1 day Kindle deal: 20% off (includes Mindle, HDX7)

1 day Kindle deal: 20% off (includes Mindle, HDX7)

How about a Kindle for $55.20?

It’s been amazing this year, how many discounts Amazon has given on Kindle hardware!

That hasn’t been typical in the past…discounting the frontlist (new and bestselling) Kindles, repeatedly, during the holiday season.

Clearly, success is not being measured on the profit from the devices themselves, but the profit that comes from their use (which is what Jeff Bezos has said). There may be no profit on the devices, even at full price.

It’s important to note that the profit doesn’t just come from buying content for the devices, but from get you firmly settled into Amazon…and hopefully, getting you to be a Prime member. That’s where you are most valuable: Prime members buy a lot more, and they buy physical goods (“diapers and windshield wipers”, as I like to say)…where there can be a better margin. If it gets you to buy third party good through Amazon, even better for the Smilin’ A. ;)

Today, they have 20% off three models (and it may be more than one “flavor” of those models…with or without Special Offers, for example):

That brings the Mindle price down to $55.20! For some reason, they are rounding up in the banner ad…they say it’s $56, but it shows as $55.20.

It also means you can get a Kindle Fire for $136, and the one I got for myself, the Kindle Fire HDX, for $184 (a $45 savings!).

This is a one-day sale (and it may not be available in your country…check the price before you click the Buy button), and I’d normally tell you that this is probably the lowest price that we’ll get for the rest of the season…but they have been surprising on pricing strategies this year. ;)

Should you spend the extra $50 to add that X to the HD on the Kindle Fire? That’s up to you and your use cases, but there are some reasons I’d recommend it, if you can afford it. The biggest one for me is Mayday, the live, onscreen tech help. Also, the HDX has a camera…and a way (using a Miracast enabled TV, or a Miracast adapter, like the one I use) to watch what is on your tablet on your TV. That last one will becoming increasing important in the next couple of years, although you might have an alternative way to “mirror” to your TV.

As to the Mindle, it’s a great price for

A Kindle for the guest room

Enjoy!

Update: what about content?

The Big Deal
at AmazonSmile

is back, with more than 500 Kindle books up to 80% off through December 22nd. I’d expect another big sweeping deal on the 25th, by the way, but we’ll see.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “1 day Kindle deal: 20% off (includes Mindle, HDX7)”

  1. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo! Being as knowledgeable as you certainly are, I’m hoping you can help me with an issue I’m having. I receive daily blog post emails from Digital Media Mom, and all of a sudden when I try to click on a link within a post I get a “403-Forbidden” message from HostGator.com. Same thing happens when I try to visit the website, and old posts I’ve saved give me the same error message. I’m using a Kindle Fire HDX 7″. HELP, Please!!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      It sounds like the host might have removed or blocked the blog for some reason. I had that happen once, although I was able to get it straightened out rapidly.

      When you say saved posts do the same thing, I assume you had just saved the links to them?

      I’m able to get to a blog called The Digital Media Mom here:

      http://dmediamom.com/

      Is that the one?

  2. Tom Semple Says:

    Hi, just wanted to point out that Smile donations do not seem to apply to purchases of digital content. I can’t check every single listing of course. So for example the Kindle book will not have the Smile message but the corresponding physical book will.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I’ve seen people saying that they have gotten the “thank you” acknowledgement on e-books at AmazonSmile. It’s been a little unclear to me, but it sounds to me like at least some digital purchases count.

      The only things currently explicitly excluded are Subscribe & Save and subscription renewals…

  3. Judy Schechter Says:

    Yes, that’s the site I’m referring to. There are 2 different WIFI networks in my building, and I can access it from just one of them. The other gives me the 403- Forbidden error.. Weird, huh?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      Hm…that is weird. Do the networks have different administrators? Maybe one network has blocked sites of a certain domain…that might do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

