June 2012 Kindle book releases

June 2012 Kindle book releases

While I don’t generally pre-order Kindle store books myself, I know many of you do.

I understand the fun of just having the book show up, but I figure I’ll order when I want it…since I could have it within a minute, usually. Unlike with paperbooks, your pre-order prices for the six biggest US trade publishers aren’t guaranteed by Amazon…they can’t be. Under what’s called the Agency Model, Amazon can’t set the prices for those e-books: hypothetically, if the publisher raised the price between the time you pre-ordered it and the time it was released Amazon couldn’t do anything about it.

I don’t think that tends to happen, though. Publishers don’t tend to raise the price between the pre-order and the release, and I’ve also heard of Amazon canceling pre-orders. I don’t think there is any significant risk that you’ll pay a different price than the one at which you pre-ordered…unless the pre-order is canceled and you decide to re-order it.

I’m looking at the list sorted by popularity:

June 2012 Kindle store pre-orders

but I’m not just going to list the most popular out of the 2,426. I’ll hit some of the big names that I think might interest you, but if something else catches my eye, I’ll list that, too. :) If the book blocks text-to-speech access, I won’t list it.

Robert Ludlum’s (TM) The Bourne Imperative
by Eric Van Lustbader
pre-order for June 5

Van Lustbader is a bestselling author, here continuing Ludlum’s Bourne series.

Pretty Little Liars #11: Stunning
by Sara Shepard
pre-order for June 5

From the popular young adult series (and basis of the TV show).

Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas
by John Scalzi
pre-order for June 5

Yes, Star Trek fans, the title is a reference to the traditionally doomed members of a landing party…it may aspire to be the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern of Trek novels. Might be a good gift for the geek on your list.

Mortal (The Books of Mortals)
by Ted Dekker, Tosca Lee
pre-order for June 5

Dekker writes Christian thrillers…I haven’t read one, but I’ve head them recommended to me.

The Seven Wonders: A Novel of the Ancient World (Novels of Ancient Rome)
by Steven Saylor
pre-order for June 5

A Gordianus the Finder novel, set in 92 B.C.

Kiss the Dead
by Laurell K. Hamilton
pre-order for June 5

An Anita Blake, vampire hunter novel.

We Are Anonymous: Inside the Hacker World of LulzSec, Anonymous, and the Global Cyber Insurgency
by Parmy Olson
pre-order for June 5

Non-fiction

Mission to Paris: A Novel
by Alan Furst
pre-order for June 12

A spy story by a popular writer in the genre, set in 1938.

The Third Gate: A Novel
by Lincoln Child
pre-order for June 12

Historical horror fantasy from the popular author.

Wicked Business: A Lizzy and Diesel Novel
by Janet Evanovitch
pre-order for June 19

Evanovitch is, of course, best known for the Stephanie Plum series, but this is a separate fantasy series.

Wicked Nights (Angels of the Dark)
by Gena Showalter
pre-order for June 26

Romance

Tuesday’s Child
by Fern Michaels
pre-order for June 26

From the New York Times bestselling fiction author…

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,303 other followers

