Amazon updates the Kindle Keyboard, adding parental controls

Amazon updates the Kindle Keyboard, adding parental controls

Amazon has just updated the Kindle Keyboard, formerly informally known as the Kindle 3.

That may help alleviate some concerns people have about Amazon abandoning speakers (necessary for audiobooks, music, and text-to-speech) in its RSKs (Reflective Screen Kindles).

You can just wait for them to send it to you wirelessly in the next few weeks, or you can do the update manually here:

Kindle Keyboard software update 3.4

They’ve improved the instructions there, by the way. If you have questions about updating it manually, feel free to ask.

Do be careful to pick the right update…it’s different for European customers, and different for wi-fi only Kindle Keyboards, versus wi-fi and 3G Kindle Keyboards.

What does this one add?

  • Parental controls, like those on the “Mindle“…you can lock down a device to prevent it from going on the internet or downloading books from the archives, but you can still send books to it by buying them on a computer. This is a good implementation of “parental controls”, although FreeTime on the new Kindle Fire line will be more sophisticated
  • New crisper font
  • KF8 (Kindle Format 8), panel view for comics, children’s books with “Kindle Text Popup”
  • Whispersync for Voice: this is the new feature that lets your sight-read an e-book, switch to the audiobook and it picks up in the right place, then switch back again (picking up sight-reading where you finished listening). For more information on that, see http://www.amazon.com/wsv

Let me know if you notice anything else with this one…that sometimes happens. :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “Amazon updates the Kindle Keyboard, adding parental controls”

  1. Ginny Says:

    I downloaded the 3.4 update immediately, because I have been having serious issues with Whispersync on my KK — nothing I buy downloads automatically, but I can download from my Archives, so don’t feel it’s a 3G/WiFi issue on my end. But I digress — I figured, Ah Ha!! They’ve been monkeying with Whispersync to get the voice thing going, so maybe this will fix it!!! WRONG — My Kindle is so slow, I can’t even turn the pages if the wireless is on, and can’t get the menu up to turn it off. A fine mess we’re in here, Ollie!!!

    Hope I can get 3.3 back!!

    Ginny

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      Thanks for the warning. My K3 has really slowed down as well. It’s really an annoyance when playing a game with a timed element in it. I thought maybe it was because the battery is going steadily downhill. I have to recharge it every day even though I only turn G3 on twice a day for blogs to download, then I turn wireless right back off again. I hope if they do redesign the Kindle Keyboard they make a better provision for changing out the battery.

  2. wingwifeusmc Says:

    I have over a thousand books on my KK and have been unable to highlight or navigate well for months. Sometimes it would just freeze up and I\’d have to do a hard reset to get it working again. The 3.4 update has fixed all my issues. I\’m very happy. Of course, soon it is my daughter who will be happy–my paperwhite 3G is due to ship October 1st. Excited! We now have 11 Kindles on my account in the family (and with 1 very good friend).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, wingwifeusmc!

      Wow! That’s great to hear. :) I only keep about ten Kindle store books on any of my Kindles at a time, but I do know that people report having issues with a lot of them. It’s fantastic if the update solved those for you.

      When you give it to your daughter, you may want to consider doing a reset to factory defaults first…if you want her to be able to start fresh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,324 other followers

