B&N announces the NOOK Tablet

B&N announces the NOOK Tablet

I’m watching

The Verge’s live blog

of Barnes & Noble’s announcement this morning.

I often watch Gizmodo…but interestingly, I don’t think a ton of people are liveblogging this. Says something about the cultural prominence of B&N right now, perhaps.

I’m bouncing between Verge, the B&N site for the NOOK, and B&N press releases. It’s possible the press releases page will be updated before the announcement is over…same thing with the NOOK splash page on their website.

B&N CEO William Lynch is making the announcement. It’s official, the NOOK Tablet.

I’ll update this post as I learn more, but I’m going to get this out now.

Update: 1GHZ dual core processor, 1GB  RAM.

There’s a slide for free Cloud storage.

IPS, backlit display…probably similar to the Kindle Fire. Update: they compare them side by side (how did they get a Fire?) claiming theirs is better.

Breakthrough battery life…nine hours of watching video.

Supports 1080p video.

Netflix and Hulu preloaded.

Update: Pandora, NOOK Comics.

You can record your voice along with a book for your kids to hear…somebody has figured out a use for a microphone. ;)

NOOK comics seem heavy on Marvel, the Fire has an exclusive deal on DC. B&N wins the cool factor on that one, although I was always a DC reader as a kid…I didn’t want my superheroes to have acne. ;)

16GB onboard memory, Twice the Fire…plus an SD slot for an up to 32GB card.

Price announced: $249

They used a Jane Lynch video (again, hip factor).

It will be on shelves “next week”, including Wal-Mart, Target, Best Buy, and more.

NOOKColor is going to $199…so far, this is matching the leak, I think. This NOOK is also getting songs, more apps.

NOOK Simple Touch has a text-rendering software: it does look crisp, and they use that word to show it. :) NOOK Simple Touch goes to $99. Same as the ad-supported Kindle Touch or ad-supported Kindle Keyboard (wi-fi only).

Update: okay, they’ve updated the NOOK splash page:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/nook/379003208

Update: here’s the press release for the NOOK tablet

NOOK tablet Press Releaae

Here’s the press release for the

Content Developers

Update: Thanks to a reader for alerting me to this Yahoo Finance article:

Who Is The Target Audience Of Barnes & Noble’s Nook Tablet?

It argues in part that the presser reinforces that Barnes & Noble is marketing primarily to women. One strange thing was suggesting that having Marvel comics was because it is attractive to families…that may have been true of comics thirty years ago, but I’m not sure that’s the marketing position now.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

7 Responses to “B&N announces the NOOK Tablet”

  1. Becca Says:

    any word on how much of that memory is reserved for B&N-only content? or whether it’ll be a brick if you don’t have a credit card on file with B&N?

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Becca!

      That’s a perceptive and important point, and may require a separate post (I’m hoping to get a confirmation from B&N.

      B&N says:

      “61GB = 1 billion bytes. Actual formatted capacity may be less. Approximately 13GB available to store content, of which up to 12GB may be reserved for content purchased from the Barnes & Noble NOOK Store”

      That makes it sounds like you only get 1GB of storage for your own files.

      The Fire gives you 6GB for user content…that sounds like six times as much to me (for personal content). Amazon also gives you 5GB free for personal documents…have to find out more about the B&N cloud storage.

  2. Want more storage for your stuff? The Fire crushes B&N’s tablet « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] I Love My Kindle Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « B&N announces the NOOK Tablet [...]

  3. JJ Hitt Says:

    I am a little shocked/saddened by tone of this product announcement. I know you want to highlight how you are better than the competition, but a large part of the presentation seemed to consist of below the belt punches at the Kindle Fire.

    I’m a dedicated Kindle user, but I don’t feel any animosity towards the Nook, iPad or Kobo. What I saw yesterday reminded me of the endless 8-bit computer wars where Commodore and Atari owners would spend more time arguing about their computers than they would spend using them.

    In the end, anything that moves us further away from an open “buy anywhere, use anywhere on any device” market, hurts the consumer.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, JJ!

      I agree…I’m not a fan of tearing down the competition…we see everybody as on the same boat, and shooting holes in it doesn’t give us more confidence in the industry as a whole.

  4. Carol Lang Says:

    Would you please comment a little more on, “You can record your voice along with a book for your kids to hear…somebody has figured out a use for a microphone.”

    I am really interested in doing this. How? Please briefly outline how you would do this.

    Many thanks.

    I, too, am anxiously awaiting the discovery of Fire in my mailbox.

  5. bernvakariai Says:

    bernvakariai…

    [...]B&N announces the NOOK Tablet « I Love My Kindle[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,252 other followers

