Poll Party #2

Poll Party #2

My regular readers know that I really like to hear your opinion. I often ask for it at the end of posts (and I try to give you conversation starters), and I love reading (and responding to) the comments.

I know not everybody wants to, or has the time and energy to, write something like that.

That’s one reason I love the polls we do here. It gives people another way to be heard. Even though we certainly aren’t a scientific sample of the mainstream, I find it interesting to see what we are saying. I suspect we might even be predictive as a group, as far as e-books are concerned, but I don’t really know that.

Let’s go through a few polls!

My answer to that one? Five years old…we have one of the first Kindle models. I haven’t tested it for a while, but I”m pretty confident it still works.

You can get the answer to this next one at

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

by clicking Manage Your Devices.

My answer on that one? Seventeen. We have four people on our account, and I certainly can’t say we use all of these all the time. I keep different models around for testing so I can answer questions for you, and that’s part of it.

While you are on that page, let’s do this one:

I’m only counting books here, but I thought we’d have more. We have 2,843.

I’m just curious about this next one. You can take this next number, divide it into the number immediately above, divide that by 365, and figure out the minimum number of years your library will last you. ;) Of course, that would presume that you are willing to re-read, but re-read only once…it’s just a fun number.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this here before, but my number is three and a half. :) They were definitely “popcorn books”, but that was a good day in my life. ;)

Let’s see: I’ve visited a brick and mortar public library, donated books (with my grown-up kid, who was moving), and borrowed an e-book.

I’ve mentioned this before…I always finish them. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book I thought was valueless, and I once read a book that I didn’t like much, but loved the last line. :)

Let’s see: word of mouth, Twitter, blog, e-mail…I think those are the main ones.

I’m honestly not sure on these. I haven’t checked to see if they block text-to-speech…if they do, interested or not, I don’t buy them. I don’t tend to look that far ahead. I’ll admit that the idea of a sequel to The Shining intrigues me, and that Robert Ripley book caught my eye.

I own reflective screen Kindles, Kindle Fires, a Samsung phone…I would actually assume I have a turntable some place, but I’m not sure. :)

I think I’ll wait to see your answers on that one. :)

Enjoy!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

13 Responses to “Poll Party #2”

  1. Sheryl Painter Says:

    Bufo, I am always intrigued by your polls. Can’t wait to see responses.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Sheryl!

      I appreciate that feedback! I have fun with them, and they sometimes do take off the blinders a bit.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    The more than 5 books in a day comes from the college course I took on literature for children and adolescents. It was a summer class, and we had to read a huge number of books in a 5 week period. I can’t remember the exact number now, but that was my all time favorite college class. It was for graduate credit. I was in my late 30′s and that’s when realized that some of the best literature being written was for children and young adults!

    In addition to my turntable (which has the capability of converting vinyl to MP3 and burn to a CD which I can then download to my iPod), I still own a working VCR, but it’s a VCR DVD combo, and I find myself recording more to the DVD side than the VCR side.

    None of the books you mentioned are ones I’m waiting for. The one closest to delivery from my pre-orders is “Ever After” by Kim Harrison. It’s part of the “Hollows” series about life after an epidemic caused by genetically modified tomatoes wipes out half the human population leaving the witches, werewolves, pixies, and other assorted magical creatures free to come out of hiding. I discovered the series when the first book was offered as a “freebie.” It kind of got lost in the “slush pile” until another “freebie,” the stripped down version of “Fantasy and Science Fiction” magazine ran a review of a later book in the series. Sometimes those freebies pay off for the publishers because I have since bought the whole series!

    You can keep the bunny, but I wish somebody would give me Sarah, the house from Eureka, Rosie the Robot from The Jetsons, and Harry Potter’s invisibility cloak!

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    On two of these, I thought there ought to have been a “none of the above” choice.

    One: use of a brick & mortar library. It turns out that I had to wait for a friend for an hour this year and I sat in a library and read on my kindle while I waited. That was a very abnormal visit for me. In the 3 or 4 years prior to 2012, it would have been “none of the above” — I’ve fallen out of love with libraries :D

    The other question had to do with books I’m waiting for with bated breath. While there might be 2 or 3 of those, none of them were on your list.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      The question of whether to provide a null answer (“none of the above”) or not is always a tricky one for me. If I just routinely include one, then it tends to be the dominant answer in some cases. I’m still experimenting with that. I actually started out with a negative question on going to brick and mortar libraries when I started that poll, but switched it to a positive. I tend to prefer positivity. :)

      If there is an answer that says, “I actively considered these choices and chose against all of them,” that could be different. In the case of the books I listed, had you already been aware of them, considered them, and rejected them…without having made a choice for something else? If not, I feel like somebody not picking one of those (not answering the question), suggests the null answer.

      I also find that the more choices which require evaluation, the fewer responses I get, so I try to be careful about that.

      The comments also give you a chance to expand the options: do you want to list any books for which you are waiting? Up to you, of course…

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        If one is interested in he future o public libraries, then I would think I would like to know how relevant/irrelevant they may have become — hence the “none of the above”, or perhaps “libraries just aren’t that important to me anymore” might give one some useful insights.

        As to the books– after I wrote my reply I thought about some titles. There’s nothing that I’m waiting for with bated breath, but there are a couple I would buy in a minute, if they became available. One would be any new title from CJ Cherryh set in the “Downbelow Station” Merchanters/Chanur universe; another would be a new story in the Miles Vorkosigan saga from Lois McMaster Bujold. As to the latter, when I went to Amazon to check on the spelling of “Vorkosigan” imagine my delight to discover not one but two titles in the series I had not read before (shows what comes of keeping my nose overly focused on indie titles :D ).

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Edward!

        Well, I’m a bit shy about posting much about libraries after a recent post provoked…strong rebukes. :) I think you can deduce things pretty well from these questions. If 23.51% (that’s the current number) have gone to a brick and mortar bookstore in the past year, 76.49% haven’t. I didn’t specifically asked about declining interest, but I do have a baseline if I ask again. :)

        I’m interested in many more things than I write about… ;)

  4. liz2germany Says:

    Great poll! You put a big smile on my face with the turntable option (yes), but I can add that I have a couple of functional cassette players and VCRs … ooh, and a laser disc player, too! :)

    There were a couple of questions that needed a “None of the above” answer, as I was not looking forward to any of the books on the list, and I haven’t done anything with a library in the last year. Which is a bit sad, really. I think next time I’m driving by my local library, I’ll pop in for a visit and take a big sniff of all those old books.

    The number-of-books-in-one-day question was intriguing, but I have a corollary question: what’s the longest book you’ve read in one sitting? As in, don’t even get off the couch to go to the bathroom kind of sitting. I was so engrossed with “Like Water for Chocolate”, I read it cover-to-cover in one sitting. And then realized I needed to get off the couch… :)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, liz2germany!

      I have a reel-to-reel tape player…although I haven’t tried it in a few years.

      Longest book in one sitting? That’s a tough one to answer. I tend to bounce from book to book, rather than reading one straight through, although I have done the latter.

  5. Round up #143: « I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « Poll Party #2 [...]

  6. Morgan Says:

    Just a FYI- Google Chrome (Version 24.0.1312.52) is not displaying the polls… I had to hop over to IE to view, and therefore vote, on your polls :-(

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Morgan!

      Interesting! I just double-checked with Chrome (Version 24.0.1312.52), and had no problem. Looks to me like the same version. Maybe we have different plug-ins enabled?

  7. tuxgirl Says:

    If you hadn’t had the “minimum 100 pages” on the number of books question, I think my answer would’ve been someplace around 30… The munchkin wants books constantly. She’s finally sitting still for longer books (we did two of the American Girl books this week), so at least we’re no longer reading the same thing over and over and over again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

