New Kindle Paperwhite ad: what do you think?

New Kindle Paperwhite ad: what do you think?

Amazon has posted a new

Kindle Paperwhite ad (Update: YouTube has apparently removed the ad. For more information, see my later post. 2nd Update: access to the ad at YouTube has been restored.)

to YouTube, and I think we may get a lot of commentary about it. I don’t want to say a lot about it before you see it, but after you do, I’m curious about your opinion(s). The order of the questions you are seeing is randomized, and you can pick more than one answer:

Update: in looking at commentary and talking about it, I’m adding two polls (again, the answers are randomized and you can pick more than one in each poll):

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

12 Responses to “New Kindle Paperwhite ad: what do you think?”

  1. Elaine Katz Says:

    All I can say is “Bravo,” Amazon! I am now prouder than ever to be a longtime Amazon customer & (ever-since-the-very-first) Kindler!

  2. Tuli Reno Says:

    Wow.

    I love Amazon. I am an Amazon fan girl. I just learned this weekend that my son and DIL are fanboy and girl. I can’t think of too many things that would make me more likely to shop at Amazon as it is.

    It took some courage on their part to do this. But when you think about the amount of money they make, maybe not courage but really deep pockets so that they are not worried about losing customers. Either way, bravo to Mr. Bezos.

  3. Jimmy McPhink Says:

    It was dumb in my humble opinion. When the main goal is profit you never mention politics. Perhaps Amazon is past the point where their main goal is profit and/or market share and if that’s the case that is dumb as well. I am not a homophobe but am looking at it from a business standpoint. One reason it was not a good business decision is because by not airing it you will not lose customers but by airing it you will. Most in the gay community know Jeff is for gay marriage but once he puts it in the traditional customers faces they will not appreciate it. As a Libertarian I do not care what adults do but I know of people personally that will not purchase Amazon products if they see this. Is that sad? Yes it is. But it is the world we live in and it is hard to show this video to those that believe differently and then beg for their money.

  4. Jimmy McPhink Says:

    Let me put it this way. There are millions that in their hearts (right or wrong) that same sex anything is morally wrong. We can call those millions of customers backwards, homophobes, ignorant, derainged, or any other namr. Know what Amazon calls them? CUSTOMERS.

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Yawn! I’m more interested in whether or not Amazon has fixed the display problems on the Paperwhite. I’d intended to get one, but when the negative reviews started coming in, I changed my mind.

  6. Sherri Says:

    Jeff Bezos made the largest donation on the side of supporting same sex marriage when it was on the ballot last November here in Washington state, so I’m not that surprised by the ad.

  7. Pam Says:

    Dumb.

  8. jjhitt Says:

    It makes me want to buy a drink.
    (Nice bathing suit,)

  9. alanchurch Says:

    click on supposed “ad” and found this
    “This video has been removed as a violation of YouTube’s policy against spam, scams, and commercially deceptive content.”
    Would you say what it said? Was it spam, deceptive. was it by amazon?

  10. YouTube removes Kindle Paperwhite ad | I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] recently polled my readers for their opinions about a new ad for the Kindle [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

