Round up #137: Kindle Singles to the UK, free Windwalker books

Round up #137: Kindle Singles to the UK, free Windwalker books

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

Some free books

As always, please carefully check that the price says zero before you download any of these. That can change at any time, and the books may not be free in all territories.

How To Use Your God Power To Get Everything You Ever Wanted and Live The Life of Your Dreams! “The Master’s Course”
by Richard McKim, Jr.

The author contacted me a couple of times about this one, to let you know it would be free at this time. I was offered a free copy earlier than that, and the tone was too much like advertising to post the comment (when you call your own book “amazing”, it reads like an ad).

The author also promised audio tracks, but I’m not quite sure how that would work. It’s possible some of you are interested, so even though I’m not endorsing this one (I haven’t looked at it yet myself), I thought I would give you the heads up.

The Complete 2013 User’s Guide to the Amazing Amazon Kindle Fire
by Stephen Windwalker and Bruce Grubbs

The Complete 2013 User’s Guide to the Amazing Amazon Kindle – E INK EDITION
by Stephen Windwalker and Bruce Grubbs

Kindle Fire Tips, Tricks and How-Tos: Kindle Nation Daily’s Guide To Save You Money, Save You Time, and Help You Get The Most Out Of Your Kindle Fire
by April L. Hamilton and Stephen Windwalker

Stephen Windwalker is the author of the long-running blog, Kindle Nation Daily. The books say they are free today through the 26th, but again double-check. I have found Windwalker’s books to be good before, although I have not read these (yet). I would recommend getting them. For full disclosure, we have had some correspondence, but we don’t know each other outside of cyberspace and don’t have a financial interest in each other’s works different from what we would have with any books.

My holiday

Thanks for your patience, although I actually feel like I inundated you more the last few days than usual. :) My adult kid has gone home, so I’m back to it. I hope your holiday was great for you and yours, and thanks to the well-wishing readers! :)

In addition to some great Kindle books, I got two pieces of hardware I wanted to mention. One is a roll-up silicon Bluetooth keyboard. I’ve tried it out some…the feel is a bit to get used to using (I’m finding I need to hit relatively hard, compared to a typical hardware keyboard, but this does seem like it has possibilities for daily travel use. I’ll still use my solid Bluetooth keyboard at home, since it can sit in my lap, and this needs to be on a hard surface. However, I think it may be just the ticket for use with my Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ 4G LTE Wireless 32GB when I’m at Whole Foods for lunch. :)

The other thing is the AAXA P4 P4X Pico Projector. I needed to order the right connectors, so I haven’t been able to test it with the Fire yet. Still, I’m really excited about it! It lets you project what is on your tablet (or your laptop or your phone or…). Running VGA from my laptop, the image wasn’t very sharp where I tried it (on a rough wall). I suspect I need to play around with the resolution to increase the pixels per inch. I think it will be much sharper with the HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) of the Fire, though…I’ll let you know. :)

Newsweek’s last print issue

Take a look at the cover:

#LASTPRINTISSUE

I think putting the hashtagged caption was clever. :)

You can also read Editor Tina Brown’s commentary on the change at that link.

Google versus Amazon in 2013

Publishers Weekly alerted me to this interesting

Reuters article

looking at how Amazon and Google are beginning to compete more directly. Have you noticed that you now get ads for places besides Amazon in your search results at Amazon? That’s the e-tailers big move into Google’s bread and butter, advertising. If they can target ads to your buying history, that’s very attractive (and worth a ton of dough) to advertisers. Google’s starting to do some retailing as well. Pretty simply put, though, Amazon can expand into advertising a lot more easily than Google can expand into retailing. “The box is locked, the lights are on…it’s robot fighting time!” ;)  Oh, wait…Amazon bought the robot company recently…hm…

Kindle Singles launch in the UK

In this

press release

Amazon.co.uk announced the arrival of

Kindle Singles (US store)

in the UK store. These are short works, between a magazine article and a book (or between a short story and a novel…or what we sometimes call a novella, but I’m not being technical here).

That’s been one of the apparently successful ways that Amazon has gotten original and exclusive content into the Kindle store. Interesting to see it expand internationally.

Reading Habits by Place

I also want to thank Publishers Weekly for the heads-up on this

Book Patrol article

that shows the reading habits of people in different density zones in the USA (urban, suburban, and rural). I would have guessed that lower density residents who were readers would read more e-books than readers in other places, given the convenience of getting them, but that’s not the indication here. I recommend looking at the full chart (which came from Pew originally).

Publishers Weekly is a great news source, but I will say I was amused recently when they apparently retweeted an article from The Onion without realizing it. :)

Update: Kindle Daily Deals recently

I was excited to see some well-known books as the Kindle Daily Deal a couple of days that I wanted, but the publishers chose to block text-to-speech access. That meant that I neither got them nor linked to them for you.

This morning, though, there are two good ones where they have not taken that step. Both have been popular, and one is going to be a major movie this year.

The Handmaid’s Tale
by Margaret Atwood

This 1985 novel was nominated for both a Booker and a Nebula…I wonder how often that has happened? :) The first award really recognizes literary merit, and the second one is for science fiction. This one was also adapted into a movie with Faye Dunaway and Robert Duvall.

The Host: A Novel
by Stephenie Meyer

This one is from the author of the Twilight series, and is more intended for an adult (versus a young adult) audience.

Both books are $1.99 today, a considerable discount. As always, check before you click or tap that “Buy” button.

What do you think? Are Google and Amazon clashing any more than they did before? Does seeing outside ads on Amazon concern you at all? How far do you drive to a brick and mortar store to get books, if you still do? Why do you think folks in rural areas aren’t reading more e-books, if you think the information is accurate? Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Update: Thanks to readers Pam and Edward Boyhan for comments that helped improve this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “Round up #137: Kindle Singles to the UK, free Windwalker books”

  1. Pam Says:

    Well I live on 5 acres and I spend a lot of time outdoors keeping it up, so that means less time to read (except in winter). But that’s just me…

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Pam!

      I probably should have been clearer on that. It’s the percentage of book readers who have read an e-book, not of the general population.

      Among book readers, in last 12 months, % who read e-books

      Urban: 22%
      Suburban: 22%
      Rural: 17%

      Edited to add: I’ve now updated the post to make this clearer, and credited you for the comment…thanks!

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Thanks for the KF HD free book recommendations — I went ahead and got two of them for my KF89.

    The link you posted to NJ.com took me to an article about ebook price declines in the face of all the DOJ settlements — not an article about Amazon v Google. Just yesterday, I had read the following Reuters piece dealing with the Amazon v Google issues:

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/12/23/net-us-google-amazon-idUSBRE8BM09420121223

    The book patrol article brought out the skeptic in me. Nowhere did they talk about sample sizes — all they gave you were percentages which for most of the questions didn’t seem all that terribly different across the three geographies. It doesn’t seem to me that the cross geography results are statistically significant. I don’t think one can draw the conclusion that rural types read less from the evidence presented. I found the demographic characterizations of the three geographies to be overly simplistic and also probably not very accurate.

    There’s also no info on how they are distinguishing among urban suburban, and rural areas. Most recent studies of this kind are finding that it’s better to split suburban into two sub-groupings: exurban and inner suburban — as the demographics are quite different.

    One set of statistics in the study that I did find interesting and significant was that across all geographies libraries were thought to be useful to large percentages, but when asked if they actually used the library, EBR owners had very low “yes” percentages (much much lower than the percentages for non EBR owners). This suggests to me that as “ebookification” proceeds apace, the historical lending role of libraries is becoming irrelevant. Certainly offerings such as Amazon’s KOLL dramatically reduce the need for lending libraries. As for research libraries, as collections become digitized, I wonder if we need anything more than a few large centralized repositories. We will of course still need some physical repositories for significant source documents, but I suspect that usage of these will be quite specialized and very low.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I fixed the link…I appreciate you letting me know! Not too long ago, WordPress stopped automatically creating hyperlinks for me, and I haven’t looked into the issue much (I have tried it in two browsers). That means I’ve been manually writing the HTML (which isn’t hard in this case), and I just wrote the link for the wrong article. :)

      If you click the link at the top of the article

      http://libraries.pewinternet.org/2012/12/20/reading-habits-in-different-communities/

      you can go to the original source, which lets you see more about Pew’s methodology. This was me linking to someone reporting on someone else…welcome to the internet. ;)

      When libraries try to get support for their existence, I’ve noticed in the past that it had to do with being a place to give internet access to people who wouldn’t otherwise have it. I wrote this post back in 2010:

      Should public libraries stop buying paperbooks?

      At the time, we I don’t think we had the strong restrictions on e-books in libraries that we’ve seen since, which might change that a bit.

      I do think that the libraries as providers (as opposed to preservers) of books will be a changing role. My guess still is that needs-tested lending of e-books by the publishers may be the way of the future.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,306 other followers

