Round up #189: back issues of canceled subscriptions, making a bookstore a landmark

Round up #189: back issues of canceled subscriptions, making a bookstore a landmark

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

BookVibe uses your Twitter account to recommend books to you

People are still looking to discover the best means of discovery 🙂 for books to read.

This new service

http://www.bookvibe.com/

analyzes your Twitter account to find recommendations, based on the people you follow. They claim to have  analysed over ten billion book-related tweets.

I’m not comfortable giving other people permission to tweet on my account, which is what would happen if I signed up with my Twitter account.

They do let you preview the results, though…and in my case, I wouldn’t have wanted one of the books that was revealed.

Gee, great endorsement so far, huh? 😉

I’m perhaps a bit anomalous, though, since I follow people who recommend books to the masses…skewing the results I would receive towards ones not geared for me.

Might work for you, though…

Amazon Ex-(pro)files…the truth was out there

There’s some backlash in the Kindle forums, because Amazon has redesigned the personal profile pages.

You can see my profile page. In the redesign, it’s become a lot more about the products Amazon sells…which I suppose isn’t wholly unreasonable.

I believe it wiped out my personal description (although it looks like I could put it back in there).

Take a look at yours, and see what you think. You can get to it through Your Account (in your top right corner of any Amazon page), and going to Personalization.

Thanks to *~*Pineapple*~* for posting the following e-mail address, if you’d like to let Amazon know what you think: profile-feedback@amazon.com.

Back issues of canceled subscriptions

This was cool! I mentioned recently that it has changed, and you can download back issues of magazines to which you subscribe through the Kindle store, for as far back as you’ve been a subscriber.

I was curious, though: what happens if you cancel your subscription? Do you lose those back issues? After all, you paid for them, right?

The answer is…you don’t lose them. 😉 See, you thought this was going to be bad news. 🙂

I have some canceled subscriptions (we recently cleaned that up). If you go to

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

click or tap

Subscription Settings

and then click or tap

View inactive subscriptions

(you’ll have to scroll past your current subscriptions to find it), you can have back issues sent from there.

Hm…I wonder what would happen if I resubscribed? Would there be a gap in the issues from the two subscriptions? That’s what would be fair, but I’m not quite sure what they would do.

By the way, that page also now has this:

“Privacy Preferences for Newspapers and Magazine Subscriptions
Choose which information is shared with publishers for marketing purposes. Learn more about Privacy
Title E-mail Address shared for marketing purposes Use name and billing address for marketing purposes”

Three of mine did have my name and address shared, but I could change there if I wanted to do that. It said it could take up to 60 days to take effect if I said not to use my name and address for marketing…but I could say to use that same setting for future subscriptions.

This was also new on that page:

“Your Amazon Prime Membership
Kindle Owners’ Lending Library: You’ve reached your borrowing limit for this month. You’ll be able to borrow again starting August 1, 2013.”

Nice to have it listed there. 🙂

How many businesses keep the same employee for 60 years…and have a public party?

This is just a nice

story in the wausaudailyherald

to which I was directed by Publishers Weekly.

This 77-year old bookstore employee has worked in the same store for 60 years! I can understand that…I loved working in a bookstore. If I hadn’t gotten into a relationship (my hours were tough on that, being the manager), I might still be there. 😉

Which book species are you?

Another fun one! This

Infographic from Book Patrol by Laura E. Kelley

helps you classify yourself into one of fifty (!) types of book readers.

It was fun to see…but I suspect that many of you, like me, will fall into multiple types.

Bloomberg: “Book Publishers Try to Sell Chinese Fiction in Translation”

This was an interesting

Bloomberg article by Christina Larson

about how US publishers are trying to sell books which originated in China.

It’s tougher than you might expect…it’s a big country with a lot of books. 🙂

I recommend the article, but this part was fascinating to me:

” In 2012, American publishers purchased translation rights for just 453 foreign titles, about 3 percent of the total books published in the U.S. Of those, just 16 were books first published in Chinese, according to records kept by Chad Post, publisher of New York-based Open Letter Books press.”

That’s it? American publishers only translated 453 books in 2012?

Well, I suppose part of that might be that in many countries, the books may already be translated into English…and if the American publisher buys that, it wouldn’t count.

Amazon has its own traditional publishing imprint for translations:

AmazonCrossing

Marcus Books seeks landmark status

This

S.F. Examiner article by Joe Fitzgerald

talks about an interesting strategy by a bookstore that I know. It’s called Marcus Books, and specializes in books of interest to the black community. It’s been around since 1950 in San Francisco.

It’s close to closure, and there is a move afoot to make it a landmark in order to preserve it (according to the article, it is the oldest “black bookstore” in the country).

That reminds me of my story, A Trip to the Bookstore, about a bookstore in the future which is a tourist attraction…sort of like Colonial Williamsburg. 🙂

I would say that this store does have historical value, and on that basis, it would be nice to see it saved.

Yet another promotional page!

This is one that might expand into a post after I get a chance to look at the 500 (!) titles, but these Kindle store books are on sale through August 4:

The Big Deal: Kindle Books Up to 85% Off

What do you think? Which book species are you? Have you read a contemporary book which was first published in Chinese in China? Are you drawn to any particular countries as a source of reading material? Should any bookstore be declared a landmark? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

9 Responses to “Round up #189: back issues of canceled subscriptions, making a bookstore a landmark”

  1. Geeky Gal Says:

    Re: Cancelled and re-subscribed magazines, I know that one. I decided to do a clear out and cancelled something. A month later, the stories were all by favorite authors, so I re-subscribed. in MMK, that magazine just skips the issue / month I didn’t pay for the magazine.

    Other issue for you and your readers. I was able to download MOST of the back issues to my subscriptions so I have a backup, but the oldest ones [early 2008] and a few 2009 and 2010 issues generate an error message asking me to try again in 24 hours. I did and still got the error. THANK YOU for letting us know about this.

  2. liz Says:

    I was glad to see the “It’s Complicated” type of book reader, since there were so many categories that described me up to that point. However, that category marked the point where no other reader types fit me – I’m definitely not a Prestige, Conflicted, or Hater type. I do know a couple of Anti-Readers; they completely confound me (how the heck could you hate reading?!?).

    I loved the inclusion of “Reader the Obscure” in the middle of the Prestige box … wonder if it was a play on Jude the Obscure (which I admit, I was supposed to have read in High School, but ended up getting a Cliff’s Notes summary so I could write the essay about it). Speaking of which, I think there should be another type in the Conflicted category for those who normally love to read, but learn to hate assigned reading after slogging through so many “classics” that have no appeal for so many students. And another for students/professionals who normally would read books of their own choosing, but are so busy reading for school/work that they have no time or desire to read for pleasure any more. It took me a few years after college & grad school to get my reading groove back! But it’s back to the point that I guess “The Omnireader” describes me the best of the 50 styles… 🙂

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    One thing you didn’t clarify vis a vis subscriptions is that the behavior is different for mags & newspapers vis a vis blogs (of which I have a lot). For blogs (whether current or cancelled) all you can get is billing info, and even there if you’ve since cancelled the credit card used to subscribe, you can’t even get the billing info.

    On your original post about back issues to magazine subscriptions, when I first looked, all they had was the very first issue I subscribed to. Tonight all the back issues are there 🙂 — so I guess they are rolling changes out.

    My public profile is as it’s always been.

    The subscription privacy thing has been there for a while — I told them not to share anything a while back.

    I’m a compulsive OCD & Chronological reader as well as a situational kindle convert and sleepy bedtime reader (in fact I’m so bad on that latter one that most nights I sleep with the lights on) (:grin).

  4. tellthetruth1 Says:

    Oh, I’m definitely a compulsive book buyer! I do a lot of underlining on me Kindle, really loved that bit of this blog. 🙂

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I wonder if that’s available for purchase as a poster! I think the one that best fits me is “Free Range/It’s Complicated,” but as predicted. I fit in many other places as well. I’m definitely a compulsive hoarder as far as e-books are concerned. I download lots of freebies I’ll probably never read, but I’m hanging onto them. I fit into the “Love Objects-Abused” as an “underliner and scribbler,” but thanks to e-books, it’s possible to do so without abusing the actual book. With a few clicks, you can now remove highlights or notes.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I suppose you could contact Laura E. Kelley, and ask about a poster…might make a good t-shirt, too. 🙂

      I would say I fit into these:

      The Book Preserver
      The Hoarder
      The Chronological Reader
      Compulsive Book Buyer

      The Multitasker

      The All-The-Timer
      The Eclectic
      The Cross-Under

      There are ones in the infographic that I definitely do not fit… 🙂

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I found it interesting that they had a “chronological reader” category, but I couldn’t find a first, last, middle reader category. That would fit me pretty well. There are a few books that I read right straight through, but most of the time I read the first few chapters to get acquainted with the main characters and the basic plot, then I read the last few chapters. If I don’t like the ending, I abandon the book. If I do like the ending, I go back to where I left off and read the book through to the end.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        You know, I had the same reaction to your comment that some people have to spiders and snakes. 😉 I’m absolutely having to calm my mind to be able to type this response…reading a book out of order like that is so…alien to me. I suppose I could do it if something really important is on the line, but it wouldn’t surprise me if beads of sweat appeared on my forehead.

        I don’t even flip ahead in a page a day calendar…if I’m going on vacation, I wait until I come back, because I won’t pull the pages ahead of time.

        If I start a novel, I am only going to go through it in the order of the pages…and I’m always going to finish it.

        I am not in any way saying I’m right to do it that way. 🙂 I’m just observing myself in my reply…

  6. Round-up #237 | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] written before about attempts to save Marcus Books in San Francisco from closing. It’s an historic […]

Leave a Reply

