Round up #52: Delaying gifts, airport scanners, clipDO

Round up #52: Delaying gifts, airport scanners, clipDO

The ILMK round-ups are groups of shorter pieces on topics of interest…these topics may or may not get extended coverage later.

The Telegraph: Amazon Kindles ‘damaged by airport scanners’

This

article in The Telegraph

brings up the issue of putting your Kindle through the airport security scanner…which many of you in the USA are going to do this Wednesday.

Is it dangerous?

Well, the first obvious refutation is that there are people who do it every day with no problem, and others who have done it many times. At least, that’s what I’ve seen people say…people report being airline employees, or working in courthouses.

Does that mean it’s never a problem?

Well, it could be that the machines are inconsistent. The article presents a hypothesis that there could be a static electrical discharge within the scanner (not the x-ray itself) .

The article had two particular interesting parts. One was this statement from a Kindle owner:

“After my Kindle went through the X-ray scanner at Madrid airport, it no longer worked. I had been reading an e-book on the way to the airport so I knew there could be no other reason…”

Um…no, actually there could be plenty of other reasons than it being the x-ray. It could be that something had damaged the battery earlier, and it was just coincidentally dying at that point. People often seem to confuse cause and effect in that way. I’m not saying it couldn’t be related, but the fact that one thing happened and then something else did doesn’t mean it’s related.

The other comment was this:

“According to users, the firm has replaced Kindles that stopped working after passing through an airport scanner.”

I think that’s intended to suggest that Amazon was taking responsibility for damage caused by the scanners. Amazon replaces tons of Kindles without admitting fault. They are very good about that.

For me, I’m not worried about putting my Kindle through the x-ray machine at the airport.

As usual, I recommend you read the original article…

Choose a Kindle book gift’s delivery date

We did not have this last year, but it’s something people have really wanted. I mentioned it briefly, but I thought I’d better emphasize it more.

When you buy a Kindle book as a gift, you can now choose a delivery date. That means you can buy it today, and have it delivered on someone’s birthday, for example.

When you click the Give as a Gift link on a book’s Amazon product page, you’ll now see this:

Email the gift directly to my recipient
Email address: (joe@example.com)
Delivery date: (mm/dd/yyyy)

They have a little calendar widget to pick the date.

So, if, for example, you were buying somebody a Kindle Fire, you could also arrange to have my book Love Your Kindle Fire: The ILMK Guide to Amazon’s Entertablet delivered the same day. It will actually come as an e-mail invitation, but you can read those very nicely on the Kindle Fire.

Geek.com: “Amazon sells 6,111 copies of an ebook for free by mistake, won’t compensate author”

I received a heads-up in a private e-mail on this one (I’d be happy to credit the person who sent it to me, just let me know):

Geek.com article

The basic idea is this:

Publishers who use Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing (and those are often the authors themselves) aren’t supposed to offer their books at a lower price outside of Amazon. If they do, Amazon may price match it.

An author claims to have put up a free sample on another site, and that Amazon confused the sample with the full book…giving away thousands of copies of the book and not compensating the author.

This is being set up as though Amazon had a computer error, costing the author thousands of dollars, and not making good on it.

That doesn’t sound like Amazon to me…and I speak as someone who has dealt with them as a KDP (formerly Digital Text Platform) publisher/author

I’d have to know more about this story, but I thought you might be interested in the article.

ClipDO

As regular readers know, I like and use a service called

SendToReader

to send web articles to my Kindle to read later.

There is a new, similar offering called

ClipDO

I’ve had a little correspondence with them, but have not had the opportunity to really test it yet. I’ve been sitting on this for a little while, hoping to get to it, but I don’t want to keep them waiting. If you try it out, let me know…I’ll test it myself later.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

3 Responses to “Round up #52: Delaying gifts, airport scanners, clipDO”

  1. AugustFalcon Says:

    Hey, don’t forget Readability and Instapaper, too. I think both of them predate the two Send-to-Kindle services you mention. Additionally, they offer both Read-Later and Clean-Read online services. I’ve been using them for a long time.

    Also use Calibre to automatically send my Kindle newspaper and magazine feeds for free.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, AugustFalcon!

      Yes, good point…I like people to have choices.

      I tried Instapaper some time back…it didn’t really fit my use patterns. I really like that I can see a webpage with SendToReader, click the button, and go right out to the car for text-to-speech. I don’t like the two-step process they used to have with Instapaper. Has that changed?

      I’ve never tested Readability…I’m curious as to why you use both services? What benefits does one have over the other?

      Pulse on the Kindle Fire works very well for those free feeds for me, and I’m usually just reading an article or two at a time. I’ve tested Calibre out, some, but never really gotten into being a regular user.

  2. John Parker Says:

    clipDO is free as well… I use it all the time. Not sure why anyone would think any of these services should be paid for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

