Author D.D. Scott is giving away a boxed set, a Kindle Fire…and has scheduled a “bubble twead’

Author D.D. Scott is giving away a boxed set, a Kindle Fire…and has scheduled a “bubble twead’

I know that this is sort of two Kindle Fire posts in a row, but this one has a big benefit whether or not you have a Kindle Fire, and the opportunity won’t last long.

As regular readers know, I contribute a post once a month to The Writer’s Guide to E-Publishing blog. For disclosure, I am not materially compensated for that.

I wrote over there, as I have here, about the Kindle Fire’s new in-book chat. I think it’s an amazing feature, and I suggested that authors might use it to connect with their readers by scheduling times that the former will be “in the book”. That allows for a live conversation.

Well, D.D. Scott has now done that!

The author of Bootscootin’ Blahniks (and many other books) has scheduled what Scott calls a “Bubble Twead” for this Thursday, April 12th, at 7:00 PM Central time.

To participate, you need two things (besides the time…that can be tough, I know): the book Scott will be in and a Kindle Fire.

Well, here’s the benefit for all Kindle owners (and Kindle app users), whether or not you have a Kindle Fire.

If you go to this

WG2E post

and ask for a copy of

Bootscootin’ and Cozy Cash Mysteries Boxed Set (Books 1-6) (D. D. Scott Special Edition Boxed Sets)

D.D. is giving away 50 “copies”!

No requirement to attend the “bubble twead” or have a Kindle Fire.

I should mention, I came up with the term “twead” (for “tweeting” and “reading”…I’ve been informed it’s the worst portmanteau ever) ;), and D.D. added “bubble”. That does it make it sound more fun, and not being a very visual person, I didn’t think about the icon looking like a bubble. :)

You can also enter to win a Kindle Fire! D.D. regularly gives an EBR (E-Book Reader) as part of the Reader’s Guide to E-Publishing. You can enter here:

http://ddscottville.blogspot.com/p/rg2e-ereader-giveaways.html

You wouldn’t have it in time for Thursday, but they do have other uses. ;) I also expect that D.D. may do more of these.

Anyway, I wanted to get this out before the fifty boxed sets were gone. Enjoy!

In other news…

I haven’t had a chance to go through it yet, but thanks to Surveyah in the

Amazon Kindle community

who posted a link to this Salon article:

http://www.salon.com/2012/04/08/amazons_1_million_slush_fund/

I’ll wait until I’ve had time to read it all, but even the headline puts an interesting spin on Amazon giving money to small publishers and nonprofits…

I also wrote a review recently in my blog, The Measured Circle, of Aliens in America: A UFO Hunter’s Guide to Extraterrestrial Hotpspots Across the U.S.. I debated whether to put it in that blog or this one, but I decided to do it there and just link from here for those who are interested. :) One of the main reasons is that the topic fits in well there, not so well here…and I write a lot less often on that blog, so I thought there was more value for subscribers in putting it there. :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “Author D.D. Scott is giving away a boxed set, a Kindle Fire…and has scheduled a “bubble twead’”

  1. Pj Schott Says:

    That DeeDee Scott is one HOT TICKET!! Thanks for the info.

  2. DeeDee Scott Says:

    Thanks Bunches, Bufo, for the superfab shout-out re my first ever Kindle Fire Bubble Twead coming up this Thursday night!

    U rock!

    And I’m wavin’ at all u wonderful ILMK Readers! C’mon over to The WG2E, and for the first 50 who get there, I’ll treat ya to a Kindle Gift Copy of my Boxed Set, which is where I’ll be Bubble Tweading!!!

    Happy Ereading and Kindle Fire Bubble Tweading!!!

  3. Andrew Says:

    Don’t worry. I recently read that the editors of Punch Magazine, which published the first use of the word “brunch” in 1895, informed readers in 1896 that, “The combination-meal, when nearer the usual breakfast hour, is ‘brunch,’ and, when nearer luncheon, is ‘blunch.’ Please don’t forget this.”

    Blunch.

    That’s surely worse than Twead.

    Read the full text here: http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/119827#ixzz1rZpCWk7M

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Andrew!

      That does make me feel better. :) Somehow the “bl–” sound just isn’t appetizing. Mad Magazine readers will recognize “blech”, for example.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

