Eddiecoms #4: “I am gonna watch out for brussels”

Eddiecoms #4: “I am gonna watch out for brussels”

This is one in a series of posts about what I call “Eddiecoms”. You can see more detail about what these are in earlier posts on the topic, but it boils down to this. These are ads intended to promote something, disguised (often not very well) as comments on something I’ve posted. I test a comment in a couple of ways before deciding it is an Eddiecom, including doing a Google search for the same wording. When I do use Google, I’ll sometimes find hundreds of instances of the same comment on different blogs, ones which are often unrelated in topic.

“Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks”

“Post writing is also a fun, if you know afterward you
can write otherwise it is complicated to write.”

The above two were posted linked to the same website at the same time (within the same minute, at least), on two rather different posts of mine.

“Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait
to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
. Anyhow, superb site!”

I thought this one was relatively convincing…although a Google search found it on many, many sites (sometimes with a slight variation).

“Hi there, There’s no doubt that your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping
issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that,
excellent website!”

This one failed the Google test…and came from a plumbing website. While plumbers certainly could be reading this blog, it looked like a simple ad.

“I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content
as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than
ever before.|
I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!|
This is exactly along the same lines as my blog”

“Hi there, I found your blog by means of Google at the same time as searching for a similar matter, your
web site came up, it seems great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
Hi there, simply was aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in
future. Many other people will be benefited out of your writing.
Cheers!”

I have no idea what “I am gonna watch out for brussels” means, but it came up in comments on many blogs when I did the Google search. Anybody know? I considered that it might be some internet meme, but that didn’t seem to be the case when I looked at the comments.

“Your method of telling the whole thing in this article is
genuinely nice, every one be capable of without difficulty understand
it, Thanks a lot.”

I’ll let the irony of the syntax stand… ;)

“Wonderful post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on
this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!”

They were smart with this one, keeping it simple. However, it fails the Google test…even with the misspelled word of “litte” instead of “little”.

“My brother owns a pawn shop, here are some tips…
If you are shopping for seasonal brooches, try to buy them out of
the season. By buying Christmas brooches, valentine’s day broaches or Easter brooches out of the season, you can usually save a lot of money and acquire a quality piece of jewelry. So, if you are looking for a Christmas tree brooch or a snowman brooch, try to buy it in July.”

A seasonal Eddiecom…

“Hello everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and post is actually fruitful in support of me, keep up posting these types of content.”

“I keep listening to the rumor lecture about getting boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the
finest site to get one. Could you tell me please,
where could i find some?”

“I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one
these days.”

“I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet visitors, its really really nice
article on building up new website.”

This one appears to have been posted by a law firm offering DUI services…

“I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own website now ;)

“It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this put up and if I could I want to suggest you some attention-grabbing things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!”

“Hi, this weekend is fastidious in support of me, since this point in time i am reading this enormous
educational post here at my residence.”

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

