Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: December 2013

Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: December 2013

Amazon does the Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), which discounts (usually) four books a day (often general fiction, a romance, a science fiction/fantasy book, and a kids’ book). That used to often be to $0.99, but I’ve noticed lately it’s more likely to be $1.99…or higher. Oh, and recently, it’s been five books commonly, not four…they just can’t seem to give us enough discounted books from which to choose!😉

They’ve also been doing Kindle Monthly Deals for $3.99 or less each (at AmazonSmile). That’s a recent rebranding: they used to say it was “100 Books”, but that’s also gotten to be more…there are 119 for this month at the time of writing.

Those prices only apply to the USA, and one weird thing is that some of the books seem to sell out at that price sometimes (or become unavailable for some other reason).

It’s also interesting…about 48% of the books in the USA Kindle store are $3.99 or less (1,105,281 of 2,296,041). Still, these are on sale, and that’s worth something. :)

I’m going to list some of the $3.99 or lower ones that caught my eye…I’m not necessarily recommending them, but I do think they are interesting.

The ones I list also don’t block text-to-speech access**…but I think blocking it is becoming rarer.

Subterranean
at AmazonSmile
by James Rollins
3.9 stars out of 5, 400 customer reviews at time of writing
$2.99 at time of writing
Whispersync, Kindle MatchBook, X-Ray

It sounds like a pulp-ish hollow Earth kind of thing…looks interesting!

Under the Never Sky
at AmazonSmile
by Veronica Rossi
4.4 stars, 676 customer reviews
$2.99
Whispersync, X-Ray

Young adult science fiction dystopia…

Don Quixote
at AmazonSmile
by Miguel de Cervantes (new translation by Edith Grossman)
4.3 stars, 490 customer reviews (may not be limited to this edition)
$1.99
X-Ray

Sure, you can get Don Quixote for free…but this seems to be an accessible new English translation.

Fire in the Hole
at AmazonSmile
by Elmore Leonard
4.4 stars, 59 customer reviews
$1.99
X-Ray

This collection of short stories might be a particularly good small gift at the holidays, especially for fans of TV’s Justified.

The Bookman’s Wake (Cliff Janeway Novels)
at AmazonSmile
by John Dunning
4.1 stars, 79 customer reviews
$1.99
Whispersync

The main character is an Denver ex-cop turned…bookdealer? This is the second of a series, and involves the theft of a rare Poe. I’m intrigued.🙂

Sarah, Plain and Tall
at AmazonSmile
by Patricia MacLachlan
4.2 stars, 249 customer reviews
$1.99
X-Ray

I remember carrying this when I managed a brick-and-mortar bookstore, and many people will remember the Glenn Close version. It’s a Newberry winner that might strike you as remarkably…ungimmicky, compared to many children’s books today.

Endless Night
at AmazonSmile
by Agatha Christie
4.2 stars, 78 reviews
$1.99
X-Ray

An Agatha Christie not everyone has read…😉 It doesn’t star the usual suspects, but I like the reviews.

Those are a few I noticed. If you saw anything else you think my readers and I would like to know about, feel free to comment on this post.

Enjoy!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :)

** A Kindle with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

One Response to “Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: December 2013”

  1. Susan Cassidy Says:

    The whole Bookman series is excellent. I read them all back when I could still read paperbacks, and I recently bought all of them in Kindle format, so that I could read them again. Truly excellent books.

Leave a Reply

