AmazonSmile: an extra $5 to your chosen non-profit

AmazonSmile: an extra $5 to your chosen non-profit

It’s really felt great this year to know that I’m benefiting a non-profit of my choice when I shop at Amazon’s mirror site, AmazonSmile! I wrote about the program on November 3:

Smile.Amazon: support your favorite charity by shopping

and have been linking to items both on AmazonSmile and on the main site.

Well, Amazon has added something exciting!

Through the end of the year, Amazon will donate an extra $5 to your non-profit of choice when you buy an eligible item. The details are here:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?docId=1001922881&ref=aseyli&ref_=pe_629340_103668340

For small non-profits, that could make a huge difference.

To make it to a $5 donation otherwise, at half a percent, a supporter would need to buy $1,000 of eligible items at AmazonSmile. Even better, this $5 is on top of the normal donation Amazon makes.

They have set a cap on this extra $5 program: $1,000,000 in donations…my guess is that they could hit that. They only need 200,000 people to buy from AmazonSmile during that period (it doesn’t matter how much the purchase is, I think), and I believe many of my readers routinely shop at AmazonSmile. There’s no real reason not to do it regularly, once you have decided to do it at all.

I can tell you that it looks like people tend to buy the expensive items at AmazonSmile. Yesterday, for example, ILMK readers (I don’t see who buys what) spent about twice as much at AmazonSmile as they did at the regular Amazon site…but bought four times as many items as the regular site.

On second thought, that might have to do with which items are eligible…maybe the more expensive items are more likely to be eligible? Certainly possible.

Regardless, it makes sense to buy everything you can from AmazonSmile if you are comfortable with the program (I am). When I was a retailer, one of my owners was fond of telling us “It’s a game of inches.” In other words, like football, a bunch of little things are more important than the big things. You can gain more than nine yards, but still be an inch short.

When I help people with time management (and I’ve had some real success in that area this year), I always tell them you are looking for little things you do a lot where you can save three seconds. People are proudest to show me something where they saved, say, five minutes. I’ll ask them how often they do that complex task, and it’s usually pretty rare…maybe it’s an end of the month thing. At the same time, I can show them how to save three seconds every time they do something that they do 100 times a day…and that’s five minutes right there.🙂

My guess is that Amazon is tremendously upping their charitable donations through AmazonSmile, and I’m happy to support my non-profits that way.

Shop ’til you help!🙂

http://Smile.Amazon.com

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards (at AmazonSmile) from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “AmazonSmile: an extra $5 to your chosen non-profit”

  1. Jason Says:

    Have you checked out iMyne? I happen to serve as the marketing arm for the company and wanted to share with you (hopefully for a future post!). There is more of an incentive to use iMyne because, as the consumer, I can support my favorite cause automatically with a larger donation percentage AND earn cash rewards for myself! Plus, I am not just limited to Amazon. There are many other retailers to choose from, including Amazon. The website is http://www.imyne.com.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jason!

      I have now taken a cursory look at your website, but I want to caution my readers that I have not yet reviewed it thoroughly. After I’ve had time to do that, I’ll reply more fully.

Leave a Reply

