Flash! Kindles foretold in 1945

Flash! Kindles foretold in 1945

Okay, I’m sure many science fiction stories have talked about electronic books.  I know about Star Trek: The Next Generation’s PADD (Personal Access Display Device), but that’s much more of a tablet computer, like an iPad.  They did also appear in Voyager and Deep Space Nine…and there was more than one model (using a stylus or just a touchscreen).

But something that is specifically an EBR (E-Book Reader)?

It was interesting to run across this in a 1945 story:

===

I Remember Lemuria by (Richard) Shaver
– Highlight Loc. 980-81 | Added on Saturday, September 04, 2010, 12:09 PM

It looks like a pocket reading machine, and it will not be noticed with suspicion.

===

The characters need to sneak something into a city…so it is disguised as a “pocket reading machine”, which are so common they don’t attract attention.

The version I’m reading was published in 1948 (it includes a companion piece), but I’m guessing this one was in the 1945 version.

It’s an odd book which created a minor sensation when the stories were first published in Amazing Stories.  It’s supposed to be a situation of someone remembering a past life in a high tech society on Earth…I’ll write more about it later.  I don’t think we would consider all of the tech likely to develop (these futuristic folks use vacuum tubes, for one thing), but this might be one that did. 😉

Do you have other good fictional examples of e-book reading devices, pre-2000?  I’d be happy to hear about them.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

One Response to “Flash! Kindles foretold in 1945”

  1. Hey, Amazon! Sell me MORE stuff | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] that statement (I pointed out a reference to a “pocket reading machine” in 1945 in Flash! Kindles foretold in 1945), I did want to go back and see that scene, to see just how close it was to how e-books are […]

Leave a Reply

