working. Worse, I no longer have autodelivery on either of my devices. I spent about an hour on support chat trying to get it straightened out, but ended up with a 10.00 gift certificate and a promise they’d get back to me in the next 3-5 days. Boy do I miss autodelivery. . .

  4. Beth Says:

    For EveryWord, do you have to open the keyboard to type in words?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Beth!

      You can just select the letters.Since you asked, I checked…I could not invoke the keyboard while playing Every Word.

  5. Paul Says:

    Calivn,

    A question on the Mindle that I did not see covered was the dictionary usage. Is it just as easy to move to a word and get the definition or for that matter highlight and add notes? This is my parents favorite function and would be critical for them to make this their second Kindle product.

    Thanks,

    Paul

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Paul!

      It’s the same…you use the 5-way to get in front of the word. One thing I found easier: you click the center of the 5-way to have the option for the full definition, rather than the Enter key. That just seems easier since you are already on the 5-way.

  6. Chip Howard Says:

    I’ve had my Mindle for about two weeks now. Originally, I bought it as more of a back-up, for travel and commuting. But honestly, I’ve grown so obsessed with the little thing that I haven’t touched my K3 since I got it!

    Also, thanks to you, I’ve started naming my Kindles, and my Significant Other now thinks I’m a freak. ;)

    I guess the big question is: What will you be naming your Mindle? (Or does “Mindle” count as a name?)

    Thank you for all of your enjoyable posts!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Chip!

      Oh, I meant to put that in the post. I’ll write about the Mindle’s first day out, but since you ask…

      Mindlelito Loveless

      Some of you know the reference. :)

  7. Lady Galaxy Says:

    For me, it would be a positive if the Mindle screen really does have less contrast than the K3. My biggest complaint about the K3 is that the ink is way too black and thick and causes my eyes to go blurry when I read for any length of time.

  8. homeward bound Says:

    I love our DX, I love our K3, but tonight, I’m ordering a K4 which will not be an “our.”

    The K4′s size means I can sneak it and hide it. It will go in my purse, my pocket, every place with me and none at all with “us.” At least not to his knowledge who deems the DX and the K3 “ours.”

    It’s name will be “Enzo,” which I’m sure many will recognize!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Enzo!

      “Nothing up my sleeve…” ;) A Mindle would actually fit in many sleeves, and it feels more solid than the other Kindles to me.

      Hm…I’m usually good at the allusions, but I’m guessing this isn’t the Reboot character. ;)

      You may need to educate me…which is something I love! :)

  9. homeward bound Says:

    “Enzo” is the name of the wonderful wonder of an autobiographist who wrote “The Art of Racing in the Rain.” Enzo is more than many humans in both intelligence and heart. I can’t recommend this book highly enough. There are much to enjoy and much to learn in “The Art…” It is currently $9.99 as a Kindle book, slightly higher than the $9.45 paperback. Fortunately, once upon a time ago, I discovered it for $.99. Worth a million bucks, but I stayed quiet about that and gladly shelled out the barely less than one.
    BTW, I like sans serif too!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Homeward!

      Thanks for the recommendation! I love dogs (and dog books), and I’ve sent a sample to my Kindle to try.

      • homeward bound Says:

        “oopsed” you, and wrote a brief clarification about Enzo being a dog, but suddenly what I wrote poofed and didn’t make it to you. Hope you enjoy the sample — what a great feature!

  10. bufocalvin Says:

    Thanks for writing, postgtd!

    I looked at the homescreens and in a book…because my Mindle is a Special Offers version, and my K3 isn’t (my Significant Other’s K3 is). That might give me a better comparison.

    I immediately switched my Mindle to sans serif…that makes a difference to me, and let me compare them side by side.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,251 other followers

