Split your payments over a year on an HDX

Split your payments over a year on an HDX

Oh, Amazon…you’re always trying something new!

Right now, you may have a lot of money going out the door. Ponying up $229 for a  Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) or $379 for a Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 (Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″at AmazonSmile) could be tough!

Sure, you could charge it on your credit card, but those interest charges can be hefty.

Well, Amazon has a solution for you!

They’ll let you pay in four equal payments…over the course of a year…same as cash!

The details are here:

Now, I should be clear: this isn’t for just anybody. You need to have been a good customer (active for at least two years). There are some other conditions: part of what Amazon says is:

“To be eligible for this offer, you must reside in the United States of America, your Amazon.com account must have been active for at least two years and you must have a valid credit card associated with your Amazon.com account that expires no earlier than March 31, 2014. Residents of Florida and the District of Columbia are not eligible for this offer.”

Still, this does make it a lot easier to manage your money. I’m sure most people can find $57.25 (the lowest installment payment for a 7″) or $94.75 (8.9″) a lot more readily than the full amount.

Now, if Amazon does release new hardware during the next year, which could certainly happen, it might be weird to still be paying for what has become “last year’s model”.

Is this layaway?

Nope…with layaway, you do pay installments, but you pay them before you get the item (it might be a certain amount to “reserve” it, then then full amount to pick it up).

With this one, you can start using it before you’ve even made that second payment.

I suspect this might be where some Amazon gift cards go after the holidays.

Oh, sure, there may be some people who can’t make all the payments…not quite sure what happens then.

Once again, though, kudos to Amazon for trying new things!

Oh, and I’m not seeing it on the non-Fire EBRs (E-Book Readers) or other products at this point, by the way. If you’ve noticed any, feel free to let me know. I suspect they are trying it out on this…it’s really not that much of a risk with a Fire, since people tend to buy a lot more from Amazon when they have a Fire. It wouldn’t surprise me if some people could default after a couple of payments, and Amazon would still have made money (especially if the Fire has to be sent back and can be sold again after it is refurbished…not for full price, but certainly for some recovery for Amazon).

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Split your payments over a year on an HDX”

  1. beadlady Says:

    I just got my 8.9 HDX. (Altho hubby won’t let me have till the25th). I’m wondering if Amazon Customer Svc would credit my card & allow me to take advantage of the payment offer? When the $50 off promotion came out a couple of weeks ago, I contacted them about obtaining that offer since I had ordered mine in Oct. They happily obliged! One of the reasons I am a loyal customer… awesome customer service!

  2. beadlady Says:

    Well, they will only agree to honor the offer if I return my HDX and reorder another one under the current offer. Too much hassle for this gal.😉

  3. Becky from Iowa Says:

    I just noticed this offer in time to get a larger HDX with Verizon added, for my hubby. There was something about edging into that $500 price point (I got a 32 gig) that turned me off…This way, a mere $132 a quarter seems almost painless. (And I can take advantage of the larger screen, when he’s not using it for work, as well. Ha ha!)

Leave a Reply

