Kindle Fire 8.9″ launches in Europe and Japan: prices drop for the USA

Kindle Fire 8.9″ launches in Europe and Japan: prices drop for the USA

In this

Amazon press release

they are announcing that the larger, 8.9″ Kindle Fire is being released in Europe (UK, Germany, France, Italy, and Spain) and Japan.

For customers in the USA, the price is also being reduced.

Kindle Fire HD 8.9″, Dolby Audio, Dual-Band Wi-Fi, 16 GB – Includes Special Offers now $269 (down from $299): without Special Offers, $284…the 32 GB model is $299 with Special Offers $314 without

Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ 4G LTE Wireless 32GB (which has both wi-fi and a cellphone like access to the internet),  has gone down to $399 (from $499) for the 32GB model with Special Offers, $414 without Special Offers and 32GB, $499 for 64GB with Special Offers, $514 for 64GB without Special Offers.

This is a considerable price drop!

The smaller models seem to be the same: $199 for Kindle Fire HD, and $159 for the Kindle Fire (not HD).

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

5 Responses to “Kindle Fire 8.9″ launches in Europe and Japan: prices drop for the USA”

  1. tellthetruth1 Says:

    Just had a look – yes, the big one is now available here in England. I bought a spare off my mate last weekend so I’ve got two of the 7″ type, now. Well, I can love another one, can’t I? ;-) The 8.9 is £229 on the UK Amazon site. Wonder when that turned up? I only knew about it from your page here.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, tellthetruth1!

      Well, I’m guessing it happened today…I think their press release was probably pretty close to the day it happened. :)

  2. Angelo B. Says:

    Bufo, what do you think is the meaning of the price cuts? Are there new models on the way? Are sales so sluggish to warrant a price drop? Do you have any inside info to share? Curious as to your thoughts.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Angelo!

      I don’t think that it’s slow sales that prompted a price reduction. Even though these aren’t top 5 electronics items at Amazon, the profit from them very likely comes from things other than the hardware sale. I think it’s more likely to be what was hinted in the press release: economy of scale. There may be a relative rush of purchasing in Europe and Japan (although the latter may certainly be more muted), and that helps support the line generally.

      I don’t get inside info about sales, although I do occasionally hear things about software…

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Had the smaller KF’s already been available in these geographies?

    As to why the price dropped, the press release says that the expansion to other markets results in increased manufacturing volumes, which leads to economies of scale: hence the price reductions. I do wonder how the KF89 has been doing — there have been several limited time price reductions for this kindle, which suggest to me that perhaps it’s not selling as well as they might want?

    My 32GB KF89 cost $369; it’s now $299 less than 6 months after it was announced, and about 4 months after it was first delivered. I’m reminded of the uproar some time back when Apple reduced the price of an iPhone (I think could’ve been an iPad) shortly after announcement. Apple was forced to offer concessions to early purchasers as a result. Personally, I’m not complaining — I’m happy with mine, and the price I paid for it, but I wonder if everyone will feel the same?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,297 other followers

