Review: The Kindle Chronicles podcast

Review: The Kindle Chronicles podcast

The Kindle Chronicles
“The Friday Podscaxt All About Your Kindle”
Host: Len Edgerly
Length: approximately 45 minutes an episode
Cost: free

Len Edgerly’s weekly podcast brings in-depth, insightful information to Kindle users in a unique way.

Edgerly is knowledgeable, but very accessible. He has a relaxed, friendly, casual but professional style that puts his guests at ease.

He gets great guests*…from Russ Grandinetti, Amazon’s Vice-President of Kindle Content (and the most recent guest on episode 174) to Eric Loss, who was making a solo non-stop circumnavigation of the globe with a Kindle for entertainment.

The latter interview showed Len’s skills as an interviewer. At one point, he repeated back to Loss how many books the sailor had on the Kindle…that shows the listening skills that get the guests to open up.

With Edgerly’s folksy style, I can’t help but not that these are literally “Fireside Chats”…Len uses a Kindle Fire for show notes when recording the podcast. ;)

You’ll get a lot of useful information. The show is broken down into several sections:

  • News
  • Tech Tip (which Len has usually tested personally for you)
  • Interview
  • Content (items for your Kindle, usually books)

I used to listen to talk radio a lot, but over time, I became less satisfied with all of the commercials (or pledge breaks) and the sometimes extreme viewpoints. Text-to-speech on the Kindle 2 largely replaced that for me in the car.

At this point, though, the Kindle Fire doesn’t do text-to-speech with Kindle store books. That’s meant broadening my audio horizons, and I’ve been happy to be informed and relaxed with Len Edgerly. I’ve listened to four of the weekly podcasts recently, and it’s really made my trips more valuable.

How to listen to The Kindle Chronicles on Your Kindle

Kindle 1, Kindle 2, Kindle 3 (now called a Kindle Keyboard), Kindle DX, Kindle Touch

Go to

http://www.thekindlechronicles.com/

on your computer.

Find the episode you want and download it to your computer (I find it simplest, on a PC, to right-click on the Download link. You’ll see  a choice to “save target as…” or “save link as…”). Note where it goes.

Use your Kindle’s included USB cable to transfer the file into your Kindle’s Audible folder. Safely disconnect your Kindle.

The podcast should appear in your Kindle’s homescreen, just like an e-book. If that doesn’t happen, you can restart the Kindle (Home-Settings-Menu-Settings-Restart) or try Alt+Z (to my knowledge, not available on the Kindle Touch).

You can open it from there, and you’ll see some good controls for listening to it. You may find you need headphones or to connect the Kindle to an external audio source…I usually am listening through my car’s sound system).

Kindle Fire

You can download the broadcast directly from the site.

Go to

http://www.thekindlechronicles.com/

using your Kindle’s Fire’s web browser.

I’d suggest you bookmark it for future use. Tap the bookmark symbol on the bottom of your screen (to your right of the menu symbol, which is vertical lines in a box). Then tap the plus on the screen that appears.

Long press (hold your finger down for about a second) the Download link, and choose

Save link

It may take ten seconds or so to download, depending on your wi-fi speed.

If you swipe the top of your screen down, to show you the notifications, you can see the progress of the download.

Once it completes, go to Web.

Tap Menu, and choose Downloads.

Tap the file, and it should start playing for you.

You can pause it, and return to it later.

If you hit the Homescreen, the podcast will continue to play, even while you do  other things on your Kindle Fire. If you swipe down from the top of the screen, you’ll see it under Ongoing. You can tap that to return to the controls.

The only problem I found was that once I had listened to a podcast once, the picture for the first guest (in my case Stephen Windwalker of Kindle Nation Daily) stayed there for the other guests.

If you are going to listen while connected to wi-fi, you may find the Stitcher Podcast Radio app handy.I found it a snap to download the free app and get it playing The Kindle Chronicles for me. I only downloaded it right before this post to test it out for you. It seems like a good app, and a way to put together a string of podcasts on a give topic…but I didn’t immediately see a way to download the programs, so it wouldn’t help me in the car with my Fire. If you’ve found a good podcast downloading app, feel free to let me know.

Overall, The Kindle Chronicles is another good data channel for me for the Kindle…and pleasant as well. :)

* Full disclosure: I have been a guest on The Kindle Chronicles:

Len and I also have some e-mail correspondence. Has that influenced this review? Perhaps…Len’s a nice guy, and that’s probably given me a more positive feeling about the show. However, I haven’t been a regular listener (as embarrassing as that is) until recently. I think I’m giving you a reasonably objective assessment, but I did want you to know about this connection.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

10 Responses to “Review: The Kindle Chronicles podcast”

  1. Evan Says:

    BeyondPod is the only really good podcast client I’ve found for android; I don’t know if it’s available for the Fire, but if so, it fully automates the process of getting, updating and bookmarking your current location in podcasts while listening.

    (Even if it’s not available for the Fire, I’ve found that it’s been an invaluable app for my Android phone; I use it every day for podcasts like Leo Laport’s TWIT shows, the BBC’s In Our Time, Grammar Girl, etc.)

    Cheers,
    Evan

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Evan!

      Unfortunately, BeyondPod is not available through the Amazon Appstore for the Fire right now (I could get it for my Samsung Captivate from them).

      BeyondPod Podcast Manager

      Since I could download The Kindle Chronicles on my phone, maybe that’s a way to go.

  2. Rick Askenase Says:

    I’ve been listening to Len’s podcats since about a year after he started. My true confession is that I was also a guest when he had a brief session at his home with me, another guest and Stephen Windwalker (about 2 years ago). It’s a terrific show and I never miss it.

  3. Tom Semple Says:

    You can also just visit http://www.thekindlechronicles.com with Fire’s browser and play using the Flash audio widget below the show notes for each episode.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I believe that will only work while you are connected to wi-fi. Since I want to listen in the car, and neither have a rolling hotspot in the car nor want to tether to my SmartPhone (I’d just listen on the SmartPhone if I had to use its 3G anyway), that isn’t as attractive to me.

      • Tom Semple Says:

        Yes, it streams over wifi. There is also a Download link but it might not work on Fire. I tried clicking and nothing seemed to happen. Maybe I’m not patient enough.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tom!

        I covered that in the post. :) Long press (hold your fingertip down for about a second) on the download link, and choose Save link. Then, you’ll find it by going to Web, tapping Menu, and choosing Downloads.

        Oddly, that doesn’t work when I get to it through the Pulse app (even when I tell it to view the original post). If I go there through the Web tab, it works, though.

  4. Kay C Says:

    Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve downloaded several “back issues” of The Kindle Chronicles and I’ve really enjoyed listening to them the past few days! And I also appreciate the info on downloading to Kindle. I thought I’d mention that I’ve had excellent success with podcasts on my Android phone via “Pocket Casts” (by ShiftyJelly). I don’t see it on Amazon’s app store, but it’s available on Android Marketplace. Thanks again!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Kay!

      Great! I’m glad you’ve found TKC enjoyable. I love it when a recommendation helps somebody out…and I think Len deserves another audience member. :)

      I don’t see Pocket Casts in the Amazon appstore either, and I’m not sideloading apps at this point. Other people may appreciate that suggestion…

  5. Round up #115: Top 10 horror stories, Big Six and social media « I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Edgerly, of The Kindle Chronicles podcast, had Jeff Belle on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,324 other followers

