The iPad Mini has an Apple…price

The iPad Mini has an Apple…price

Apple just announced the iPad Mini yesterday. My local news had video this morning of people camping outside the Apple store to get  one…even though you can’t even pre-order them until this Friday (October 26th).

The iPad Mini has one feature we are used to associating with Apple products: a higher price. ;)

That doesn’t meant that an Apple product isn’t worth more, of course. People often love their Apple products, and they often describe them as “easy to use”…along with having the “cool factor”, of course.

There was some concern that this product would go right after the Kindle Fire, and Google’s Nexus 7, but it really didn’t.

You can get a Kindle Fire 7″ SD for $159, and a perhaps more comparable Kindle Fire HD 7″, Dolby Audio, Dual-Band Wi-Fi, 16 GB for $199.

The iPad Mini starts at $329…you could get two KFSDs for that price.

You would probably think it is a lot more fully featured for that much more money, right?

Well, it does have a rear-facing camera (in addition to the front-facing one).

The iPad Mini’s screen is 1024 x 768 (more is better): the KFHD is better in that measurement, being 1280 x 800.

This iPad Mini is only wi-fi…that matches the Kindle Fire HD.

I certainly think there’s a market for it, and that it can take some sales from the KFHD…but it’s not really a direct competitor at that price.

I want to look a bit more deeply at other developments from yesterday, including a new generation of iBooks (3.0…it includes continuous scrolling and more language support), but I’m sure some of you have seen Apple’s announcement: what do you think?

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

One Response to “The iPad Mini has an Apple…price”

  1. Pam Says:

    I love my iPad 3 and my Fire. I read all my books on the Fire because of it’s size. If I had to replace it, I’d probably get a Mini because I like the web and mail better on Apple products. Plus, not sure what Amazon was thinking, but now that the iPad has the Amazon Instant Video app, I really don’t need the Fire for Prime videos. For now, I’m happy with what I have. And not so happy with Apple for creating a new iPad so soon. On their website it compares the mini, iPad 2, and iPad Retina Display (new one). Hellllloooooo – the iPad 3 is like it never existed! But I digress…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,251 other followers

