Review: Bootscootin’ Blahniks

Review: Bootscootin’ Blahniks

Bootscootin’ Blahniks (The Bootscootin’ Books)
by D.D. Scott*
published by Belfrey Media (independent?)
size: 744kB
lending: enabled
text-to-speech: not blocked
categories: humor; contemporary romance
Free at time of writing

Bootscootin’ Blahniks is a well-written book. The characters are lively, the plotting is solid, the writing is funny.

It’s also a romance.

For some of you, that’s going to stop you right there…but it shouldn’t. I enjoyed this book, and I don’t usually read romances.

When I managed a brick-and-mortar bookstore, I made it a point to read at least one book in every section, and I encouraged my employees to do the same. I had my regular customers recommend them to me. That meant I read a series romance and a stand-alone romance…and what was labeled as “Men’s Adventure”.

I consider myself a pretty eclectic reader, although I do have my preferences. It galls me when people reject science fiction/fantasy out of hand. It’s like somebody saying, “I, Robot would have been great…if it wasn’t for all those robots.” ;)

I was really enjoying Bootscootin’ Blahniks…I could empathize with somebody with two dogs with goofy names in the car, and the troubles they might have..even though you love those dogs. It was all fine…until the guy showed up.

He was a cowboy. Quick, how many syllables in his first name?

Yep, one.

Zayne.

Now, Zayne has some shadings, but clearly, the writing has to be done in line with the conventions of the genre. I’m not saying that’s bad, but honestly, I was a little taken aback to actually read the phrase, “smoldering gaze”. ;)

So, let’s accept that this is a romance, and that the fact that it is means certain things.

It’s a good book.

Without giving too much away, it’s a bit of a fish out of water tale, with a big city designer moving to the country to try and start a new life as a designer. There are complications and supporting characters, but I appreciated the idea of somebody trying to establish an identity…trying to change who they were into who they always thought they should be.

I also appreciated that there were two moms…and they weren’t just stereotypical. There is a strength portrayed here, but weaknesses, too. That can give you a bit of fantasy, but keep it grounded enough for you to care.

I was especially impressed with how people in this small town atmosphere approached the idea of a couple of gay characters. It seemed not unreasonable…some thought it just wasn’t possible, some clearly accepted it…there wasn’t a raging homophobic response, but there was the sort of difficulty with the concept that can come with unfamiliarity.

The plot made sense and wove things together nicely. There were a few dramatic events, but not as far-fetched as Janet Evanovich. In fact, the writing reminded me of Evanovich a bit, in the way the characters were fun, but there was more heart for me here.

I will warn you that it’s NSFW (Not Safe for Work). There is language, and a couple of sex scenes (I won’t say who is involved). It was interesting to see the approach to the latter: not graphic, but not innocent.

There was one plot point it seemed like everybody should have gotten quickly, but didn’t. Jessica Fletcher would have figured it out before her first cup of coffee. :) That was a bit silly, but not entirely implausible…not everybody even thinks about what other people might do.

Overall, it was like a good solid episode of a TV show. There were interesting characters, friendships, set pieces in fun locales, and a lot of flavor.

If you are a regular romance reader, I’d be interested in your take on it. If you aren’t, this might be a good one to try. It’s free right now, by the way. That’s presumably because it’s part of a series, followed by:

Stompin’ on Stetsons (The Bootscootin’ Books)
Buckles Me Baby (The Bootscootin’ Books)

Yep, it’s a great romance…you know, except for all that romance stuff. ;)

*D.D. Scott and I have commented on each other’s blogs a bit, but I’m not connected to the book and was not given it by D.D.  I recommend Scott’s blog about e-publishing, The Writer’s Guide to E-Publishing

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

11 Responses to “Review: Bootscootin’ Blahniks”

  1. ddscott Says:

    Wow! What a huge thank u and shout-out goin’ out to u, Bufo Calvin, for this A-mazing BOOTSCOOTIN’ BLAHNIKS review!

    This is the third time since I’ve gotten to know you that you’ve literally made me faint because of your amazing shout-outs about me, my books and my Indie Epub Journey!

    I “heart” u, Bufo Calvin!!!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, D.D.!

      I recommended

      http://thewritersguidetoepublishing.com/

      to a member of my personal circle who was writing a book and considering what to do in terms of getting it published. I think it’s a great resource. If I hadn’t enjoyed Bootscootin’ Blahniks, I wouldn’t have said I did. :) I’m glad you liked the review…I wasn’t sure you would…

  2. Pj Schott Says:

    I love my Kindle too. And I love your review. And I LoveLoveLove DeeDee Scott.

  3. Jeanne Says:

    I LOVE my Kindle, too, & I read from it ALL of the time. Great review on D.D. Scott’s book……I really enjoy her writing, & I’ve read all of her books! I was so glad to read your input on her writing…….great review!!

  4. ddscott Says:

    I’m sooo tickled to hear you’re luuuvvvin’ The WG2E too, Bufo! And, we’ll for sure take great care of your friend!

    Nothin’ beats writers helping writers reach readers!!!

    And what’s not to luuuvvv about your Bootscootin’ Review?!

    You raised some great points! What I luuuvvv most is that you went for the gusto and read outside your regular genres! I do that all the time now because there are just some waaay A-mazing Indie Epub Authors on Kindle. All that matters to me is tellin’ a great story with characters we all are thinkin’ about long after “The End”.

    I want to treat my readers and fans to great books for great prices and keep ‘em comin’ back for more LOL hullabaloo featuring their fave characters.

  5. ddscott Says:

    Wavin’ atchya, Pj and Jeanne! Thanks bunches for the superfab sweet shout-outs!

    It’s because of wonderful readers, like you, that I keep on crankin’ out pages with gusto!

    Cheers to LOL together…one Kindle click at a time!!!

  6. WG2E and me « I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] a blog by writer D.D. Scott…I reviewed D.D.’s book, Bootscootin’ Blahniks (The Bootscootin’ Books) here not too long […]

  7. My first posts in WG2E « I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] http://ilmk.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/review-bootscootin-blahniks/ […]

  8. Author D.D. Scott is giving away a boxed set, a Kindle Fire…and has scheduled a “bubble twead’ « I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] author of Bootscootin’ Blahniks (and many other books) has scheduled what Scott calls a “Bubble Twead” for this […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers

