A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX

A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX

I’m happy to report that I have now tested the

NETGEAR Push2TV Wireless Display HDMI Adapter – Miracast and WiDi (PTV3000)

with my

 Kindle Fire HDX 7″, HDX Display, Wi-Fi, 16 GB – Includes Special Offers

This is a device to allow the “mirroring” of the KFHDX screen on to a TV where the latter has an HDMI in port.

In other words, I can see everything which is on my Kindle Fire on my TV.

This is done wirelessly, unlike the previous Kindle Fire HD (not the current generation Kindle Fire HD, which has neither wireless TV connection nor an HDMI out cable port…to my knowledge, it can not be displayed on a TV).

I had tried another Miracast adapter (the iPush), and the sound and the video were terribly out of sync (the video might lag a couple of minutes behind the audio on a movie).

The Netgear is recommended by Amazon:

About Wireless Display Methods for Kindle Fire

It does cost about $60 (the iPush was more like $30), and I did need to buy another cable with a standard HDMI on each end. I bought the

AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable (6.5 Feet/2.0 Meters) – Supports Ethernet, 3D, and Audio Return [Newest Standard]

for $5.79.

It works well…not perfectly, but acceptably well.

Prime video (streaming and downloaded) looked and sounded fine.

I streamed from another site, and there was maybe half a second of lag on the sound…tolerable.

Sometimes, there was a bit of breakup in the image, but I also found that acceptable.

I tried to test it out a bit, so I went across the room (a good, oh, four meters or so), and it worked just fine.

It didn’t seem to really need line of sight.

Important update: it definitely isn’t line of sight…it’s more like a wi-fi network. I have a place in the family room where I have a charger for the Fire. I can have it plugged in in that room, pair it with the Netgear, start a stream running, and watch that stream in the bedroom (down the hall and in a different room entirely). No problem.

It did work in the Origami case, but when I closed the case (putting the Fire to sleep), it would stop broadcasting. That made sense, of course, but I did want to test it.

I tried a video and an app. It was nice to be able to control everything from the other side of the room…that part was better than having an HDMI cable directly from the old Kindle Fire HD.

The device itself is quite small…much smaller than I thought from the picture on the product page. It is perhaps as long as your palm and half as wide. That’s pretty unobtrusive.

My TV does not have a USB port, so it does need to be plugged into a wall outlet, as well as cabled to the TV’s HDMI. You can likely hide all that pretty much behind the shelf or the TV. The device does have a blue “ready light” on it, but I’m not finding it too bright at this point (I have a problem with that with some ready lights, probably due to my superior night vision, which may in turn come from some color vision deficiency I have).

Set up was easy: plug it in, tell the KFHDX to Mirror (Swipe down from the top on the homescreen, go to Settings, then Display & Sounds). Within about six seconds, the two of them found each other (the name of the Netgear appeared on the Fire). Tapping it caused it to connect, again in under ten seconds, and that was it). Pretty similar to pairing a Bluetooth phone (without having to enter a code).

Turning off the TV meant pairing it again the next time, but again, that’s an easy process.

I haven’t used it enough to determine battery drain yet.

The one thing that has failed for me so far is updating the device*. Amazon recommends that you have the latest update, and so does Netgear. I was able to get to the Netgear site and download the update on to my Kindle…but it downloaded as an .exe file, and I don’t seem to be able to launch it (should be an APK for an Android device, right?). I may play around with that part a bit more, but it does work well enough now.

So, I now have TV in that room again! I haven’t had it since eight of our Kindles were stolen when our house was burglarized recently.

Bottom line: it isn’t perfect, but if you are willing to pay $65 (approximately, counting the cable) to mirror your KFHDX to your HDMI equipped TV, I think  you’ll find it worth it.

It’s possible Amazon will still release a TV device, but it is interesting to me that they are recommending this one if that’s the case. I was thinking they might release two (an inexpensive “dongle” and a full-featured, Roku like device). I’m now thinking it may be more likely that they’ll only do the latter.

* Update: I have successfully updated it, and am satisfied with it now. I’m only seeing a tiny lag, and I haven’t seen audio and video out of sync unless it was also out of sync on the device.

Thanks to my reader, Americanchild, for posting how they updated it, and to my reader, Jacopo, for reminding me that I hadn’t come back to update this post with how I did it (although I had written about it other places).

Here’s the key concept. The Netgear is going to create its own wi-fi (not Miracast) network, and you can only get to the necessary website to do the update on that network (not on your regular household network). The sequence below is important, for that reason.

1. I downloaded the latest software update from http://downloadcenter.netgear.com/en/product/PTV3000. I did it directly from my Fire, first, but you can do it from your PC and then transfer it.

2. Press and hold the Push2TV button on the side for several seconds (I think it started flashing).

3. Next, connect your Fire to the Push2TV wi-fi network. This is different from mirroring: you are going to connect in the same way you connect to your regular network

4. Use a browser (Silk, or something else if you have it) to go to http://192.168.3.1

5. Follow the instructions there. It takes several minutes to do the update, and at the end of it, your Fire should return to your home network.

Hope that does it for you. If you have questions, you can let me know.

Next

Bonus story: Fire at the Internet Archive

I’ve written about the Internet Archive before, and I was sorry to hear about the recent fire there. As they report in this

announcement

some physical items waiting to be digitized (and then made available free to you and me) were lost, but it sounds like it was mostly equipment which was damaged.

They are asking for donations for repairs: you can choose your own amount.

I plan to donate something myself…up to you, but I thought some of you might also want to help.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them

17 Responses to “A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX”

  1. Marvin Says:

    “…and there was maybe half a second of lag on the sound…tolerable.”

    “Sometimes, there was a bit of breakup in the image, but I also found that acceptable.”

    How can you say half a second lag is tolerable ? How could you enjoy a movie or sitcom with such a lag ? Because people are willing to do this kind of compromises we have “good enough” consumer electronics which mostly works, but often drives us crazy.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Marvin!

      That is an excellent question, and it deserves a fuller answer than in this comment…you’ve inspired me to write a post about the concept. :) You should see that later today.

      The short answer is that I can still enjoy it with that imperfection. I am able to tolerate the situation. I think that word accurately reflects my reaction to it. Yours might be different, of course, and that’s why I spelled out the amount of lag. I couldn’t really tolerate the roughly two minute lag on the iPush, but there might be other people who could.

      Feel free to comment again on the post I plan to write…I think I’ll call it, “Tolerance of imperfection”.

  2. Jane A Shepard Says:

    I have roku and I like it a lot. I just got all my Amazon music downloaded to my tv. Do you think Amazon or roku could do the same thing as the Miracast. That is getting getting my e-mail ,my surfing,even my Amazon shopping which most of which is due to Amazon prime, the convenience and fair prices. Thanks Jane A Shepard.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jane!

      I also really enjoy my Roku. In particular, I like some of the free channels, like Pub-D-Hub, which shows public domain movies.

      Using my Fire and the Netgear, I can do all of what you describe seeing it on my TV. I can shop, see my e-mail, and so on.

      I think you are asking if you could get a stand-alone, set top box or dongle (or other TV gadget) that could replace the functions of the Fire. It would have to have a built-in web browser, and that’s doable (my Wii has an internet channel). I think one of the key points there becomes interface. Using the Kindle Fire as an interface for what I want to do works pretty well. If there was a TV gadget that was supposed to let you shop and web surf, it would also need some substantive way to interface with it.

      It might mean speech recognition, and we are hearing more about gestural interfaces.

      At this point, it seems easier to me to set things up so I use the same device I use away from the TV with the TV. It will make the experience more familiar, without a necessity to memorize two procedures to accomplish the same task. I think that’s a big appeal to people: why should “changing channels” require one process on a TV and a different process on a SmartPhone?

      Eventually, all of our media (music, books, video, apps) may be displayed with us using the same technique, regardless of where we are or what size the screen is…

  3. Tolerance of Imperfection, or, the zipper-suit non-exclusion | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX […]

  4. Jacopo Says:

    Man u cannot update ur netgear cause it must be updated from the pc and not from ur kindle. Thats basic computing.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jacopo!

      You’ve reminded me: although I wrote about it later, I should come back and update this post…thanks!

      I updated it successfully, and was pleased with the results. No computer necessary: I think the primary problem was that I had gone to the website before I had connected to the Netgear’s wi-fi (not Miracast) mode.

      I’ll update the post more completely later: thanks again!

      P.S. That’s one of the things about “computer basics”: they change over time as our devices change, both with the hardware and the software. We can do many more things with mobile devices now than we could even a few years ago.

  5. 2013 ILMK Holiday Gift Guide | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] port. I bought the Netgear Push2TV which is about $50. Before you buy that, read my post on it: A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX. It isn’t perfect, and I did have to update it (which wasn’t super easy), but I do use […]

  6. 1 day Kindle deal: 20% (includes Mindle, HDX7) | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] the HDX has a camera…and a way (using a Miracast enabled TV, or a Miracast adapter, like the one I use) to watch what is on your tablet on your TV. That last one will becoming increasing important in […]

  7. Diane Says:

    I have a chrome cast adapter…will that also work to mirror my new Kindle Fire HDX movies to my tv?

  8. Jim R Says:

    Just FYI, I just traded in my Kindle fire HD for the newest HDX and my old Kindle did have an hdmi port. As awesome as the HDX is I’m kind’ve mad that now I have to spend $60 or whatever just to watch Netflix.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jim!

      I would have liked to have seen the HDMI port remain…in some ways, it makes things simpler. Not everybody has to spend more money, of course…if you have a Miracast capable device already, you don’t. I would just suggest thinking about what you want to output, and consider whether or not a Roku might allow you to do that. I just got a new Roku 2 for the holidays, and it does have some cool features. :) I can watch Netflix and Amazon Instant Video on it, and I love that it has earphones on the remote (so you can listen in silence from across the room).

      The free Roku app (available in the Amazon Appstore):

      Roku app
      at AmazonSmile

      also now has a feature that lets me stream pictures and music from my Fire to my TV through the device.

      It doesn’t do everything my Netgear does: I can’t play a game on my Fire and see it on my TV, or show my Significant Other a website. It’s a pretty good way to go, though, and has many other benefits.

      • Diane Says:

        I too just recently upgraded from the Second Generation Kindle Fire with the HDMI cable to the new HDX. My husband and I recently retired and moved full time into an RV. At the various parks our wifi is sketchy at best. We are able to download movies to my old 2nd Gen and use the HDMI cable to watch movies from Amazon but if I want to download a prime movie I have to use my HDX Fire. I bought a ChromeCast USB wireless wifi for watching movies but with sketchy wifi it doesn’t work. What is available for the HDX so that we can download prime movies and watch them on our tvs? (FYI we have 4 tvs in our new RV; 3 indoors and 1 outside for tailgating, etc. ;) )

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Diane!

        As you can imagine, your situation is pretty unusual. Let’s see…

        Do any of the TVs have Miracast? I think that would work with the Kindle HDX without needing the wi-fi.

        Another possibility would be to look into a wi-fi booster…that could help with the Chromecast or the Push2TV.

  9. Round up #233: isolated readers, Push2TV sale | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] A Miracast adapter that works with the Kindle Fire HDX […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

