October 2012 Kindle book releases

October 2012 Kindle book releases

While I don’t generally pre-order Kindle store books myself, I know many of you do.

I understand the fun of just having the book show up, but I figure I’ll order when I want it…since I could have it within a minute, usually. Unlike with paperbooks, your pre-order prices for five of the six biggest US trade publishers aren’t guaranteed by Amazon…they can’t be. Under what’s called the Agency Model, Amazon can’t set the prices for those e-books: hypothetically, if the publisher raised the price between the time you pre-ordered it and the time it was released Amazon couldn’t do anything about it.

I don’t think that tends to happen, though. Publishers don’t tend to raise the price between the pre-order and the release, and I’ve also heard of Amazon canceling pre-orders. I don’t think there is any significant risk that you’ll pay a different price than the one at which you pre-ordered…unless the pre-order is canceled and you decide to re-order it.

This time, also, we have the interesting situation of three publishers (HarperCollins, and Hachette and Simon & Schuster…HC and Amazon have already worked out the new contract, which is why it is five of six above…it will be three of six before the end of the year) having settled on the Agency Model. That means that the price I’m seeing now is set by the publisher, but may not be by the time the book is released. I think it’s likely that we may see prices drop dramatically on some of these…the result of price wars, which become possible again after the Agency Model contracts end. If that happens, I would expect that Amazon would give you the lowest price…after all, they would again become the seller of record.

I’m looking at the list sorted by popularity:

October 2012 Kindle book releases

but I’m not just going to list the most popular out of the 2,426. I’ll hit some of the big names that I think might interest you, but if something else catches my eye, I’ll list that, too. :) If the book blocks text-to-speech access, I won’t list it.

The Racketeer
by John Grisham
pre-order for October 23

Grisham is the best-selling brand name author of (usually) legal thrillers.

Partners
by Nora Roberts
pre-order for October 9

Another brand name author, but of a rather different type. :)

Mercury Rests
by Robert Kroese
pre-order for October 23

The first book in this series, Mercury Falls, can be read for free by eligible Prime members.

The Essential Novels: Star Wars Reads Day Special Edition: 4-Book Bundle: X-Wing: Rogue Squadron; Heir to the Empire; New Jedi Order: Vector Prime; Legacy of the Force: Betrayal
by Timothy Zahn, Michael A. Stackpole, R.A. Salvatore, Aaron Allston
pre-order for October 2

Four books for (at time of writing) $7.99…not enough for you? How about The Essential Novels: Star Wars 10-Book Bundle for $62.99?

Dr. Bloodmoney
by Philip K. Dick
pre-order for October 23

I’ve got this one in paper. :)

The Fourteenth Day: JFK and the Aftermath of the Cuban Missile Crisis: The Secret White House Tapes
by David G. Coleman
pre-order for October 1

Nonfiction

We Killed: The Rise of Women in American Comedy
by Yael Kohen
pre-order for October 16

The Etymologicon: A Circular Stroll Through the Hidden Connections of the English Language
by Mark Forsyth
pre-order for October 2

The 50 Movie Starter Kit: What You Need to Know if You Want to Know What You’re Talking About
by Ty Burr
pre-order for October 2

Boston Globe critic tells you about fifty movies you should know.

The Winner Effect: The Neuroscience of Success and Failure
by Ian H. Robertson
pre-order for October 16

Son
Lois Lowry
pre-order for October 2

This is the end of the young adult series that began with The Giver (Newbery Medal Book)

The Sins of the Mother: A Novel
by Danielle Steel
pre-order for October 30

Mars Attacks
by Len Brown, The Topps Company, Zina Saunders
pre-order for October 1

A comprehensive look at the trading cards on their 50th anniversary…I’m guessing this will look great on a Kindle Fire, and be a great geek gift. I don’t think you can pre-order a gift, though.

Who I Am: A Memoir
by Pete Townshend
pre-order for October 8

Well, there’s an interesting group for you!

I do expect pricing may be wild this year.

One disappointment: there were a couple of books I would have listed, but they had text-to-speech access blocked. I really thought we were getting done with that. I wonder if that might be, in some way, a response to the end of the Agency Model. They might reflexively re-assert control…and then, I can only hope, they relax it again.

Regardless, happy reading!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “October 2012 Kindle book releases”

  1. Phink Says:

    Killing Kennedy will wind up being #1. Killing Lincoln was one of the best books I’ve ever read. And I’m not sure John Grisham could write a bad book even if he tried.

  2. beccadi Says:

    Partners is a re-release.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, beccadi!

      Yes, that’s a good point. So is the Philip K. Dick book I listed. It’s great to see some of the “long tail” making it into Kindle editions.

      Do you know if it had been previously released for the Kindle? I didn’t check that…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

