New iOS (iPhones, iPod touches, iPad) update (3.1.1) to fix last update

New iOS (iPhones, iPod touches, iPad) update (3.1.1) to fix last update

On June 14, Amazon announced a new iOS (iPhones, iPod touches, and iPad) update for the free Kindle reader:

Kindle for iPad and Kindle Cloud Reader Update

Many users reported problems with the update. The biggest problem was not being able to open their e-books. People also didn’t like a change that was made to the margins.

If you look at that announcement thread I referenced above, you’ll see a lot of discomfort with it. There were possibilities, like deregistering and reregistering, but it wasn’t clear that those worked.

Amazon has responded by releasing another update which is supposed to fix these problems:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id302584613

If you have been having these problems, please let me know if this fix resolves the issues for you by commenting this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in theĀ I Love My Kindle blog.

5 Responses to “New iOS (iPhones, iPod touches, iPad) update (3.1.1) to fix last update”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    Still has a bug with fixed-layout Panel View turning off when the page turns on my iPod Touch. A bit annoying, but I’ve already read this particular title on my Fire, so it is not a show stopper. I did have to re-download it before it worked at all. And it still will not download my other fixed-layout graphic novel.

  2. Sheri Zimmer Says:

    iOS version 3.1.1 will not even open on iPad 2 now. Is there any fix other than uninstall / reinstall and if I do, how do I get my purchases on my iPad again? Thanks.

  3. Steve J Says:

    I have the same problem as Sheri – Kindle for iPad no longer loads. I don’t want to risk losing $100s of books by deleting & reinstalling.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Steve!

      As long as you got the books from the Kindle store, that’s not a risk. It’s easiest to think of it as the books belonging to the account, not the device. Even if you lost your iPad altogether, that wouldn’t matter…you could still download the books again to a different device.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,310 other followers

