Kindle Fire HDX first impressions

Kindle Fire HDX first impressions

It’s here!

First, the packaging was like no Kindle before it. I knew that it had arrived (I get text alerts from Amazon), and that my Significant Other would be home before me. I had texted my SO to bring in the boxes, but there was no box…just an envelope. Inside, the  Kindle Fire HDX 7″, HDX Display, Wi-Fi, 16 GB – Includes Special Offers and the Amazon Kindle Fire HDX Standing Polyurethane Origami Case (will only fit Kindle Fire HDX 7″), Purple were in clear plastic envelopes.

Update: added picture

20131018_180302

Inside that, the KFHDX itself was in something like an old videocasette slip cover box: slide off a sleeve, then open the cardboard box (after easily removing a label).

There was a one page instruction card to get it started, which was easy (the power button operation was smooth, light to the touch, unlike previous Kindle Fires). It booted up in a couple of seconds.

Wow! Even locked, the image is much clearer and brighter than on my  Kindle Fire HD 8.9″, Dolby Audio, Dual-Band Wi-Fi, 16 GB – Includes Special Offers. Really nice! It displays the date and time (which isn’t correct yet) and the battery status (both with an icon and a percentage) while still locked! That’s very handy.

Unlocking it (with a swipe, just like previous Kindle Fires, my first choice was to pick a language. I had the choices of

  • Deutsch
  • English (United Kingdom)
  • English (United States)
  • Espanol
  • Francais
  • Italiano
  • Japanese (I think)
  • Portugues
  • Simplified Chinese (I think)

I tapped one to check it, then clicked a Continue button (hm…that could have more easily been automatic, but no big deal).

It then showed detected wi-fi networks. I entered my password, and I was ready to go.

It asked me to confirm my account, showing me my name. I did (by hitting Continue). It then said “Loading. Please wait…” I’d say that took something like a minute to load.

Oh-oh! First problem!

It said something that it was registered, but I got an error message:

“Unknown Error. Unfortunately w encountered an error while trying to update your Kindle software. If you encounter problems in using your Kindle please contact Kinde Customer Service at http://www.kindle.com/support.”;

Well, it had asked me to plug the Kindle in to power, and I hadn’t done that yet. I plugged it in (it was a bit hard to figure out how to get the charger into the Kindle itself…it goes in at an angle, not straight in…oh, and it comes with a nice small USB and wall charger, the kind where the USB plugs into a separate unit to go into the wall. That wall part has collapsible prongs, which makes it easier for traveling).

I clicked OK to the unknown error, and it started loading again.  After thirty seconds or so, the screen went black. It’s possible I touched the power button to something, but I think it had just cone to sleep. It woke up pretty quickly on a touch.

The next thing it wanted me to do was to connect it to Social Networks (if I chose to do that)…Facebook or Twitter.

Wow, this screen is sharp! It’s like a glossy magazine.

Hm…it doesn’t seem to be responding to my tapping.  I’m trying to tap Twitter, I’m trying to tap Next…nothing.

Oh, I see…I think I was supposed to tap Next at the top…that wasn’t intuitive.

It took me to a Facebook login: I canceled that. Then, I could tap Twitter, and that worked.

Now, it is taking me through the tutorial.

Okay, three screens, and it is up and running.

The Favorites appear on the screen: I don’t have to swipe up to see them.

The Carousel looks similar.

It seems to have my appropriate content.

The top line is the name of the Kindle, the time (now correct…it pulled it from the wi-fi network), my wi-fi signal (which seems very strong) and a battery indicator.

Then, I have in one row:

  • Search
  • Shop
  • Games
  • Apps
  • Books
  • Music
  • Videos
  • Newsstand
  • Audiobooks
  • Web
  • Photos
  • Docs
  • Offers

Search lets me search Libraries, Stores, Web. One slightly weird thing: I couldn’t see the “back arrow” while the keyboard was displayed. I had to hit a “hide keyboard” icon to get the back arrow. The libraries search included my Cloud, not just what was on the device.

The Shop looks different from the Kindle Fire HD…it changes images a lot, and the menu is translucent (you can see the images behind the menu. This is fancy looking, if a bit frenetic.

The Games also looks nicer.

Let’s just get this out of the way: the appearance is much smoother, much cooler than the Kindle Fire HD first generation.

The menu under Games  has

  • Games
  • Profile
  • Friends
  • Then a section for shopping, including GameCircle Games, Top Paid, Top Free, Top rated
  • Then Settings and Help

I changed a sort order: bang! This thing is fast!

I downloaded Angry Birds Star Wars Pemium HD…took under twenty seconds. It loaded very quickly as well.

The sound was at about a mid-level initially. It can get loud (I’ve seen other people concerned about the sound…doesn’t seem like a problem for me on this game).  The sound seems rich to me.

The display seems fast as well during the game. I can’t see someone comparing this to anything else and immediately thinking it was insufficient.

Interesting…I can’t seem to find the home button to get out of the game.

Yep…I seem to be trapped in the game, which is merrily playing. :)

Oh, I found something! I had to swipe from a right edge…although there was nothing at all to indicate that which I saw.

Whew!

Back to home.

Ah! I see. When I am in landscape mode (wider than tall), it shows me to swipe from the edge to open the navigation panel). I don’t think it showed me that after the game launched, though.

I downloaded a book (Hollowland (The Hollows, #1)) to check that out…maybe eight seconds for a novel.

That’s a bit odd…it gives me the option to play the “professional narration” (audiobook). I tried it, and it told me that “Professional narration is not available on this page”. That makes sense: I was on the cover. However, why offer it to me, then?

I have to say, I didn’t buy the audiobook for this book, so I’m not sure why I get it…oh, there’s a banner that is giving me an option to “Add professional narration”.

I think that has to mean that the sample (it identifies it as such now) must download with the book…that has to take up some memory!

For the book itself, on the top line, I get a

  • A menu button
  • View
  • X-Ray
  • Notes
  • Share
  • Bookmarks

The menu includes navigation and a way to get back to the “Books Library”. It shows me the cover and the name of the book and author. It has a tale of contents, and I can jump by chapter.

Ooh, scrolling down, that’s cool! I got an “About the  author”, and “Connect with Me Online” among other things.

The View lets me change the font size, but also choose color schemes (including white on black, which is important to some people).  I have border choices, and line spacing, and font choices.

Under More Settings, I can turn on Text-to-Speech (TTS), and turn on Popular Highlights (they defaulted to Off…yay!). For magazines, I can turn off “Page Curl”, which is available in “most titles”.

I turned on TTS, and it had the familiar voice of September Day.

This is enough for now…more later. :)

Just to sum up: it looks and sounds great! It wasn’t entirely intuitive, but pretty easy to use.

If you have any specific questions, let me know by commenting on this post. I’ll come back and expand this one, so that people without Fires don’t get a series of posts on it.

Speaking of which…bonus deal! M-Edge is having their first ever Warehouse Sale. There are some good deals there on Kindle covers.

Update: we have TTS in multiple languages! That’s important to many people, and we’ve never had it before.

Update; it did update itself…

Update: Using Mayday…I had a legitimate reason to use Mayday, the onscreen tech service. I tried to download National Geographic, and it got stuck in queue. So, I did Mayday…and it was just as promised! I had my tech rep onscreen shortly, and we could chat easily (I can the rep, the rep can’t see me). We fixed it (although I helped a bit) by clearing the cache and stopping the Appstore app. I also asked how to do a screenshot. The rep clearly consulted something, and confirmed that it was the same as on the Kindle Fire HD: power button and low volume button at the same time. We got to joke around a bit, and the rep said it was fun. :) The rep also demonstrated drawing on the screen. This is a “killer app” for the Kindle Fire (HDX and new HD…the ones with the Mojito operating system) for sure!

Update: Set up my e-mail…no problem.

Update: for other people with Kindle Fire HDXs: does your charger enter at a significant angle? Mine is a little bit hard to put in (not too hard), so I just want to make sure that this angle seems normal…I’d say it is on the order of thirty degrees or so, but I’m guessing on that.

Update: Please continue to ask me questions! :) I’ll update this post some more, but I’ve decided to write a quick guide to it, since there is so much that is new. I’m hoping to publish it within the next week…it’s just too much material to do here. What I will do is at least make some copies available for free here. There are a couple of ways to do that, and I’ll have to think about my choice.

Update: I can say now, you don’t have to compromise to get a great price! There is nothing here that feels like a compromise to me, in terms of a tablet. The speed has been great, the image is great, I like the sound. I suppose you could argue app availability, but given Amazon’s vast arrays of content, I don’t think that’s really a problem.

Update: the Kindle Fire HDX works perfectly…when not in its Origami cover. I have Maydayed this, and tested in and out. They are going to send me another Origami cover, so we can get an indication of whether it a case of individual variance in the covers, or something more systemic to the design. I like the device very much, so I’m happy that the random sleeping appears not to be the device, but the cover. It would happen while I had the KFHDX7 in a stand, by the way…it wasn’t a case of moving it around and accidentally affecting the power button. Let me say again how much I love Mayday! There has never been a better way to get Customer Service!

Update: I downloaded a Prime video. I have to say, it took a long time: at least half an hour for one episode (at the middle quality) of Sherlock. A Study in Pink is 88 minutes, and took up 1.65 GB of memory: that’s a lot! Not more than I might expect, but much more than anything of my other content on the device…for example, 68 songs are taking up 4.94 MB. That makes the episode (admittedly a long one)…close to 350 times as big as all those 68 songs.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

65 Responses to “Kindle Fire HDX first impressions”

  1. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo! I received my KFHDX today, and so far I like it The screen is bright and vibrant, but there’s a purple “frame” that shows when reading and surfing the internet. Lots of people are complaining about this on forums. Do you notice this purple fringe on your device? Maybe I should press the Mayday button, which by the way was absent when I took the device out of the box. But then it updated its software & proof, there it was! :D

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      Interesting! I can see something that might be purple on the edge of the book, but I do have some color vision deficiency (color blindness). My Significant (who doesn’t have that issue) says that all the words are highlighted in pale yellow, so the “purple” is the non-highlighted part. It certainly wouldn’t bother me, but maybe try a different color setting?

      Sure, ask Mayday: it was fun!

    • Linda Says:

      I click help and brought up mayday, but said wasnt availble, to call them for help. I was a little taken back by that. where is the mayday button. I don’t see it at the top

      • Linda Says:

        jeez I must get my eyes checked LOL. I bought this for my sister, so hadnt messed with it much. I just went and turned it on and saw it.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Linda!

        I’m glad you found it!

        I’m a little confused, though: did you click on Mayday before and it said it wasn’t available? Should be 24 hours a day…or did you click on something else for help?

      • Linda Says:

        I click on help in the menu section and it took me to another page, and said mayday not available at this time. If you need help call them. I haven’t clicked on it again to try it out

  2. Brian Davis Says:

    Do you know of any way to import/export bookmarks from the Silk browser on my Fire HD to my HDX? I have over 100 bookmarks and really don’t want to re-enter them manually!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Brian!

      Unfortunately, I don’t know of any easy way. That’s one of the main reasons I don’t use Silk much, as I wrote in this post:

      http://ilmk.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/why-i-dont-use-amazons-silk-browser/

      Two other reasons: no other platform use (like my desktop), and no privacy mode.

      After my Significant Other gets up, I’ll ask Mayday, just to see what they say.

      I installed Maxthon (my general browser of choice…it’s what I’m using right now) on my HDX: no problem, and all my bookmarks are available to me right away:

      http://www.maxthon.com

      Download the .apk, don’t click the big link (which will take you to Google Play. You need to allow the install of outside apps

      Swipe down from the top – Settings – Applications

      but it’s easy and free.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      I Maydayed it…they said there wasn’t a way to import your bookmarks in Silk.

  3. Ann Von Hagel Says:

    Re: purple frame — I think what Judy is seeing could maybe referred to as ‘light bleed’ from the sides. It is definitely less noticeable when reading using sepia or white on black. I didn’t notice it at all on the web, myself. And I don’t find it to be distracting — had to go looking for it.

    I haven’t found a way to import bookmarks — might be a good question for MayDay. FWIW, there also was no way to do so when going from the Original Fire to the HD’s last year.

    One other thing — it does not set your time Zone automatically — I’m on the east coast and while it pulled the time from the network, it thought it was in Seattle until I told it differently. Changing is easy though: under Date and Time in the Device section of settings.

    Oh — and mine came last week and was packaged as you describe, except it was also in a cardboard shipping box — the kind amazon uses if you buy one or two books.

    I’ve also tried downloading a Prime video: worked great — you can choose the resolution; better takes longer and takes up more space. I tried watching it while off line and it warns that I’m starting my 30 day ‘off line’ viewing period. It doesn’t seem to care if I’m on line.

    • Ann Von Hagel Says:

      Did a little more experimenting: I think the purple fringe that some notice is kind of like when you stare at four white squares and then realize you see a black dot in the middle of them — so an optical illusion sort of thing, rather than any defect in the lighting. The lower the brightness the less noticeable it is even on very white pages.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Ann!

        That helps! I keep my brightness quite low, which might be why I haven’t noticed it as much. I’ll play around with it more today.

        By the way, does your charger go into the Kindle Fire HDX straight, or at an angle?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ann!

      Yes, I’ve seen the “purple haze” now, but like you, I have to look for it to notice it.

      Mine did set my timezone automatically…once it was connected to the network. Mine wasn’t set to Seattle time when it arrived, by the way…that would have been okay for me. :)

      Downloading a Prime Video is on my list for the day. ;) Busy weekend, I think…

      • Ann Von Hagel Says:

        Yes, the charger does go in at an angle. I have the feeling it sort of copies the angle of the bevel at that point. Or maybe I just think it does. ;)

        It fits snuggly. I never had a problem previously but I had heard of folks commenting that they thought it was loose on earlier models.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Ann!

        Thanks! Yes, it may just take some getting used to the way it is inserted, I suppose. The power port isn’t actually on the bevel, but the mechanics inside might be affected by that, perhaps.

  4. Tuxgirl Says:

    There is an extremely good reason for requiring the continue button after choosing a language. Think about the number of people with paperwhite’s who accidentally tapped a language while setting up their paperwhite and couldn’t get back to English without help….

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tuxgirl!

      Yes, that’s a reasonable point. :) I was just thinking that somebody wouldn’t have picked it without meaning it, but that clearly happens, so you are right.

  5. connie Says:

    Does text to speech still have only one voice (Sali)?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, connie!

      Nope! That was one of the first things I updated in the post, I think, and it’s a great thing!

      The way it works is that you download a voice if you want it available…these voices are big, so they naturally don’t put all of them on there automatically.

      Swipe down from the top and choose Settings – Device – Text-to-Speech.

      You can choose:

      * English (Australia) Nicole
      * English (Australia) Russell
      * English (United Kingdom) Amy
      * English (United Kingdom) Brian
      * English (United States) Joey
      * English (United States) Salli (installed by default)
      * French (Canada) Chantal
      * French (France) Mathieu
      * German (Germany Marlene
      * German (Germany) Soho—-hans
      * Italian (Italy) Carla
      * Italian (Italy) Giorgio
      * Portuguese (Brazil) Ricardo
      * Portuguese (Brazil) Vitoria
      * Russian (Russia) Tatyana
      * Spanish (Spain) Conchita
      * Spanish (Spain) Enrique

      After you download it, you can choose your default voice. I didn’t see a way to switch it on the fly.

      • connie Says:

        Fantastic. Brian, Amy and Joey are my favorites. Is there a charge for them?

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Nope, no charge. :)

        I’ve been experimenting, though, and I don’t think you can have the Russian voice read English, for example: that would have been fun. ;)

  6. tom Says:

    Hi Bufo,
    Thoughts on cover? Does it cover up the speakers sound? As far as the purple border I saw it in a review last week which concerned me and I also have it. Thought I.would give it a few weeks.and see.if it’s.a new screen thing?
    I contacted May day with a shuffle music issue. After selecting songs shuffle all it couldn’t find the.next song. I reported this on the previous HD. It was nice actually showing the.support person the.issue. Hoping it allows developers to better troubleshoot defects.

    Yes the usb comes up at an odd angle. :)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, tom!

      I’ve really liked the design of the cover, but it appears that it may be causing the Kindle Fire to go to sleep at odd times. I’m experimenting with that right now for Mayday, and I’ll be reporting back to them. I’m glad it appears to be the cover and not the device itself.

      As to the sound: some commenters have said it doesn’t seem to be as loud as the previous model, and I’m not finding that. Even in the cover, it seems loud enough to me.

  7. Becky Says:

    Hi, the purple fringe is very noticeable on my new HDX, and easily a quarter-inch wide. I find it extremely annoying and am worried it will grow. This is a shame, as I adore this thing, otherwise. :-( it’s a Thousand times better than the original Fire, which was so clunky and unresponsive that I simply gave up and stuffed it in drawer after about six months…

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Becky!

      I can guarantee you that Amazon knows about the concern. When I see it at all, I don’t think it’s near a quarter inch. It’s possible it will go away after a while, of course…that may be as likely as it growing. :)

      I agree: much, much better than the KF 1st gen, and even than the HD 1st gen.

  8. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo!
    I can’t get over how gorgeous the display is (not counting the purple/blue haze of course). It’s so clear and vibrant, there was no comparison when I watched the same video on both the HDX and the 2012 KFHD simultaneously. And I had only used the “Good” download option. I haven’t tried the “Best” option yet, but I can’t imagine how it could be even more exquisite than what I’ve seen so far!
    When I plug in the USB charger it’s very tight and hard to pull out, compared to the 2012 KFHD which is extremely loose.
    I installed both the Maxthon & Dolphin browsers, and I love that with Dolphin, I can pick a pretty purple background ( I think it’s called “The Sea”). Of course as soon as I exit it, I’m brought back to the ugly carousel.
    All in all, I’m loving this device! After holding this one, the 1st gen KFHD feels like a brick!! :D

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      I haven’t tried a side by side yet, but the 1st Gen Kindle Fire always felt heavy to me.

      I have installed Maxthon and Zinio, but I’ve never really gotten into Dolphin (although I have tried it).

  9. Round up #212: writers’ advice on writing, 20% off code on Kindle Fire refurbs | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] My experience with the Kindle Fire HDX so far is that it is quite superior to the earlier model Fires (I’ve owned both the first gen and an HD). It’s faster, it looks better, and there are some significant interface improvements (one of my favorite things is that you can see a summary of your e-mails before you even go to the app…it’s like a little digest). […]

  10. Jerry Says:

    Received mine Friday. Really impressive. Mine is without ads and is there a way to change the lock screen image (movie reels)?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jerry!

      It should rotate through lock screens…I think you’ll find that it does as you put it to sleep and wake it up. Try pushing the power button a few times and see if it doesn’t change.

      As to setting your own lockscreen image, that’s not an option Amazon gives you with it.

  11. liz Says:

    My HDX was shipped in a big box together with some Subscribe & Save items, so I didn’t see it at first (was hiding under some Tiger Balm patches!). I’m glad that I read your review first – it helped me get through the packaging quickly without damaging the outer box :) . I’m also glad I saw that you survived that “unknown error” message – I got the same message, but everything worked just fine after I clicked OK. Strange…

    I love the look and feel of this unit compared with my Fire 1.0 and 8.9HD – this is going to be the one I reach for first! The bevel on the backside makes holding it much more comfortable, and it’s so much lighter, it’s not painful to hang on to for long periods of time.

    I just got a chance to try out MayDay, which I didn’t really expect to need, but it was so nice to chat with a very nice helpful guy who not only guided me through my problem, but also offered to help show me other tips (he didn’t rush me to hang up). And it saved me so much time; otherwise, it might have taken me an hour to find what I was trying to find. I admit, I was a little shy about clicking on the help button at first, but that was such a great experience, I can see that it will be used again. And I’m glad he couldn’t see my messy hair! :)

    Oh, and I know others have already answered this, but I also have an angled power cord, which is a bit odd. I wonder if it has anything to do with the case? I didn’t buy a case yet – waiting for your review! I’m not thrilled with the upward angle and wonder how long it will take for it to be accidentally snagged, since the cord is sticking up in the air even when the Fire is flat on a desktop.

    One more thing – I purchased the Marware screen protector, since I’ve somehow managed to lightly scratch every single Gorilla glass screen I’ve ever had, even though I consider myself to be careful with my stuff; this screen protector is the most oliophilic (grease-loving) screen protector I’ve ever used. And it really didn’t want to stick to the Fire screen, so I’m a little concerned about how long it will last. But hopefully it will keep scratches off my pretty screen!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, liz!

      I’m glad my information was helpful for you!

      I should have my replacement Origami cover today, and then I’ll know if it was individual variance or a systemic problem that apparently makes the case cause my KFHDX7 to go to sleep inappropriately. If it was an individual problem, I’d give the case a great review! I like the slimness of it, and the gadgety nature. I’d like a little more variety in the viewing angle, but it’s fine the way it is.

      If the second one has the same problem as the first one, that’s different…

      I agree that this is my go to tablet! So much nicer than the earlier ones.

  12. Ruby Says:

    Amazon’s response to the blue around the edges has been inserted near the top of the HDX page and states:

    We want you to know…

    The Kindle Fire HDX 7″ has perfect color accuracy (100% sRGB), and we wanted to share more details around our display design decisions that helped us achieve this.

    You may notice a very narrow, faint blue tint around the edge of the device when looking at items with a white background, such as books or web pages. All displays have some level of light emission around the edges, and the light on the Kindle Fire HDX 7″ is blue due to the technology used to render perfect color accuracy. Most LCD displays use white LEDs, and then apply filters to extract the desired color. The result is oftentimes a compromise to tone and color accuracy, or—if attempting to address these compromises—an increase in battery consumption and, thus, device weight.

    We’ve taken a different approach. To achieve the perfect color accuracy on Kindle Fire HDX 7″ at the lowest possible battery consumption and device weight, we used blue, not white, LEDs. Blue LEDs allow for a much more accurate and rich representation of color and result in an up to 20% improvement in power efficiency.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ruby!

      They didn’t make that obvious: it’s in a link on the page.

      As Maxwell Smart would say, “The old it’s-not-a-glitch-it’s-a-feature trick!” ;)

      I’m surprised it bothers people as much as it does. I’ve only seen it in places where color doesn’t matter…it’s not in games or videos, from what I’ve seen. However, I always have to go back to the fact that I”m not a good judge of that, due to some color vision deficiency.

  13. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo! Now that Amazon has added an explanation ‘re the blue/purple haze to the product page we are all screwed! They’ll never send free replacements now. I don’t believe them because not every single device has this problem..

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      It doesn’t bother me that it’s there, but if you don’t like it then, yes, it seems unlikely you’ll get a free replacement.

      I’m curious: how do you know every device doesn’t have it? I suspect a lot of people just don’t notice it, especially people with color vision issues…and there are a lot of us out there! My understanding it that it may be as high as ten percent of males, and females have it as well (certain types). If more than that number of KFHDXs are reported as not having the problem, then we could eliminate that…

      • Judy Schechter Says:

        Bufo, a few people on an Amazon Forum said they saw 2 HDXs side by side at Best Buy and only one of them had the blue haze. Of course, I’m not taking that to mean that only 50% of devices have this “defect”. My friend can’t see it on my device, so maybe it’s a matter of degree plus one’s eyesight..

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Judy!

        If they were viewing the same thing on both of them, that would be a good indicator of individual variance, certainly.

  14. Oldie Suzanne Says:

    These sorts of issues are why I am slowly losing faith in Amazon as a company and why Amazon.com is nowhere near my first “go-to” place when shopping. The blotches on the original Kindle Paperwhite followed by the contradictory explanations dished out by customer service long after the issue surfaced (“the way its supposed to be” my Aunt Fanny) and the equally bad replacements sent out to complaining customers are now apparently repeating itself on this newest Fire. Amazon is obviously seeking to put a stop to what would be an increasing round of replacements and returns by this statement. Funny how the blue/purple edges were not mentioned when the item went up for pre-order.

    I don’t believe them either; this is a defect pure and simple. The second one (after the original Paperwhite) in a year. In any other company, one would shrug their shoulders; in Amazon this is shameful.

  15. CJ Allan Says:

    Bufo,

    You may remember that I ordered my Fire HDX 8.9″ just a few hours after you ordered your 7″.

    It was promised to be shipped today, November 7, but, apparently because I ordered so early, mine has already left the UPS facility in my town… and is “out for delivery”… so it should be here later today.

    If I’m the first to report, let me know what you want me to check.

    But… on an earlier subject…

    For your bag of good deeds for Amazon. you can add the fact that it was your mention of the speech of the Fire HD 7″ that caused me to drop everything and order it immediately (my 5th Kindle).

    But I’m having a problem… the reason I originally came on here today…

    I’ve synced my Fire HD 7″ with Google calendar… to include a list of “take your medicine NOW!” alerts (I just had eye surgery)… and Notifications seems to be turned on, but it’s not doing anything to notify me.

    I searched here before I asked… to see if you had discussed it before.

    Have you heard anything about that problem?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, CJ!

      Congratulations on your upcoming Fire! The only thing that is really operationally different is having the second camera…if you gave a report on that (controls, in particular), that would be great!

      I’d never really gotten the Kindle Fires to do much with notifications. There are settings under sounds, but, for example, TextPlus would never make a noise when I got a text.

      When you get your 8.9″, maybe ask Mayday…I’m guessing they can advise you on the KHD7, or show you how to set it up on the KFHDX8.9..if it’s really possible.

      Let me know what you hear…literally, in this case. ;)

  16. Lesley A. Collins Says:

    Any news on the Origami case? Mine has the same problem.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lesley!

      I would say there definitely was an improvement in the second case. However, I’ve also learned not to fold the cover all the way behind it: that seems to exacerbate it. While that seems like a natural thing to do, I’m not sure that’s the design. Having both magnetic surfaces (the back of the cover and the front) stacked behind it might be a bit too much.

      That’s working for me. :)

  17. Brian Says:

    Cannot find a way to manually update apps on the HEX like I could on the HD

  18. RXman3286 Says:

    Love my Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 also, only issue I have is with Zino. I’ve installed it twice and both times it installs but when I want to open it, it balks and says not compatible. Wondering how a lot of you got Zino to work

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, RXman3286!

      It’s been working fine on my 7″ Kindle Fire HDX. That’s similar, but might not be exactly the same. Did you get it from here?

      http://imgs.zinio.com/faq/kindlefire.html

      • RXman3286 Says:

        Thats what my problem was! I was downloading from imobile and getting the error message. With the site you gave me at Zinio, it’s working like a charm! Thanks Bufo Calvin!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, RXman3286!

        Great! I’m glad I could help. :)

        I think you’d just gotten a version of the reader that was intended for some other device from that 3rd party site. I use Zinio myself.

  19. RXman3286 Says:

    One more question _ has anyone had a problem with the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 freezing? If I don’t reboot mine every 3-4 days, it will freeze and even lockup at times when I turn wireless from off to on. I then have to do a hard reboot (hold off button 20 seconds) then everything is fine for the next few days. Spoke to Mayday, who was concerned with battery apps showing 2 points lower then the Kindles own percentage reporting and after waiting for an email back, they told me to wipe the Kindle clean and start from scratch which would be a HUGH pain installing the apps and options back again

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, RXman3286!

      It’s funny, I’m just contemplating resetting my KFHDX 7″ to factory defaults. Not for freezing, but because it needs to have the Airplane Mode toggled on and off frequently to maintain a wi-fi connection. I spoke to Amazon about it, and they are aware of it as an issue. I’m guessing we’ll get a software update before the end of the month that will fix that…but I’m not sure I want to wait. I’ve probably toggled it ten times this morning so far.

      Thanks to Cloud Collections, it would be a lot easier to restore my apps and such than it would have been in the past. However, I would have to reinstall Zinio and Maxthon…and as you suggest, there would be setting to reset. I’m not concerned about my progress in games, but that can be a problem for people if the games aren’t part of GameCircle.

      I haven’t heard a lot about devices freezing…and then that being fixed by a reboot.

  20. Becky from Iow Says:

    My 7″ HDX has started freezing up about once recovery hour or two…it seems to have started right after the big software update. Occasionally it reboots itself, sometimes I just wait a minute, but occasionally I have to turn it off. It’s too bad, because it worked perfectly the first few weeks I had it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Becky!

      I’m with you on it having been pretty much perfect, then not so after the update. If the device had operated originally the way it does now, I would have considered returning it. Given that I know the hardware works (since it worked before), I’m thinking a software fix can restore the high quality it had before. The recent update did include some significant network connection changes, and I’m guessing it might be connected to that.

  21. RXman3286 Says:

    I’m with you Bufo Calvin, my issues didn’t appear till the forced update. I also feel its a software issue and not hardware related. I would have liked, as, can I dare say, Apple does, allow the owner to update his tablet not a forced update. When I had an Ipad, I would wait a week or two before updating just to see if there were any issues. Not that I’m glad others are also having these issues, but it just solidifies that it has to do with the update and not our hardware

  22. RXman3286 Says:

    Any comment on why a battery monitor app would show a different reading say 84% compared to the Kindle’s own reading of 86%? I had used GSam and Battery HD and both show 2% lower reading than the Kindle’s own report.

    Sorry for all the questions, but I’m sooooo glad to have found a GREAT Kindle Fire Forum!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for the kind words!

      There are two things that occur to me. One is that it is something like a rounding error since the amount is so small. The other is that when you open the battery app perhaps the app itself is making that two percent difference.

  23. RXman3286 Says:

    Sorry – but need to add on the above comment – this ALSO started with the new software update!

  24. barber02k Says:

    Bufo, I was experimenting last night on Battery monitor apps (remember, previously I remarked the monitor apps I used showed 2% lower reading then the Kindle itself) Well I also have a Kindle fire HD and with any of those apps on the HD, they are dead on so definately something up with the Kindle HDX. Also, after trying a number of Battery monitor apps, I stumbled upon one called Battery Doctor. The company is the same one that also puts out Clean Master , a top rated app. Anyway, it still shows the 2 % difference however, it has a lot of nice features AND advice to reduce battery usage. I installed it last night, used it to charge my HDX and when I turn on the HDX this morning it still showed 100% with no battery drain from the app. I thought if your readers were interested in a battery monitor, they should give it a try – its FREE. I was very impressed with how it will allow you to turn down screen brightness, etc. and show a percent representation of what increase in battery life your Kindle will now have.

    I have no involvement with the app’s manufacturer, just wanted to pass on my experiences with battery monitor apps and this one, for me, was a winner

  25. rxman3286 Says:

    Sorry Bufo, that previous post was from RXman3286, I forgot which forum I was on and used wrong name – its been a long week lololo Sorry

  26. RXman3286 Says:

    Concerning the freezing – Amazon forum now has a section concerning other people having Kindle Fire HDX freezing. I’m wondering if its just on Kindle Fire HDX systems that had the original software and received the pushed update OR is it also occuring on people who received their Kindles with the new software already installed and therefore no push update was needed. My Kindle was one that was pushed the update and I’m feeling its a software issue not hardware because everything was fine before the push. I put this question on the forum to see if it made a difference. ALSO I had used Amazon Chat to bring this freezing issue to their attention and they came back and said the software dept has not had a flood of complaints concerning this issue

  27. Rxman3286 Says:

    Bufo, Amazon chat also told me that the software dept said they haven’t received an influx of freezing issues and they were leaning to possible hardware issues in my case.

    I also would like to thank you and all moderators who take their personal time to help us all. Your service is invaluable and many times taken for granted. I, for one, appreciate your time in helping us! Great job!

  28. Norma Huntley Says:

    I need some help.
    I accidently set a lock to enter my Kindle Fire HDX.I have no idea what it is and can not get in to contact May Day for help.
    I don’t want to have to use a password to get in.
    Can some one assist me?
    Thanks
    Norma

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Norma!

      If you can’t find that password, you’ll probably have to reset the device. You won’t lose any Kindle content you’ve purchased from Amazon: that’s stored in the Cloud for you, and you’ll be able to download it again.

      You may want to talk to Kindle Support, though…they are the “someone” who can always help you. :) You don’t have to do that through Mayday (although that’s the most convenient when you can).

      Go to

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      You’ll see a

      Contact Us

      button there. They can help you troubleshoot and suggest next steps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

