KDD: Calvin & Hobbes, Snoopy

KDD: Calvin & Hobbes, Snoopy

One of today’s Kindle Daily Deals (at AmazonSmile…support a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) is described as “comic books for kids”, but this one really isn’t:

While it does star a kid (and a stuffed tiger), it really is for adults. Not in an NSFW (Not Safe for Work) way, but the humor is much better for adults. Think of it sort of like The Simpsons in that way, but much more…existential.

Lots of people loved Calvin & Hobbes, and it has a wry, subtle, philosophical humor…in addition to very broad sight gags.🙂 There is a Walter Mitty element to it as well, with Calvin imagining himself in situations without the people around him quite understanding what’s going on. This may put a smile on some of your faces: “Spaceman Spiff”.😉

This collection is only $2.99 on this special…definitely worth it, in my opinion.

It’s worth noting that it says that text-to-speech is not enabled. This is a case where the publisher won’t have done anything to block it: it’s just that the words are part of the images, which the TTS software can’t recognize as words. That’s why that “enabled” language is weird…you don’t have to “enable” a book: what publishers sometimes is block the access.

In this case, I assume nothing was done to block it…it just doesn’t work.

They also have a Peanuts collection:

Even though Peanuts had some adult humor, this new collection (not new strips) is geared towards kids. It sounds like it even has activities designed for children, but that you still get the originals.

Both of these aren’t really comic books, but comic strips. The difference is that a strip would appear in, say, a newspaper. It might appear daily during the week, and commonly, there would be a full color strip on Sundays. A comic book is a stand-alone publication, and can contain several longer stories.

Typically, no real plot in a comic strip…four panels in a day is pretty common.

I do highly recommend both of these…even if you wouldn’t read them yourself, someone on your account may want to do that.

It’s worth noting that the Calvin & Hobbes one is not available for a non-Fire hardware Kindle, but the Snoopy one is.

These could also be great gifts…yes, I give gifts all year round.😉

Enjoy!

Oh, as always, these prices may not apply in your country or may have changed before you read this post. Check the price before you click that “Buy” button.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “KDD: Calvin & Hobbes, Snoopy”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Is it possible to buy it to load to the “cloud” to wait for the day when I get either an iPad or a Kindle Fire? I tried to find a way to do that, but I couldn’t. I wish that the Kindle for Mac had the same capabilities as Kindle for iPad.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Interesting! I knew you had to have a compatible Android device to get an app…although you can now choose to deliver the app to “Cloud Only”, so I don’t know if that’s still true.

      It hadn’t occurred to me that you might not be able to even buy a Kindle store book if you didn’t have a compatible device. That has never happened to me, but I’ve tended to have a variety of devices registered. I commonly have them delivered to my Cloud Reader (just to keep them off the devices until I decide), but I see that isn’t an option on the Calvin & Hobbes book.

      One possibility does occur to me: you could gift it to yourself (you might have use a second e-mail address). Then, I would guess you could hold on to the e-mail until you were ready. Not positive about that, though.

      Of course, that was a Kindle Daily Deal yesterday…it’s showing as $10.99 for me now.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I tried to buy it from my K3 with the most recent operating system, but it wasn’t available. I went to the Amazon website from my computer to see if it was available for the Kindle for Mac, but it wasn’t. It was available on the Kindle for Windows.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        That makes sense. I don’t usually buy books directly from my devices, but the same thing goes with apps. If the app isn’t compatible to a device, it doesn’t appear as option from that device.

Leave a Reply

