Flash! You can now add Special Offers to some Kindles!

Flash! You can now add Special Offers to some Kindles!

Thanks to PokerRun3 for commenting and giving me the heads-up on this!

When Amazon first introduced Special Offers, many people thought no one would want ads on their Kindles.

They were wrong.

I’ve seen more people wishing they could get them on their existing Kindles than wanting to get rid of them.

Well, I’ve many times directed you to the

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

page, and they do sneak things in there. :)

I’ve been busy with my Kindle Fire and with my Kindle Touch, Wi-Fi only (which arrived today, a couple of days late).  I’m going to write about the Touch soon…I need to find a book with X-Ray so I can test it. I also plan to take some pictures for one of these posts comparing the models.

So, I”m thankful PokerRun3 took the time to alert me to a change.

I wrote a while ago about the ability to buy yourself out of Special Offers.

It’s now possible to subscribe to them when you haven’t had them!

That only works on the Mindle, the Kindle Touch, and the Kindle Keyboard…not on the Kindle 2, Kindle 1, or Kindle Fire.

Why would you want to subscribe to them?

Special Offers, baby! ;)

Many people like getting them…they can be good bargains.

You will also be getting the “screensaver” ads.

Go to that Manage Your Kindle page and click Manage Your Devices.

You’ll see a choice under Special Offers to be Subscribed or Not Subscribed on eligible devices. I tested it by choosing to subscribe…it said it was “Subscribe Pending” (I don’t know why…may just take a bit, or I may need to turn the Kindle on and sync). I plan to unsubscribe that one again…hope I can. I’ll let you know.

So, if you paid for a Kindle with Special Offers and got a lower price, you have to pay to unsubscribe. If you have an eligible Kindle without Special Offers, you can just turn that on, if you want. That apparently will include AmazonLocal (special offers for your area).

For those of you who have been jealous of the Special Offers, now you can join the club. ;) Of course, it’s a bit exclusive…no K2s or K1s allowed…they just aren’t hip enough to get past the velvet rope… ;)

If you do subscribe, feel free to let me know…I”m curious as to how many people may switch to that.

Update: when I turned my K3’s wireless on, it installed right away, not problem. I had the offers. I then unsubscribed, again, no problem…the original sleep mode pictures were back. So, you could turn it on once a week, get the Special Offers, turn it off again. :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

26 Responses to “Flash! You can now add Special Offers to some Kindles!”

  1. tuxgirl Says:

    Woohoo! Ive been asking for this since special offers first came out!!! I just subscribed my k3

  2. Dan Says:

    I wonder if I can enable it on my DX. I suppose I should go try.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dan!

      Please check and let us know. I doubt it, because I believe the software is second generation, like the K2s…but it’s worth finding out if it can do the offers. :)

      • Dan Says:

        You were correct. The DX was grouped with the Gen 2 Kindle and does not allow me to activate Special Offers.

      • bufocalvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Dan!

        Thanks for letting me know…sorry to hear about that for your sake, but it was what I figured.

  3. Zebras Says:

    Switched, since we can always switch back! Listen, anything to get rid of Emily Dickinson’s pic.

    • Martin Says:

      Haha! I switched too, for much the same reason. Would like it if we could just have it display something different, even without doing Special Offers. Just give me some variety.

  4. Brian Hellwig Says:

    I’ve been jealous of the special offers since they came out! I’m in for sure.

  5. Joseph Holmberg@gmail.com Says:

    I tried to subscribe as well…but I kept getting this message

    CODE(0xb82a3c0c)->(‘kindle_du_problem_49875′)

    I guess its something for Kindle Tech Team to solve.

  6. Joseph Holmberg@gmail.com Says:

    Actually its Kindle 3 (known currently as Kindle Keyboard) and I live in United States.

  7. Joseph Holmberg@gmail.com Says:

    After few hours I tried again and this time it went through! Just thought you guys like to know….:-)

  8. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Apparently you need the latest software update. When I tried to sign up, I got this message: To subscribe to Special Offers, your Kindle will require the latest software update.

    “To receive the update, turn your wireless on and connect to an available Wi-Fi network. The software update will automatically download in the background and install the next time your Kindle goes into sleep mode.

    “After the software update is installed, visit this page again to subscribe to Special Offers.”

    Since I got my new washer, I haven’t been to the laundromat again to use their free wi-fi to get the update. I may have to just download it to my computer and then install. That’s how I got the previous update.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I’m impressed that your laundromat has free wi-fi! Makes sense, I guess. My kid’s laundromat at school could text message them when the load was done…

  9. Lilyann Peterman Says:

    I have Kindle keyboard. Added special offers have used your blog tips. Kindle 1 still working

  10. Julia Porper Says:

    Yes! I have a Kindle 3 and have now turned on the Special Offers.

    I actually called up Kindle Support and complained to the Tech Support person about this.

    I told her the Amazon Kindle Support person that it was not fair to customers to exclude them for getting in on the Special Offers–especially when the customer PAID MORE to buy the Kindle then the people who purchased the Kindle With Special Offers in the first place. She said that she agreed and would pass on the suggestion to the Tech team–so I might be responsible for this! :) :)

    Probably the Kindle Tech team will figure out a way to allow people with Kindle 1s and Kindle 2s to turn on the Special Offers. I am sure that Amazon makes a lot of money from people buying stuff as a result of receiving the Special Offers on their Kindles!

    Like Zebras said, the fact that I can always turn the Special Orders off if they get obnoxious to me is really the best reason to turn them on!

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Julia!

      You can certainly take some credit…but you might maybe possibly have not been the only one. ;)

      It may be difficult for them to make it work on the Kindle 1…it’s not anywhere near as capable as the later ones. I believe Amazon probably gets paid by the advertisers, but not per sale (although that’s possible). I wonder how big the market is now of K1 using people…

  11. Sharon Says:

    arghh – I can’t get my Kindle Keyboard to download the update – have wireless on!!!!! I want to subscribe to special offers – hoping they’ll have some good ones during the holidays!

  12. Rose in PV AZ Says:

    They probably need wifi to give you the special offers. The older models don’t have wifi, right?
    It took a few days for my update to kick in a few weeks ago. I was in Barnes & Noble using wifi, when suddenly my update started going through its procedure. I had selected sync & check while wireless was connected.

  13. Rose in PV AZ Says:

    PS -Thanks for this tip Bufo. I had SO envy but love the idea of checking in once a week to see if there are usable offers. I do enjoy my screensavers though (except for Emily), so like being able to switch back too.

  14. Steven King (@stevejk) Says:

    I’ve enabled SO on my pre-SO K3. What day of the week do the offers update?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Steven!

      I think it varies. Right now, I believe they may be updating them every day, given that it’s “Cyber Week”. :)

      You can see the current ones by going to Home and clicking Menu.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

