Eddiecoms #2: “Such a perfect method of writing”

Eddiecoms #2: “Such a perfect method of writing”

There has been a lot of talk recently about dishonest promotion on the internet.

Back in July, I wrote a post about what I decided to call “Eddicoms”. These are comments that people make on blogs which are really just disguised links to their commercial sites.

I would guess in many cases they are paying other people to do these for them, and it may even be done by software.

I post them here partially as a public service to let other bloggers know about them…and partially because they can be funny. :)

I’m careful to test the comment before I include it here. How do I test it? I select a distinctive phrase (often with a misspelling or a grammatical anomaly) and search for it on Google. In the case of an Eddiecom (named in honor of Eddie Haskell from Leave it to Beaver), there will be thousands (sometimes hundreds of thousands) of posting of the same comment on other blogs.

I have tested that by searching for comments that I was confident wren’t Eddiecoms (because I knew who the poster was, or there were elements that clearly referred to my post)…and got none to very few matching results (even I selected a section with very little specific information).

If a comment fails the Google search test, I’m sure it’s an Eddiecom.

What first sets off my instinct to check the comment?

There are some red flags:

  • The comment is on a post I did some time ago
  • They are vague and don’t mention anything specific
  • They may say they just stumbled across the post
  • They may be effusively complimentary
  • They may be in fractured English
  • The posting name is a website, rather than a person
  • There is a website linked for the poster which appears to be a commercial website

No single red flag is enough, but when I few, I’ll test it.

“Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last part :) I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.’

“If some one needs to be updated with most recent technologies afterward he must be pay a quick visit this web site and be up to date daily.”

“Thank you for any other magnificent article. Where else could anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect method of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the search for such information.”

“Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
By the way, how could we communicate?”

“Marvelous!!! Job you have done. Actually, you are pleasure to know, seriously. Your work is incomparable. It’s a masterpiece.
Your article is very resourceful and beneficial. And the work done is appreciable.”

“At this time it sounds like BlogEngine is the preferred blogging platform available right now.

(from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?”

This one is particularly clever, in my opinion. Although the punctuation is eccentric, the English is good…and people love to correct other people, so a blogger would be tempted to approve this and respond.

“Very good post. I am facing a few of these issues as well.”

This one might seem like it’s legit, but I found the exact same comment from the same poster…132 times on different blogs.

“I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my mission.”

I got two Eddiecoms from the same poster on the same day…on the same post. :) One of them was the above.

“Excellent site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any community forums that
cover the same topics discussed in this article?
I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!”

This one was particularly good. The post on which the comment was made didn’t really fit the comment…and again, it failed the “Google search” test, where I find the same wording in comments on unrelated topics (in this case they included woodworking, weight loss, and the Cayman Islands).

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers

