Downloading Prime Videos

Downloading Prime Videos

Note: this post will only practical application for readers who have or will have one of three Kindle Fire models from Amazon (the 2nd generation Kindle Fire HD 7″, the Kindle Fire HDX 7″, and the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″). It is possible that it will apply to other models in the future, but there is currently no indication that earlier model Kindle Fires will get this ability. It is dependent on the new operating system, Mojito (Amazon says, “…exclusive new features of Fire OS 3.0 including X-Ray for Music, Second Screen, Prime Instant Video downloads, and the revolutionary new Mayday button.”).  Although it is being advertised along side the other three, the Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ has not been updated, and does not have the new operating system. Some topics of interest to smaller groups do require a longer post such as this. For example, I do “menu maps” for individual models. I will include something at the end of this post of interest for those who do not have or plan on having Mojito devices, and I’ll do another post pretty quickly. I try to keep the post topics diverse, so that everyone can get something valuable to them out of the blog at least every few days.

When I’m disconnected from the internet, I can get a bit antsy. I refer to it as being “web-blind”. ;)

When your Kindle Fire is disconnected from the web, it’s a very different device. It can’t update the weather for you, or download books…or stream movies.

That last one has made things interesting when I’ve been traveling on planes.

We have

Amazon Prime

in our family.

Yes, we pay Amazon $79 a year…to get stuff from Amazon. :)

We didn’t have it for quite a while, although we had been Amazon customers.

I would do the calculations, and we weren’t spending nearly $79 a year in shipping. We could often wait until we had $25 in one order, and we got a lot of things through

Subscribe & Save

which meant not only free shipping, but 15% off.

It just didn’t seem worth it.

What got us to try it?

Getting the first generation Kindle Fire.

It came with a month free…and during that month, we were hooked.

At this point, I’m still just talking about the free 2-day shipping on many items.

Let me give you a weird example.

We have a collapsible laundry basket. It folds up flat, and then springs open.

I was carrying it, and the second strap on it finally broke (we’d had it for years).

Sure, we could have started looking around on the weekend at Target and such, to see if they had it.

My Significant Other, though, suggested checking Amazon.

They had an equivalent, available through Prime:

Bajer Design& Marketing 5234 Ez Fold’r Laun Basket [Misc.]

It was delivered to our door, before the weekend even got here.

That saves time and effort…and it was probably cheaper than we would have paid if we could have found it in a store.

So, just based on shipping, Prime has been worth that $79 to us.

There are, though, two other substantial benefits to Prime.

One is the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library (KOLL), which lets you borrow up to a book a month at no additional cost (you do have to also have a hardware Kindle…a Kindle Fire counts).  I do that every month, but I probably wouldn’t have Prime just for that.

The other one is Prime videos.

I used to always say “Prime streaming videos”, because you could only watch them when you were connected and streaming.

Now, though, that’s changing…at least for Kindle Fire devices with the new Mojito operating system (the 2nd generation Kindle Fire HD 7″, the Kindle Fire HDX 7″, and the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″).

People with those devices will be able to download the videos, storing them on their devices and watching them without the benefit of an internet connection…on a plane, as I mentioned above, or in the car (not the driver, of course), on a camping trip…wherever.

At least one of my readers is already doing it with the 2nd gen Kindle Fire HD, and I think some people are going to really like this.

My guess is that it wasn’t an easy negotiation for Amazon with the rightsholders.

The license to stream is quite different from the license to download. Those conveniences I cited above are worth money.

The real question: why would people buy a movie or TV show if they can download it without buying it?

The answer is that there are limitations (even disregarding the $79 a year you pay for Prime).

That’s what I’m going to detail in this post:

  • A title can only be downloaded to two devices on your account at a time.  Let’s say you figure you’ll watch Beetlejuice for Halloween. If you download it to your Fire, and your kid downloads it to their Fire, nobody else on the account can download it until one of you deletes it. This, by the way, is actually more flexible than when you are streaming it…you can only stream a given title to one device at a time
  • You can only download 25 titles at a time to all of the devices on your account. That seems like a lot to me, but I can see how a family on a wi-fi free vacation could hit that limit
  • You have a limited time to watch them. Amazon says, ” A typical viewing period is either 48 hours after you start watching the title or 15 or 30 days after the download, whichever is earlier.” That’s one thing that really keeps you from using this as a substitute to owning them. It’s not like a Tivo, where you could hypothetically keep an episode you recorded until the device died. Don’t start watching something until you have time to finish it in the next two days…or you might not get to finish it
  • If you stop being a Prime member, you will not be able to watch Prime videos…even if you’ve downloaded them. That’s different if you bought them or rented them (which isn’t done through Prime). I suspect this may catch some people off guard when they cancel after their first free month. I’ll be many of them will renew pretty quickly if a family member was halfway through a movie (or TV season) and puts the pressure on!
  • Not every video is available for download, and which ones are will keep changing. I’m assuming here that the ones that say they are available for download when renting are probably available for download through Prime if they are Prime available (I’ll test that when I get my Kindle Fire HDX, which is coming in a week…if somebody tests it before then and reports back, great!).

At this point, I don’t see a way to know for sure if a title can be downloaded through Prime. You may have to be on your Mojito device to be able to tell. Every movie and TV show I checked said that purchase rights included downloading…but those may not be the same as Prime downloads. Again, if one of my readers can check back and tell me how they can tell if one is available for download or not to their Kindle Fire HD 7″ 2nd gen, I’d appreciate it.

This is one more way to get you to be a Prime member…which is one more way to get you to buy of those profitable physical goods (diapers and windshield wipers) from Amazon. :)

Bonus deal:

The

The Big Deal

from Amazon has more than 350 books at up to 80% off! There are usually some good bargains when they do these…this one goes through October 27th. Do check the price before you hit that “Buy” button. Books can do in and out of the deal, and this may not apply in your country. I’m going to work my way through those and see what I can find. :) If you see anything that stands out to you, feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Update: thanks to reader Ana for pointing out that the “The Big Deal” link wasn’t working. It’s weird because Amazon provided that link to me. However, I was able to make it work by linking to the second page of the list, rather than the first. At the bottom of the page, you should be able to go back to page 1, so you don’t miss any.

his post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

10 Responses to “Downloading Prime Videos”

  1. Ana Says:

    The Big Deal link does not work. Thanks for all the work you put into your posts.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ana!

      Thanks for letting me know! That is so weird, because Amazon builds the link for me automatically.

      I tried recreating it a couple of ways, and it didn’t work…but I was able to make it work linking to page 2 of the list. =:o

      Try it again, and it should work for you.

      • Danny Dunne Says:

        I discovered that Team of Rivals is listed for only $4.99–truly a bargain price! Not sure this discovery fits this post, but thought it was worthy of mention.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Danny!

        Unfortunately, the publisher (Simon & Schuster) has inserted code into that book to block text-to-speech access, so I won’t link to it here, but I’m sure some of my readers will appreciate the heads up.

  2. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo! On my 2nd Generation KFHD it’s easy to determine which Prime videos are able to be downloaded. For movies, when you go to the page with the description, if it’s able to be downloaded then under “Watch Now” is the option labeled as “Download”. For t.v. shows, if the episode is downloadable there is an arrow pointing down, in a circle, to the left of the “Play” button.
    Thanks for sharing the specifics ‘re time limits!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      Sounds like it will be easy to tell. :) I’ll do some analysis on what is and isn’t available after I get mine.

      I was thinking I’d download them and watch them on our “second TV”, but that’s not going to work as a plan initially. With no HDMI out, I can’t connect it or use my mini-projector.

      I’m guessing that Amazon will solve that pretty quickly…

      • Judy Schechter Says:

        You’re welcome, Bufo!
        It turns out that I’m returning the 2nd Generation KFHD because my lovely parents just pre-ordered the Kindle Fire HDX, 7″, 16 GB model for me! HOORAY! The wait is tough; it won’t arrive until the 30th..

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Judy!

        Kudos to your parents!

        Of course, that means I won’t have my field tester for a while. ;) Actually, you have thirty days to return it, so you might not have to go without a Kindle Fire…

      • Judy Schechter Says:

        Oh Bufo, I could never be without a Kindle!! Luckily I get to keep my first gen KFHD too! Its the best of both worlds, and I will still have the HDMI port. I’m a happy camper. Can’t wait to test out the Mayday feature! :D

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Judy!

        Good to hear! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

