Guidelines for Early Adopters

Guidelines for Early Adopters

1. Assess the item as it exists to the best of your ability. If you decide that the features it has are worth the money, be satisfied with the price you paid for it

2. Be aware of your return period (thirty days for a Kindle). Test it out during that period. If it doesn’t meet your expectations, return it. If it does, be happy with your decision

3. Know what your warranty is. Realize that the device may not last beyond that period, although it might last much longer. If the warranty is one year, you can expect the company to repair or replace it (if those are the terms of the warranty) during that period. Do not expect the company to replace more than what failed…to give you a new device for a six-month old device, for example, or to give you a model that was released after the one you bought. They might do that, but it shouldn’t be what you expect

4. Expect the technology to be cheaper and do more in the future. That’s quite predictable, and is no more unfair than that winter comes

5. Updates for later models may not be available for your model. That may be due to changes in hardware or software, but may just have to with the development costs. Your device still does what you thought was worthwhile when you bought it. You made a good decision then, and that has not changed because other people get more than you do. Be happy for  them

Enjoy your device…you are paying more than other customers will who wait, but you get to use it first. :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

8 Responses to “Guidelines for Early Adopters”

  1. Sheryl Painter Says:

    Well said. Bravo. Now if only people would listen to you!!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Sheryl!

      Thanks for the kind words! Oh, I’m way past expecting people to listen to me. ;) I’m a pretty tolerant and patient person, I think, but I do get frustrated with some comments I see on the forums. For example, there seems to be a lot of concern that Amazon is “abandoning” the Kindle Fire First Generation, apparently because they are about to update the new Kindle Fires. There isn’t necessarily a correlation: updating one doesn’t mean not updating the other.

      I wrote this piece because I don’t want to respond to specific comments on the forum in a case like this: it would call out an individual, and I’m not saying I’m right to not be frustrated, and that they are wrong to be frustrated. I do find that being more satisfied with a situation tends to make me happier, but that’s not the only way to go.

  2. George Lug Says:

    Bufo, good commentary for a topic we consumers sometimes forget. I’m happy you are there for us! Thanks

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, George!

      What I’ve written is what I actually do. If I buy a model, and a new one comes out with more stuff, I actually do think it’s cool for those later buyers. If it’s enough of a change for me to want to upgrade, I think about that, but I’m usually good with the decision I first made.

  3. D. Knight Says:

    I follow the Kindle discussion forum enough to know that this needs to be said, but I suspect you’re mostly preaching to the choir here. Although, even though I’ve already decided to not upgrade my Fire this year, I appreciate the reminder that I thought the Fire was the ideal tablet for me last year and the extra year of use was more valuable to me than waiting for this year’s improvements would have been.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, D.!

      Absolutely! You’ve gotten a lot of value out of it already. I get them partially for reference…the more robust TTS (text-to-speech) would have tempted me to upgrade anyway, but I honestly might not have bought the Kindle Fire 1st Generation if I wasn’t writing about it because it didn’t have TTS that worked with Kindle store books.

  4. Marvin Says:

    I would add one more – do your homework and read something about the device before you purchase it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Marvin!

      Reading up on it is one of the main things I intended by “Assess the item as it exists to the best of your ability.”

      When possible, I actually read the User’s Guide before buying something. :) Not always available, though. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,256 other followers

