Free app of the day might be great for your Fire: OfficeSuite Pro 5

Free app of the day might be great for your Fire: OfficeSuite Pro 5

Even though the Kindle Fire is what I call an “entertablet” (a tablet intended to be an entertainment center), there’s no question, there will be times I’ll want to edit Excel or Word on it. For one thing, I find Excel to be entertaining. ;) Of course, that might not be you…it might be that you just need to do one thing while you’re at lunch at a place with free wi-fi.

Today’s free app (and I”m starting to see the abbreviation FAOTD, for Free App Of The Day) is

OfficeSuite Pro 5

The FAOTD is one for which you would normally pay…in this case, $14.99.

The reviews are mostly good…except that there a bunch complaining about needing a payment method to get a free app. Interestingly, it didn’t ask me about that at all. It could be that their 1-clicks are set up differently than mine…a different payment method on file.

I opened it on my Samsung Captivate…a new Excel document seemed to work okay, although I didn’t get into the advanced functions I often use.

“But,” you say, “how are you going to do Excel on a cellphone-sized screen?”

I don’t really plan to do that. I plan to use it on my 7″ screen Fire.

That should work pretty well.

Again, I want to be clear: I’m not endorsing this product, I haven’t used it enough yet. However, it’s free…why not? You can’t always say that on the general Android market, but I do think the Amazon Appstore may be…more selective for quality.

I don’t know if you can get it if you don’t have a device registered for the Amazon Appstore yet…if you don’t, I presume you could put it on your wish list. :) However, it won’t be free tomorrow…

Oh, and for my readers outside the USA (Hi!), I think it’s only available as a FAOTD here.

If you’ve used it, let me know what you think. If you have an alternative Android app for Office, feel free to share. If you get asked for a payment method, I’d be interested in hearing about that.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

5 Responses to “Free app of the day might be great for your Fire: OfficeSuite Pro 5”

  1. Sherri Says:

    I just wish those of us who’ve ordered a Fire but don’t already have an Android device had some way of taking advantage of these offers! Greedy of me, I know!

  2. Jackie Says:

    Thank you for the heads up on the OfficeSuite 5 (I’ve got to check the App Store daily. I know I’m missing a lot of good stuff). I downloaded mine right away to my Motorola Droid 2, and I will use it on my Kindle Fire (OMG, I can’t wait), although, I don’t know how I will get it on there. I checked “manage my apps” in Amazon, but didn’t see any type of link to send it to another device. Also, I had no problems getting the App for free.

  3. Alice Says:

    I called Amazon. They told me that I could send to the email associated with my account. When I get the Fire, I should be able to download from my account. So go get the freebie.

  4. Liz Says:

    I have a Samsung Captivate, but it doesn’t play nice with Amazon AppStore. How did you get yours to work? Or did you phone come already set up to work with Amazon?

    Frustrated that I’m missing a bunch of apps that I want on my Fire, but I can’t send them to it yet…

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Liz!

      I’ve had somebody else say that, but I don’t remember it being too hard. Check your settings and see what your software version is on your phone…I’m at 2.2.

      I remember updating the phone was a little odd…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,310 other followers

