Avengers e-ssemble! Marvel gives away 700 e-comic #1s…but only through Tuesday

Avengers e-ssemble! Marvel gives away 700 e-comic #1s…but only through Tuesday

I wanted to get this out to you right away, but I haven’t quite worked out reading them on the Kindle Fire yet (but I do think it will be possible).

Marvel is making a real effort to embrace the digital age, and as part of that, they are giving away 700 (!) #1 comics through  Tuesday.

If you want to get all 700 (and they typically cost a couple of bucks or more), I know you’ll have to get busy, so I’m sending this before I’ve worked out a possible process to legally read them on the Fire.

According to this

Huffington Post article

the comics will go back into the “Silver Age” of the 1960s. Do they have the original grey (instead of green) Incredible Hulk? I’m not sure yet. :)

I have an Android SmartPhone that Google Play will recognize (in addition to my Fire), so I first downloaded the Marvel Comics app

here from the Marvel site

That got it installed to my phone.

My next step will be to start downloading issues. It does appear to me that Marvel stores the issues for you, so what I’m hoping to do is download one so I own it…then remove it from my device. Digital comics tend to take up a lot of memory, and I don’t want 700 downloaded!

I’ll see if I can download the Marvel Comics app from 1Mobile, which I’ve used before on my Fire.  Here’s the link for that

Marvel Comics at 1Mobile

Actually, yes, I was successful in that!

Let me be clear on this, that you are taking responsibility when you install an app from an “unknown source” on your Kindle Fire. I only do it with apps where I am comfortable with the source, as in this case.

Okay, I’m skipping the phone for now. :) I’m downloading Avengers #1 from September 11, 1963.

Hm…when I tried it, it told me that

“Sorry, the billing service is not available at this time. Please try your purchase again later.”

Back to the phone…it appears (not surprisingly) that I need a Marvel Comics account first, and need to be signed into it.

I’ll experiment more with this later, and update the post…although I’m guessing some of my readers may figure it out before that, and I’ll post their comments if they make them here. :)

I’m not a huge Marvel fan (I was a DC reader as a kid), but I’m hoping this will work! :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

7 Responses to “Avengers e-ssemble! Marvel gives away 700 e-comic #1s…but only through Tuesday”

  1. jjhitt Says:

    Others were having problems as well…

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/comic-riffs/post/when-comics-crash-the-internet-comixology-site-downed-by-marvel-offer-for-700-free-digital-comics/2013/03/11/f308a01e-8a72-11e2-98d9-3012c1cd8d1e_blog.html

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jhitt!

      Interesting, I appreciate that. I did try the Comixology app as well, with no luck. I’ve written to Marvel also. The weird part is that I can sign into the account on my PC, but not my phone or Fire. I may have better luck later, since I’m on the West Coast, and traffic slows down here when much of the East Coast goes to bed. :)

  2. jjhitt Says:

    More…

    A Message From The CEO
    Posted on March 11th, 2013 – 16:07 PM by David Steinberger

    To our customers:

    It’s been a whirlwind weekend, and we’re fresh from SXSW where Marvel Comics launched their Marvel #1 promotion featuring over 700 free comics distributed via our platform.

    We expected a high degree of excitement for the Marvel initiative – and had believed ourselves prepared – but unfortunately we became overwhelmed by the immense response. We’re still struggling to keep our systems up.

    The result is that you aren’t getting your comics when and where you want.

    We don’t like letting you down. Our teams are working around the clock to resolve these issues so that you can have the experience you’ve come to expect.

    To that end, we’re pausing the Marvel Comics #1 promotion for the time being. For those of you that want to take advantage of the offer – you will get your comics! Until we are able to reinstate this program in our systems, please click here and fill out this simple form, so you can be informed as soon as there is an update.

    We’ll be communicating with you as often as we can and deeply appreciate the outpouring of support we’ve seen from our customers while we right the ship.

    David Steinberger
    CEO and co-founder
    comiXology

    Source:

    http://blog.comixology.com/2013/03/11/message-from-the-ceo/

  3. jjhitt Says:

    The only superhero I ever followed was Batman, and I dropped that when I realized he was probably a Republican.

    Then, as now, I gravitated towards horror comics, which neither DC or Marvel has ever done very well or with much commitment.

    But then, I’m old enough to remember girl’s “romance” comics.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jjhitt!

      I was more of a DC comics reader, although Batman wasn’t a fave for me in the comics (on TV, yes). I guess I liked some of the quirkier folks: Animal Man, the Elongated Man, Dial H for Hero, Metamorpho, the Metal Men, Challengers of the Unknown…and Herbie (not from DC). I did follow Superman.

      Stan Lee might have been involved with creating Millie the Model (although there is a bit of debate about that, I think). I have to say, there are manga series that fill that same sort of niche…Boys Over Flowers comes to mind.

      Oh, and I read Creepy… ;)

  4. Do this now: reserve a spot to download Marvel’s free 700 | I Love My Kindle Says:

    [...] Avengers e-ssemble! Marvel gives away 700 e-comic #1s…but only through Tuesday [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,314 other followers

