Ready for a newer Kindle? Amazon’s trade-in program

Ready for a newer Kindle? Amazon’s trade-in program

Amazon has recently released a new Kindle Paperwhite, and has announced the third generation of Kindle Fires, including the Kindle HDX line.

As is often the case with electronics, the newer ones do more and/or cost less.

A lot of people want to be able to trade-in their older model to get a discount on the newer one.

Well, you can sort of do that through Amazon, and I’m going to tell you how.

First, though, let me say this. When I buy an electronic, I make a judgement at that time that the device is at a reasonable price for me. I honestly don’t get upset if a new one gets announced shortly after that that’s a better deal. If it was worth $100 to me when I bought it, it’s still worth $100 to me…even if somebody else gets more bells and whistles for $50. I’m happy for them, but I still feel like I made a good decision with the information I had.

Now, the other thing I’d say is that you might want to consider keeping the older Kindle “in the family” (or with a friend, or coworker). If you keep it on your account, and can give it somebody you trust, you are increasing your buying power. That’s due to the fact that Kindle store e-books have “simultaneous device licenses”. Unless it says otherwise on the book’s Amazon product page, six devices (Kindles and/or reading apps) can license the book at the same time.

Let’s look at this scenario.

Brix, Styx, and Straw are all band-mates in a combo called The 3 Little Pigz.

They could either have three separate Amazon accounts or share one.

They all want to read the same book, which costs $9.99.

If they have separate accounts (and if the book isn’t lendable, which is often the case), they’d have to pay $29.97 as a group (each one paying $9.99).

If the three of them are on the same account, they can pay $9.99 as a group ($3.33 each) and still all read that same book at the same time (usually).

For that $29.97, they can all read three $9.99 books on the same account: increased purchasing power.

Obviously, you need to be able to trust each other, although you can work on conditions. Not everybody needs the password for the account: you can buy books without that. I’ve written about “Kindle Klubs” before, and I might do it again, but for the purposes of this post, I think you get the idea.

Okay, but what happens if you do decide you want to get rid of last year’s (or 2007′s) model and get the newer one?

You could recycle your Kindle: Amazon will send you a pre-paid mailing label, so they make it easy.

You could donate it somewhere, or give it away.

You could sell it on eBay, or somewhere like that. I really do caution people about buying Kindles from strangers, though. The device could be stolen, and the person selling it to you might not even know that. If it stolen, you could end up out the device and the money you paid for it. Plus, you have to deal with the shipping and the “customer service”.

A simpler solution then selling it yourself is to use the

Amazon Trade-In Program

You probably won’t get as much value for it as you would doing it yourself, and you won’t get money for it…you’ll get an Amazon gift card.

Still, there’s something to be said for doing it the easy way. ;)

This isn’t exactly trading in your Kindle 2 for a Kindle Paperwhite 2. What happens is that you sell your Kindle to a third party through Amazon, and you get an Amazon gift card…which you could then spend on that Paperwhite 2.

You have to grade your device, and it has to be what you say it is.

How much can you get for it?

Remember, that depends in part on what the condition is. My Kindles are typically in quite good condition…I ¬†usually keep them in covers, and I’m a pretty careful person (you typically couldn’t tell a paperbook had been read when I finished it).

These are subject to change at any time…even the models that they want might change.

What I’m going to list for you right now is only as of writing: if you go to the

Amazon Kindle Trade-In page

you’ll be able to figure out there what it is worth when you are ready for the trade-in.

With that said, here are a few of the 39 listings at time of writing

  • Kindle Fire HD 7″: up to $81.50
  • Mindle: up to $23.85
  • Kindle Fire 2nd generation non-HD: up to $46.75
  • Kindle Fire 8.9″ HD (wi-fi only): up to $128.25
  • Kindle Paperwhite (wi-fi only): up $70.25
  • Kindle DX: up to $93.75
  • Kindle Fire 1st generation: up to $40.00
  • Kindle Keyboard (Kindle 3): up to $27
  • First generation Kindle (2007 model): up to $10
  • Kindle 2: up to $27

As I’m looking at those prices, that really isn’t too bad. Instead of $119 for the new Kindle Paperwhite 2, you could pay net (after applying your gift card to your account) $48.75.

Now, some of these prices may look weird to you when you look at them. For example, a model with 3G and wi-fi may get you the same as a model with just wi-fi.

I’m sure it has to do with demand. Remember, this is not Amazon buying it back…it’s another company, NorAm International. It isn’t Amazon rewarding you for your loyalty, or compensating you based on what you paid. Amazon is facilitating the deal between you and NorAm. I think it’s great that Amazon does that, but it is going to be what the market will bear.

It’s worth mentioning also that Amazon has a generous

Kindle return policy

within the first 30 days of purchase. If you just ordered one and a new one is announced, you could return the one you bought when you got it and then buy the new one. Amazon knows that’s a hassle for both of you: if you recently bought one, contact Amazon at

http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

and see what they can do. If it’s in time, they might be able to switch you to the new one.

I like to keep my Kindles around for reference, and it makes sense with this blog and the other things I’ve written. That certainly may not be true for you, though, so it’s nice that the trade-in option is there.

Thanks to reader Phink who commented recently mentioning the program…I had planned to write about it, but I appreciated the nudge and effort to helpfully inform others. It helped convince this would be a good post to do. :)

What do you think? Have ever traded in anything at Amazon? How did it go? Do you keep your old Kindles? Actually, let me do a quick poll on that:

Have other thoughts? Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

2 Responses to “Ready for a newer Kindle? Amazon’s trade-in program”

  1. Tracey Says:

    As a kindergarten teacher, I just wanted to make a suggestion that if you are looking to donate a Kindle, Kindle Fire (or any electronic device along that line), most teachers would be thrilled to get them. Most won’t even care if it is an older model. Some people might prefer seeing a little more use out of an outdated electronic as opposed to just recycling it. Just a thought! :)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tracey!

      It’s a good suggestion. :) As you might have noticed, about three times as many people said they donated their old Kindle as said that they recycled it (so far) in the poll.

      I bought a new one specifically to donate, although mine went to an underprivileged youth program. I bought it with royalties from an article which I would make available for free in the Kindle store if I could.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,288 other followers

