New Kindle commercial follows on Kindle pool ad

New Kindle commercial follows on Kindle pool ad

As you may remember, I wasn’t crazy about the Kindle pool ad, where the Kindle owner sort of lorded it over the iPad owner when they were sitting by a pool.

Now, Amazon has made a new ad that calls back to that one:

new Kindle ad video

It’s weird, because it isn’t the same actor (I’m pretty sure)…but it’s the same costume.

The point it makes is a good one, but it’s a sort of a twist ending, so I’ll let you take a look at it. I’ll comment in the comments…if you go first. :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

 

11 Responses to “New Kindle commercial follows on Kindle pool ad”

  1. Dave Says:

    Saw this on TV tonight and loved it. Great ad that hits points on multiple Kindles (which I think is a first), including price – 3 Kindles for less than the price of 1 iPad! Definitely the best acted of the Kindle commercials as well. And yes,a fun ending!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dave!

      I thought there were a lot of intriguing points about it (kids watch videos and play games, adults read). There was a Kindle ad with an apparent couple each with a Kindle on the beach…I remember commenting that I thought that was Amazon showing multiple Kindles in a household, something they wanted to push.

      Honestly, I don’t like one point in the ad, even though I know it will be something a lot of people find funny. The message could be stated as, “Oh, you have a Significant Other and are therefore unavailable to me? We’re done talking.” Yes, there are people who act that way, certainly, and I understand the intended humor…but I still find that anthropologically interesting.

  2. Helen Burns Says:

    I like it. I don’t look that good but I’ve said the same thing to explain why I bought the kindles. And this is very cool to comment on your blot so easily on the Fire.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Helen!

      Yep, I agree with you on the attractiveness part. I’ve commented before about how Kindle users in the ad seem to often be young, attractive, hipsters. Many ads do that, of course, but it’s often for aspirational reasons (so people who watch the ads want to be like the people in them). Is the story really that, if you read on a Kindle, people will think you are younger and more attractive (one reason you buy, say, a sports car)?

      I’m not convinced that serious readers particularly have that aspiration…

  3. Whitney Says:

    First of all, my family owns 4 kindles of various types so I definitely love the kindle! I find it a bit annoying, however, that the commercial made the iPad User look so goofy and superficial. I don’t own an iPad, but I know people who do, and they aren’t condescending to me for owning a Fire. I guess I just don’t get into the whole iPad v. FIRE or Kindle v. Nook bickering. People choose different things and that’s okay.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Whitney!

      That’s what I’ve always said. :) This is what I specifically wrote about the pool ad:


      “I didn’t like that one at all, although it got a lot of coverage. I didn’t like the character of the Kindle owner (seemed too snarky), and I didn’t like that it was essentially an attack ad (on the iPad). I want to like the people who have the products I’m supposed to want in an ad…I wouldn’t hang out with this person. The beach ad had shown the bright light legibility of the Kindle without making iPad owners look stupid.”

      I do prefer Amazon and the Kindle, largely due to Customer Service differences…but I know smart people I like who have NOOKs. :)

  4. Moe Says:

    Any one know the name of the actor in this commercial?

  5. YouTube removes Kindle Paperwhite ad | I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] http://ilmk.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/new-kindle-commercial-follows-on-kindle-pool-ad/ [...]

  6. Fawn Stefanoff Says:

    I really love the new kindle Paperwhite commercial for both the point that you can read in bright sunshine and support of gay marriage. Both my husband and I have iPads but I always take my kindle on vacation as I can read it anywhere, except on the airplane under 30,000 feet which I find annoying. The ipad is good for surfing the web and I have a kindle app but I prefer reading on my Paperwhite.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,296 other followers

