New update 5.04 update available for the Kindle Touch, Kindle for PC updated

New update 5.04 update available for the Kindle Touch, Kindle for PC updated

Thanks to regular reader and commenter Tom Semple for the heads-up on this.

There is a new update available for the Kindle Touch (5.0.4).

The description isn’t very explicit: “This update features general software improvements for Kindle Touch.” :)

I won’t get a chance to test it until later, but if you want to get it right away, you can at

Kindle Touch Software Update Page

There are instructions there for using your USB cable to transfer it to your KT.

You can also just wait, and you should get it when connected to wi-fi…that’s easier, but it’s hard to say when it will happen.

Tom also tells me that Kindle for PC has been updated to accommodate KF8 (Kindle Format 8).  I’m not where I can test that one, either.

If you get either of these and notice differences, feel free to let me know.

Thanks, Tom!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

15 Responses to “New update 5.04 update available for the Kindle Touch, Kindle for PC updated”

  1. Deb Schmalz Says:

    I can’t remember how to update my Kindle for PC sofware. Seems I recall that when you open it you’re told there’s an update, but mine just takes me to my library. Help when you can. Thanks.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Deb!

      I don’t have it in front of me, but try this:

      Open K4PC, and do

      Help-Future Improvements…

      Even though the Future Improvements page hasn’t been updated with a new description, go ahead and

      Download the new version

  2. Donna White Glaser Says:

    Hi Bufo,
    Have you noticed that KDP reports now differentiate between sold, borrowed, free promo and free price matched downloads? I think that’s great! Your thoughts?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Donna!

      That’s great! It’s funny, because I was just told by the kDP folks on February 24 that

      “At this time, free sales are not shown separately on the sales reports, however,
      we’re making improvements to our reports to help give the clearest picture of
      your sales.”

      I guess those are those improvements. :)

      I switched to the previous month and they didn’t show there…

  3. Ginny Meyers Says:

    How do we know if a book is KF8 — is that the extension? And are there major differences that will cause problems for the KK?

    Ginny

  4. P. Montgomery Says:

    Many thanks for the posting regarding the new firmware update for the Kindle Touch. I had quit using the Touch because of all the problems with trying to turn pages and having it end up highlighting the word or going to the dictionary definition. I even went so far as to buy the Kindle3 to replace the Touch.

    I absolutely love the K3, but at least I can use the Touch for backup now. My husband likes the Touch improvements too. Why did it take Amazon so long to make that one improvement? I was warning people away from buying the Kindle Touch.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, P.!

      I’m glad that was helpful for you, and that you had such a positive experience with it!

  5. Poodlepop Says:

    But do we get thumbnails on the homepage? That is the million dollar question! Please Amazon! Please!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Poodlepop!

      Since I wrote about both Kindle for PC and the Touch, let me address them both. :)

      You can see thumbnails in Kindle for PC…click the “Tile View” (it sort of looks like an equals sign).

      I’m big on options, but I wouldn’t want to have thumbnails on my Kindle Touch by default. The more intense a screen image is, the more effort it takes the Touch to draw it, I believe. My guess is that, in addition to possibly being to fit fewer titles on a screen (if the images were to be big enough to be useful for a large number of people), my guess is that it would take more battery charge and longer to come up as you switched from screen to screen.

      I suppose some other people would want it…I think I’ve seen one person mention it in the Kindle Forum recently. Again, I’d be fine with it as an option for those who want it (recognizing the development costs, of course), but for me personally, I wouldn’t use it. I’m not much of a visually-oriented person, though. :)

  6. New update 5.04 update available for the Kindle Touch, Kindle for PC updated « I Love My Kindle | Top Kindle Reviews Says:

    [...] New update 5.04 update available for the Kindle Touch, Kindle for PC updated « I Love My Kindl… [...]

  7. Madhav Bhat Says:

    After updating my firmware to 5.0.4 I am seeing that the screen re-draws fully at each page turn, even if I have turned it off – unlike the re-drawing occurring after every 5 or 6 pages as before with 5.0.1 and 5.0.3.
    Anybody else notice this or is it only on my Kindle Touch?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Madhav!

      I’ll try and play around with that when I get back from vacation…

  8. Ella Says:

    Wtf..what’s the point I see no diffence in my kindle whatsoever this is BS all that work for nothing..

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ella!

      Sorry you were disappointed.

      First, you needn’t have done any work…you’ll eventually get the updates automatically (as I’d mentioned in the post). This one appears to just have been a tune-up sort of thing: no added features. You might not see anything, but you probably won’t see some problems or issues you were seeing before. It did seem to me that the touchscreen was more responsive afterwards.

      So, in the future, you don’t need to install updates manually, although you can if you want. If something happens that’s different from that, I’ll let you know…and if I know about feature changes, I’ll mention those as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,306 other followers

