Poll Party #5

Poll Party #5

My regular readers know that I really like to hear your opinion. I often ask for it at the end of posts (and I try to give you conversation starters), and I love reading (and responding to) the comments.

I know not everybody wants to, or has the time and energy to, write something like that.

That’s one reason I love the polls we do here. It gives people another way to be heard. Even though we certainly aren’t a scientific sample of the mainstream, I find it interesting to see what we are saying. I suspect we might even be predictive as a group, as far as e-books are concerned, but I don’t really know that.

This time, I really wanted to focus on some trends, comparing this year to last. I’m starting to see those “Best of” 2013 lists, and I don’t tend to do those.

I do look backwards in my The Year in E-Books posts, but it’s not really about what is best (I always find that to be very subjective…what’s best for one person is not best for another). I also try to do those very late in the year…some surprising things can happen in the last weeks.🙂

However, I do think you have a pretty good idea about how some things will have played out for you by the end of 2013, and hey, I was in the mood.😉

Reading Increases by Format

My intuition has been that reading (of full-length books) has been on the rise since the introduction of the Kindle in 2007. That’s not just e-books: I think that e-books have also resulted in a more general acceptance of reading, which has likely resulted in more people reading p-books (paperbooks) and audiobooks as well.

For this question, I’m interested in which formats you find yourself reading more…not more compared to the other formats, but more compared to last year. I’m not looking so much of a shift from, say, paper to e, but whether you are reading more: you could have increases in all of the formats.

Source of Books

I actually think that traditionally published books may be reversing a trend, and getting market share back from independently published books. Some of them are starting to figure out the digital world, and they have a lot of resources (including relationships with brand name authors) to bring to the playing field. HarperCollins, in particular, seems to be experimenting with some interesting things, participating in Kindle Matchbook and Scribd’s “all you can eat” plan.

Voting with Your Dollars

Lots of times, we think we have a particular opinion…perhaps that we revere one thing more than something else. When we look at actual expenditures, though, it may turn out that we are supporting different things than we would have guessed.

Length

There is quite a bit of argument over whether or not there is a renaissance in short stories.

Genres

While I generally consider myself an eclectic reader, I do think that e-books have broadened my horizons. I think I’m reading more books of different types, and due in part to independent publishing, more books which can’t be easily classified.

I’m going to take the categories from the Kindle store, although I won’t necessarily take them all.

Quality

Totally subjective, but I’m just curious…

Remember, you can comment on this post if you have more to say about these choices to me or my readers.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

9 Responses to “Poll Party #5”

  1. Harold Says:

    Genre question caused me to wonder “Where do I place Murakami?” I read more of his books than any other; his writing fascinates me.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      It would depend on the book, I suppose. I believe Murakami write non-fiction and fiction of different types, right?

      • Harold Says:

        I’ve only read his fiction. Am currently reading 1Q84 and am totally engrossed. IMHO he should have been awarded the Nobel Prize this year.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Harold!

        I haven’t read it, but I’d put it under science fiction & fantasy, from what I know. I think more people would define it as literary fiction, but I believe that stems from a prejudice against fantasy.

  2. Zebras Says:

    I said that I read more p-books now than I did last year, as I have taken a vow to read in bed my aging collection of used romances that someone bought me from e-bay for a christmas present pre-Kindle.

  3. Robin Clubb Says:

    my library has become more diverse than even i imagined. but the category that rose the most would be science. all the books on the brain just fascinate me! stuff that was too intimidating on paper is more inviting with webster’s and Wikipedia along for the ride.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robin!

      That’s a great point…and just the way I would want interactive annotation to work.🙂

  4. Tuxgirl Says:

    I have been reading more paper books, but that’s mostly because my daughter has started wanting me to read chapter books to her, and for right now she is actually preferring to have me read from paper rather than kindle. Also, I’ve found a lot of my old favorites at a local thrift store, for less than what they cost in ebook (and I still have a few of the favorites too).

    I bought 1 paper book for myself (thrift). It was actually a children’s book that is out of copyright in Canada, and this available on mobileread, but is still in copyright in the us. I have emailed the publisher twice to ask for them to make it available on kindle, and have never received a response. It’s not an uncommon book, so it was a little frustrating. And the mobileread copy sure has been a temptation.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tuxgirl!

      It’s interesting…I certainly do think there are kids who prefer physical books at this point. Will that always be true? Perhaps, just as they prefer pop-up books and “touch me” books in a way that adults don’t. They may still be driven by the sensual more than the intellectual.

      The issue of different copyright term lengths in different countries is a tricky one…I addressed it a few years ago here:

      https://ilmk.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/whoops-are-you-an-accidental-pirate/

Leave a Reply

